Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
May 25, 2019, 02:00:54 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Download and develop photos from your flash cards with one click!
Get a trial of
FlashPipe today and stop fumbling with explorer windows to transfer photos and videos
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can't find Printer on Ethernet...  (Read 1507 times)
inhaliburton
Newbie
*
Posts: 31



View Profile WWW
« on: February 21, 2019, 01:21:31 AM »

I've run out of ideas how fix.
Window 10 and Mac Mini
Canon Pro-100
Have been printing via USB connecting the Window box to the Pro-100
Am trying to "share" the printer with Window box and Mac Mini via Ethernet cable connected to a Ethernet hub.
Used the Printer CD to install via Ethernet. Install program says all is peachy. Nada. When sending file to printer in QU, message says printer is off-line.
Another oddity is the led on the ethernet hub is "amber."
And needless to say, on the Mac Mini there is no indication whatsoever re the printer.
Any ideas?
Regards, Paul.
Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3145



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2019, 07:53:18 AM »

Hi Paul,
You may have to run the printer installation software to get it Ethernet connected both the Windows and Mac machines.
You probably need to select Network and Ethernet connection as the software runs.
I Googled and found this, different model but the principles will be the same.
https://support.usa.canon.com/kb/index?page=content&id=ART139727
Terry
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5015



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2019, 01:40:51 PM »

Paul
A shot in the dark.

check {Devices and Printers, right click to Printer Properties, PORT TAB, and make sure the ethernet or Lan port is checked}
Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3145



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2019, 03:51:08 PM »

Another thought from my experience with setting up a wireless/Ethernet Epson printer after it being USB connected.
The new set up showed the printer name as 'name (network)'.
So, you should see this 'new' printer in your Windows Devices and Printers list if it's connected properly and that's the one to select in QU and other applications.
When I set up my Epson network printer (which I did again recently with a new router) I set up as wireless using the WPS feature on printer & router which auto connects with having to bother with passwords and user names. If you have a wi-fi router with WPS, then this makes it very easy: set up the wi-fi and then re-connect. with the Ethernet cable. It could save you running the installation software.

Also, you should be able to see the printer in your router interface with it's IP address. Also in Windows Network & Sharing Centre. see attached screen shot

I presume once set in Windows, you should be able to pick it up on the Mac.
Hope that helps,
Terry
« Last Edit: February 21, 2019, 03:52:52 PM by Terry-M » Logged
inhaliburton
Newbie
*
Posts: 31



View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2019, 06:34:20 PM »

Thanks all for your suggestions. You have given me new hope! I guess I could have connected the 2 OS's via Wifi, but would rather not in this neighbourhood, if you get my drift. Thank you. Much appreciated. Will report back.

Btw, doesn't show up on my router.

Regards, Paul.
in Picton, ON
Logged
inhaliburton
Newbie
*
Posts: 31



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2019, 06:49:43 PM »

Am working from the first reply downward.

Quote:
"You need to locate and use the CD-ROM that came with the printer or download the software from the Canon website.

    Connect the printer to the router with an Ethernet network cable and confirm the connection on the printer."

Question:
My router is quite a distance from the computers. Router is connect to Printer via Ethernet cable with Ethernet hub in between. Both computers connected to Hub. Is that the same as a direct connect between computer and Printer?

Thank you!
Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3145



View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2019, 08:16:18 AM »

Quote
Is that the same as a direct connect between computer and Printer?
It should be.

Terry
Logged
inhaliburton
Newbie
*
Posts: 31



View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2019, 07:10:47 PM »

The printer/system didn't like having the "hub" in the mix. The led on the hub remained amber. Had to connect the Printer directly to the router. That's as far as I got so far. Qimage still can't see the Pro-100.
Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3145



View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: February 22, 2019, 07:55:15 PM »

Quote
Qimage still can't see the Pro-100
Run your printer installation software and select Network connection (or similar wording).
Terry
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!