Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
April 12, 2021, 09:18:53 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional Photo Printing for Windows
Print with
Qimage and see what you've been missing!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: HP & Qimage Auto Roll Challenge  (Read 119 times)
Vic
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


View Profile Email
« on: April 07, 2021, 11:04:47 PM »

Hi Folks,

I just joined today, so forgive me if this has already been covered. I did watch the video in the tutorials, and saw that some HP devices will not allow for "user defined" option in terms of allowing the "auto roll" feature. One of my HP devices does allow it, and that's fantastic because I get to save on the custom size white space issue if I don't fill a full custom sheet layout. My question: is there a work-around for the auto roll feature in an HP printer that doesn't support the Qimage auto roll function?

Looking forward to any feedback that can help point me in the right direction.

Many thanks,
vicjay
Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3265



View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2021, 12:51:44 PM »

If the driver won't allow a user defined size to be created outside the driver, there is nothing that can be done because the driver is blocking that functionality.  Most HP wide format roll printers will not allow it because they do not allow you to specify a user defined media size: all media sizes have to be created and "saved" inside the driver before they can be used.  HP is the only manufacturer that disables "User Defined" media sizes.  All other manufacturers honor the Windows standard "User Defined" media size where you can pick a size such as 24 x 50 inches and the driver will honor the chosen size without having to open the driver properties.  But for whatever reason, HP does not follow the standard.

Regards,
Mike
Logged
Vic
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2021, 02:23:48 PM »

Hi Mike,

Thank you for clarifying - makes sense now, but a bit silly on HP's part. So for my HP workflow, I will need to define a custom size in the driver, which is leading right into my next question, which I'll search through the forum and see if there's feedback on the topic of assigning hotfolders to each custom layout, and have orders push to the designated folders for imposition and then push layouts to print.

Thank you for providing an awesome platform, this is amazing!

Cheers,
Vic
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!