Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
November 16, 2018, 03:05:18 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional Photo Printing for Windows
Print with
Qimage and see what you've been missing!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Printer discussion still open?  (Read 1412 times)
bill hansen
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 52


View Profile
« on: April 18, 2018, 12:37:48 PM »

Three times in the past two days I've tried to post to the Printers discussion forum. My attempts result in an error message saying that the file size is too large, even though I know for sure it can not be too large, or even close to that. I notice that the last post to the Printer forum is almost 5 months old. So is that forum closed now? Any other help available for Qimage printing - aside from the excellent "Learn from example"??
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 4849



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2018, 12:48:09 PM »

Hi Bill, How can I help?
Fred
Logged
bill hansen
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 52


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2018, 09:59:17 AM »

Hi Fred - It's good to see that you're still here, helping people. I was never able to get a post accepted to the Printer part of this forum. I've been away from printing for about a year due moving followed by a serious illness. Trying to return to printing with my one remaining printer, an Epson Artisan 837, I think that I'm double profiling.

Monitor was recalibrated on April17 2018 with a Spyder, settings almost the same as in Sept 2017. Using the Epson canned printer profile, which formerly would produce "perfect" prints after applying a "filter" in Qimage.

This printer produced excellent prints for a few years, but now prints are so dark I can't tell anything useful about color or contrast.Clearly I'm making some major error. No amount of Qimage "filter" corrects the print adequately. I've tried brightness +25, contrast -10, and that's not good enough. Didn't bother with color adjustment in filter

I'm going to send this without attaching images, because attempts to attach images are apparently what caused my previous posts to be refused (and then when I tried to re-post, those subsequent posts were refused because "you already posted this") - and today, I don't see any of my posts in the Printers part of the forum.

Okay - sending this - and then I'll send two further posts, each of them with a screen shot attached.
Logged
bill hansen
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 52


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2018, 10:00:19 AM »

Fred - Here's the first screen shot.
Logged
bill hansen
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 52


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2018, 10:01:03 AM »

And the second screen shot
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 4849



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2018, 10:46:10 AM »

Quote
Fred - Here's the first screen shot.

Hi Bill,
Glad you are recovering to normal
What I see in your screen snap that would help a lot. is to remind you when using Let Printer Manage Color as your profile, set Qimage the way you show in your first screen snap; LET PRINTER MANAGE COLOR.
Now go back into the driver and set the Color Management to either ICM or Color controls, not to NONE or OFF.
Let me know.
Fred
Logged
bill hansen
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 52


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 20, 2018, 09:18:08 AM »

Hi Fred - Thanks for your note. I thought I had sent screen shots yesterday. Maybe they didn't come through. Trying again, with smaller shots which I hope will be easier to read. The green printing in screenshot 9 indicates to me that printer wil manage color. Is there another setting I should change? - Bill
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 4849



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #7 on: April 20, 2018, 12:37:26 PM »

Quote
I thought I had sent screen shots yesterday. Maybe they didn't come through. Trying again, with smaller shots which I hope will be easier to read. The green printing in screenshot 9 indicates to me that printer wil manage color. Is there another setting I should change? - Bill

Yes Bill.
In the previous post there is a screen shot of the driver where you need to either check or change the setting in the Colo Management section of the driver to either ICM or Color controls.
See screen snap 145
In your own screen shot, find a button with the word word properties with a green check mark.
Click that. It will take you to your driver.
Fred
Logged
bill hansen
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 52


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: April 20, 2018, 03:58:38 PM »

Having a terrible time posting screen shots to the Q forum. Looks like the two I sent this morning didn't come through. I'll try again, using two separate posts so I can stay below the 256KB limit.

In my verison of Q 2018.112 I do not see a Button with the word "properties". I used the path Edit/Preferences/Color Management/Printer and checked the green message "printer/driver will manage color use ICM option in driver"

If there's a differenct path I should use. I guess I need some hand holding, from start to finish, to find it.

First, the two screen shots I tired to send this morning. Now I'll try to send this
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 4849



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #9 on: April 21, 2018, 04:31:33 AM »

Quote
If there's a differenct path I should use. I guess I need some hand holding, from start to finish, to find it.

First, the two screen shots I tired to send this morning. Now I'll try to send this

Almost there.

Your second screen snap, the one that says Properties, uncheck the box " OFF NO COLOR MANAGEMENT"
It's right there below ICM


Fred
Logged
bill hansen
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 52


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: April 24, 2018, 04:50:43 PM »

Hi Fred - Sorry for this  very delayed reply. I think I'm finally where I should be, with your good help. One of the keys was leaving ICM "not Off", as you suggested. Another was baking sure, in Edit/Preferences/Color Management/ICC that the correct printer profile was selected; the default is a Qimage RGB profile. The canned Epson printer profile for the paper selected works better, but is not perfect. Over the years, I've added a Qimage Filter to the specific profile, and that has worked very well. It takes time and trial to get that filter just right, but once I get it where I want it, , all I have to do is Save it, and then click it into existance.

I think I'm going to be okay now. Thanks for your help.

Bill
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!