Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
September 20, 2021, 08:22:34 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional Photo Printing for Windows
Print with
Qimage and see what you've been missing!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: FlashPipe settings not remaining as set.  (Read 27629 times)
DdeGannes
Full Member
***
Posts: 172


Retired Banker; Golf; Photography; Travel.


View Profile
« on: January 24, 2010, 02:21:28 PM »

I wrote about this problem in a previous post but have not got any response, but no further advice over the past three days. Existing version is 117

Under the settings dialog "Automatically rename photos" & "Automatically rename videos" are checked by default, the help file indicates they should be unchecked by default.

When I import photos from CF card via card reader I have to go to edit>settings each time I use FlashPipe and uncheck the options since I do not wish my files renamed.
They remain sticky if I do not exit FlashPipe or shut down the computer but always revert to the checked option when FlashPipe is loaded.

I am thinking of doing a clean reinstall of FlashPipe. I will use the Windows uninstall function.

What other folders/files would I need to remove before running the most recent install of FlashPipe? I have already done a uninstall and Install normally but the problem persists.
Or should I wait for an update to see if the problem is corrected.

My system details are recorded in my signature.
Logged

COMP EQP: iMac 27" mid 2015 5K Retina macOS 11.2.3; 24GB Ram; Scan Elite 5400 film scr.
CAMERA EQP: Oly OMD EM-1, Digital Zuiko & OM lenses.
Imaging Apps: PS CC 20; LR Classic CC 9.3; Qimage U & One; VueScan.
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3346



View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2010, 02:59:55 PM »

Try opening FlashPipe, unchecking the boxes as you've been doing, and then using "File", "Exit" to close FlashPipe.  Then reopen FlashPipe by clicking on its icon on the desktop.  See if the check boxes remain unchecked when you do that.  Then restart your system and see if they come back.  I'm thinking some sort of anti-virus or registry cleaner tool may be changing/corrupting the settings.  Also, be aware that if you chance users in Windows, the settings go with the user.  So if you boot your machine under one account and later switch to another, that would explain it too.

Mike
Logged
DdeGannes
Full Member
***
Posts: 172


Retired Banker; Golf; Photography; Travel.


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2010, 05:03:45 PM »

I have done as you suggest but no luck. Rebooted and the settings have defaulted to the checked option. I have not used any registry cleaner. My anti-virus software is McAfee which I have used since 2002.
Is there any other location that the installer places files other than the Flashpipe folder in the Programs Folder?

Logged

COMP EQP: iMac 27" mid 2015 5K Retina macOS 11.2.3; 24GB Ram; Scan Elite 5400 film scr.
CAMERA EQP: Oly OMD EM-1, Digital Zuiko & OM lenses.
Imaging Apps: PS CC 20; LR Classic CC 9.3; Qimage U & One; VueScan.
DdeGannes
Full Member
***
Posts: 172


Retired Banker; Golf; Photography; Travel.


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2010, 05:22:08 PM »

This is a capture of my Flashpipe folder.
Logged

COMP EQP: iMac 27" mid 2015 5K Retina macOS 11.2.3; 24GB Ram; Scan Elite 5400 film scr.
CAMERA EQP: Oly OMD EM-1, Digital Zuiko & OM lenses.
Imaging Apps: PS CC 20; LR Classic CC 9.3; Qimage U & One; VueScan.
rayw
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 440


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2010, 05:30:11 PM »

This may not be the case, but maybe worth a try, not specifically flash pipe related...

Often, when software is regularly updated, I do not necessarily want to install the new version in the same directory as the previous. Sometimes, the usual windows provided uninstall does not clean everything out. Also, shortcuts can sometimes point to earlier versions, as can file associations, etc. I use this software http://www.revouninstaller.com/ which searches out most of the odd leftover stuff.

Best wishes,

Ray
Logged
GBiddle
Newbie
*
Posts: 1


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2010, 10:03:58 PM »

I too had this problem when I changed to a Windows 7 PC. I installed FlashPipe using an "Administrative account" and the default settings were not applied.
So I uninstalled it and then re installed by right clicking on the EXE and selecting "Run as Administrator" from the context menu. The default settings were applied
and the problem no longer arises.
I hope this may help.
Logged
DdeGannes
Full Member
***
Posts: 172


Retired Banker; Golf; Photography; Travel.


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2010, 10:18:12 PM »

I too had this problem when I changed to a Windows 7 PC. I installed FlashPipe using an "Administrative account" and the default settings were not applied.
So I uninstalled it and then re installed by right clicking on the EXE and selecting "Run as Administrator" from the context menu. The default settings were applied
and the problem no longer arises.
I hope this may help.

Thanks for the tip. I am running Vista Home Premium and I tried but it did not solve the problem.
Logged

COMP EQP: iMac 27" mid 2015 5K Retina macOS 11.2.3; 24GB Ram; Scan Elite 5400 film scr.
CAMERA EQP: Oly OMD EM-1, Digital Zuiko & OM lenses.
Imaging Apps: PS CC 20; LR Classic CC 9.3; Qimage U & One; VueScan.
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3346



View Profile Email
« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2010, 01:50:45 PM »

I need to know what happens when you uncheck the boxes, use "File", "Exit" from FlashPipe, and then restart FlashPipe from the icon (without rebooting).  Do the unchecked boxes hold when you do that, but just not after a reboot?  If so, something is killing your Windows registry.  All FlashPipe settings are saved in the registry.  If they stick on an exit/restart of FP but not a reboot of the machine, that means the settings were in the registry and something removed those settings as your computer was shutting down or rebooting.

