Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
December 05, 2020, 02:35:39 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional ICC Profiling Software for Windows
Create custom ICC profiles with
Profile Prism for accurate color!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Canon pro 9000 mk2 Printer profile problem  (Read 448 times)
squiddy
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


View Profile Email
« on: November 08, 2020, 06:41:25 PM »

Hi I have been using the canon pro 9000 mk2 for around 8 years with no problems.
Yesterday we had an outage and after the electricity came back on I noticed that my printer and q-image  settings were changed in some areas. I changed everything back but when I print now there i a  red tint.
My settings are as follows
1.Quick setup  I have checked off: photo printing,color intensity (manual), media type (pro platinum), print quality (high)
2.Main. Media type(pro platinum) print quality(high), color intensity(manual)
3.On set I leave alone all color adjustment boxes
4. I set matching to none.
When I used paint shop pro to print, It did fairly close. I ran out of 8.5X11 and am using 4X6. Oddly though Paint shop is using cnbjprn3.icm which seems to be a generic canon driver from 2005.
I used that icm in place of the pro platinum icm and the picture looked ok. Until I get a resupply of my 8.5X11 can't be sure.
In Qimage I am using the pro platinum icm CNB9TNAO.icm And yes I did try all of the pro platinum icm's to see if any worked. They all did not
My question is  what am I doing wrong or what am I missing.

Thanks
Art
Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3185



View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2020, 11:03:02 PM »

You could always open the automated job log and pick an old job from before the power outage.  When you open it, every setting will be exactly the same as when it printed before.  If it no longer prints the same, something outside of Qimage (and the driver) is causing the problem.  Have you done a nozzle check?  It's possible some nozzles are not firing too.

Regards,
Mike
Logged
squiddy
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2020, 05:12:15 PM »

Hi Mike
Thanks for replying
I didn't know about the job logs. So I opened one from when it was working properly and my setting are correct. Yes I did a nozzle check and all was OK.
The other thing I don't understand is if I set the matching to .icm rather than none or driver matching I get the correct picture although until the 8.5 X 10 comes in I can't be sure. Using none or driver matching gives the picture that same red hue
Logged
squiddy
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2020, 01:28:39 PM »

Hi Again
I got the 8.5 X 11 inch Pro Platinum paper last night. I have a picture of Nicole Kidman on the wall so I found the original picture and using q image and the matching set at .icm I printed the picture. They are exactly the same.
I don't know why but I am not about too look a gift horse in the mouth.
Of course since it is getting so hard to get cartridges for the 9000 I imagine it will be only a while before i have to move on to another printer.

Thanks again for the help

Art
Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3185



View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: November 10, 2020, 02:30:21 PM »

On some older printers, the included profiles only work properly inside the driver and they were not designed to be used by the application.  This includes some of the older Canon profiles that start with "cnbj" and some of the Epson profiles that started with "E" or "EE" followed by cryptic numbers/letters.  The profiles that can be applied in-application usually have the name of the printer and paper in the file name of the profile.

Regards,
Mike
Logged
squiddy
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


View Profile Email
« Reply #5 on: November 16, 2020, 11:50:04 AM »

Hi Mike
Thanks for the information.
It does surprise me that after printing perfectly for years, a strange power surge could change everything.
Again though changing from none to icm has solved my problem


Thank
Art
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!