Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
December 05, 2020, 05:35:49 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional ICC Profiling Software for Windows
Create custom ICC profiles with
Profile Prism for accurate color!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Printer Profiles  (Read 22232 times)
Jeff
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 738



View Profile WWW Email
« on: August 22, 2009, 04:57:07 PM »

I have a friend who uses Elements 7 on a Mac.

Does anyone know of a way of putting a printer profile into an image file on Elements 7, I find is surprising that Elements 7 does not have such a function.  Unfortunately there is not much chance of converting him to Qimage.

Jeff   
Logged

Grumpy
Seth
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 322



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2009, 01:32:55 PM »

What type of file is it, Jeff?  I am not sure what he wants to do.  You don't really embed printer profiles into image files.

I don't use Elements but think I may know what you are trying to do.
Logged

Seth
<CWO4 (FMF) USN, Ret.>
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3197



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2009, 04:50:12 PM »

Quote
You don't really embed printer profiles into image files.
The only time you would do that is if you are preparing an image for printing by a lab and they supply a profile for their machine.
It's (or was) one of the main uses of Qimage print to File
Terry.
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5375



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2009, 07:51:44 PM »

Quote
one of the main uses of Qimage

Terry,
May I add that Qimage does embed profiles into JPGs and TIFs when you do a CONVERT image and uncheck Profile to Profile conversion if you wish to maintain the current color space and embed it.
For example, my 20D Raw shots are open in the 20D colorspace form the profile I got from DDIsoftware. If I do a Convert to a TIF or JPG and uncheck Profile 2 Profile conversion, the newly created images will have the embedded 20 D color profile.
Qimage denotes this by placing an asterisk before and after the color space in the hotbar location.

Fred
Logged
Jeff
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 738



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2009, 07:10:42 AM »

Terry

That's just what he wants to do, embed the printer profile for a Lab print.  He uses Elements 7 on a Mac.  I have looked at my Windows Elements 7 and can only find the function for embedding a profile when sending image direct to a home printer. 

It was for this that I started using Qimage, I then found all the other benefits of using Qimage.

Jeff
Logged

Grumpy
Seth
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 322



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2009, 07:38:25 PM »

Fred-

I think you are talking an ICM profile (like Adobe, ProPhoto, etc.)  The gent wants to also include a printer profile like Fujicolor, Noritsu, etc., I take it.  Similar but not identical.

Jeff-

I saw a bunch of profiles out there a while back that had profiles for Costco, Sam's, Walgreens, etc.  They even had them for different stores of the same brand.  All Fujis should be set linear but they are not.  Then you have the "monkey" factor--how they have trained the monkey to fix stuff for you.

Here's one person's take:
Quote
I convert to Costco profile as one of my last steps. Before I sharpen I save the file as a tiff or psd. Then I change for RGB to LAB, and sharpen using the USM filter. Next I convert back to RGB. Then I convert to the Costco profile and save the file as a JPEG. Usually I see only a slight difference in the brightness (no noticeable color shifts). The only time I have a problem with Costco prints is if I forget to tell them not to apply color correction.

Another:
Quote
What you want to do is not use costco printer profile as a working space. It's just plain weird - use AdobeRGB or Prophoto. You want to "Convert" the image to their printer profile before sending it out, assuming they do not do any color management on their end (sometimes you have a selectable option). Many places expect sRGB images though.

I am just using Costco as an example.

Give this info to your friend (partially quoted from earthbound light.com as educational under Fair Use:
Quote
In my opinion, the two biggest features Adobe decided to leave out are Curves and support for color management profile conversion. Having recently taken a look at adding support for Curves to Elements, it's time to do the same with color management. It turns out it too is actually in there, buried beneath the covers, waiting to be let out.

Direct him to http://www.earthboundlight.com/phototips/elements-color-management.html for the full ticket on dealing with Elements since there is no Soft Proof.  Basically, I think he will "Print to File" and use his shops profile as the printer driver.
Logged

Seth
<CWO4 (FMF) USN, Ret.>
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5375



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #6 on: August 28, 2009, 07:49:22 PM »

Quote
think you are talking an ICM profile (like Adobe, ProPhoto, etc.)  The gent wants to also include a printer profile like Fujicolor, Noritsu, etc., I take it.  Similar but not identical.

Seth,
Qimage can embed any profile you select. Simply make that the convert to: profile in the dialogue box.
Use Profile to Profile conversion and make the TO: the Costco profile.

Fred
Logged
Seth
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 322



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: August 28, 2009, 08:17:34 PM »

Fred-

Yes, I read that.  The initial question was for Jeff's friend doing so in Elements 7.  And, probably would not be adding QI.  That is what I was addressing.

Admittedly, his best work flow would be to have both. 

Jeff-
Also have your friend checkout Adobe TV for PSE7 athttp://tv.adobe.com/#vi+f15708v1015 . It may have more info.
Logged

Seth
<CWO4 (FMF) USN, Ret.>
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5375



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #8 on: August 28, 2009, 10:21:05 PM »

Let him download the free 30 day demo of Qimage, and do the profile embed...
That would set the image for him to print from ant program.

Fred
Logged
Jeff
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 738



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #9 on: August 29, 2009, 06:55:38 AM »

Fred

No chance of him testing Qimage.  All our club members consider there is nothing except  PhotoShop or Elements.

Jeff
Logged

Grumpy
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5375



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #10 on: August 29, 2009, 09:47:30 AM »

Quote
No chance of him testing Qimage.  All our club members consider there is nothing except  PhotoShop or Elements.

Sorry about that!
You seem to be able to have an open mind and enjoy new and interesting stuff. Good for you!

I used to think the same thing about eating steak until I tried a hamburger....  Smiley Wink Cheesy Grin
Logged
Seth
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 322



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: August 29, 2009, 06:02:33 PM »

Hi Fred--

So, what do you use besides QI?  I thought it is your total work flow.
Logged

Seth
<CWO4 (FMF) USN, Ret.>
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5375



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #12 on: August 29, 2009, 06:24:05 PM »

Quote
So, what do you use besides QI?  I thought it is your total work flow

It is all I need and use.
I have an old copy of Paint Shop Pro which I play with once in a while to correct distortion.

If I run across anything I need to do and am unable, I call Mike, and he adds it to Qimage.  Lips sealed Cool

I have Coreldraw which I rarely use too.

Images are the purview of Qimage. I try to learn it well.
As far as remembering stuff like MAX compatibility check marks and Tifs that give Image read errors due to improper saving techniques, that's just a long history of remembering the fixes for certain things.

I hate to disappoint you, but I am just plain Fred!!  Sad
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!