Mike
Logged
DdeGannes
Full Member
***
Posts: 172


Retired Banker; Golf; Photography; Travel.


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: January 25, 2010, 02:02:27 PM »

No the settings do not hold after an exit from Flashpipe. When I re-open Flashpipe the settings have reverted to checked. Only the two "Auto rename --" settings are affected. The others can be changed checked/unchecked and will remain stickey after an exit / reopen of Flashpipe.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2010, 02:09:19 PM by DdeGannes » Logged

COMP EQP: iMac 27" mid 2015 5K Retina macOS 11.2.3; 24GB Ram; Scan Elite 5400 film scr.
CAMERA EQP: Oly OMD EM-1, Digital Zuiko & OM lenses.
Imaging Apps: PS CC 20; LR Classic CC 9.3; Qimage U & One; VueScan.
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3346



View Profile Email
« Reply #9 on: January 25, 2010, 07:15:32 PM »

No the settings do not hold after an exit from Flashpipe. When I re-open Flashpipe the settings have reverted to checked. Only the two "Auto rename --" settings are affected. The others can be changed checked/unchecked and will remain stickey after an exit / reopen of Flashpipe.

Are you clicking on the button to show the rename parameters every time?  Clicking the "Auto Rename Options" button will automatically check those two boxes because fiddling with the rename options is an indication that you want rename turned on.  That's the only other way FlashPipe wouldn't remember those checkboxes.  Otherwise you have something going on with your machine.

Mike
Logged
W_Stedmond
Newbie
*
Posts: 14


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: January 25, 2010, 11:56:39 PM »

Hi, I am getting the same problem as DdeGannes, every time I restart Flashpipe, the automatic rename buttons are checked. If I uncheck them (which I prefer to use) and then re-open Flashpipe, it reverts to its default setting, which I do not want. If I close down Flashpipe using File exit, the buttons again revert to the default setting. However, if I close Flashpipe using the x in the top righthand corner, they remain unchecked when I reopen. This may help to track down the problem.
Regards,
William
Logged
Roy Sletcher
Newbie
*
Posts: 44



View Profile Email
« Reply #11 on: January 26, 2010, 01:45:13 AM »

Hi, I am getting the same problem as DdeGannes, every time I restart Flashpipe, the automatic rename buttons are checked. If I uncheck them (which I prefer to use) and then re-open Flashpipe, it reverts to its default setting, which I do not want. If I close down Flashpipe using File exit, the buttons again revert to the default setting. However, if I close Flashpipe using the x in the top righthand corner, they remain unchecked when I reopen. This may help to track down the problem.
Regards,
William

I too am having this same problem. Thanks for the tip about closing with top right X. Works for me and I had not discovered  that.

For the record - still running XP.

Roy

Logged
DdeGannes
Full Member
***
Posts: 172


Retired Banker; Golf; Photography; Travel.


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: January 26, 2010, 01:57:13 AM »

Hi, I am getting the same problem as DdeGannes, every time I restart Flashpipe, the automatic rename buttons are checked. If I uncheck them (which I prefer to use) and then re-open Flashpipe, it reverts to its default setting, which I do not want. If I close down Flashpipe using File exit, the buttons again revert to the default setting. However, if I close Flashpipe using the x in the top righthand corner, they remain unchecked when I reopen. This may help to track down the problem.
Regards,
William

I too am having this same problem. Thanks for the tip about closing with top right X. Works for me and I had not discovered  that.

For the record - still running XP.

Roy


Clicking on the x button in the right top corner does not exit the program it remains open in the task bar.  The problem only happens when you exit the program and re-open.

Logged

COMP EQP: iMac 27" mid 2015 5K Retina macOS 11.2.3; 24GB Ram; Scan Elite 5400 film scr.
CAMERA EQP: Oly OMD EM-1, Digital Zuiko & OM lenses.
Imaging Apps: PS CC 20; LR Classic CC 9.3; Qimage U & One; VueScan.
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3346



View Profile Email
« Reply #13 on: January 26, 2010, 02:34:23 AM »

Tried it as both administrator and a restricted user: no problem.  I looked at the code again.  The only possible ways for those checkboxes to get REchecked after UNchecking them are:

(1) You press the "Auto Rename Options" button under "Settings".

(2) You click "Cancel" after UNchecking the boxes instead of clicking "OK".

(3) Your system is unable to save data in the Windows registry, i.e. you have a system problem.

Mike
Logged
DdeGannes
Full Member
***
Posts: 172


Retired Banker; Golf; Photography; Travel.


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: January 26, 2010, 11:20:30 AM »

Strange that changes to any other options remain sticky. I guess I will just live with it for now. Thanks hor the help.
Logged

COMP EQP: iMac 27" mid 2015 5K Retina macOS 11.2.3; 24GB Ram; Scan Elite 5400 film scr.
CAMERA EQP: Oly OMD EM-1, Digital Zuiko & OM lenses.
Imaging Apps: PS CC 20; LR Classic CC 9.3; Qimage U & One; VueScan.
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!