Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
February 25, 2020, 08:18:50 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional ICC Profiling Software for Windows
Create custom ICC profiles with
Profile Prism for accurate color!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: One light band on pro-10 photo rag images...  (Read 969 times)
bjdehaven
Newbie
*
Posts: 13


View Profile Email
« on: January 14, 2020, 07:40:58 PM »

I'm using Qimage for the first couple of times on my Canon Pro-10 with OEM inks. When I printed a 12x18 on 13x19 Hahnemuhle Photo Rag Matte Smooth paper I get a weird light band at the very end of my print (see link for images including settings). I am using Qimage to bypass the fine art margins imposed on the Pro-10. I have also tried the XPS driver with no change and the printer is connected via USB. I printed smaller images with this paper and didn't detect any light band... Anyone have a solution?

https://imgur.com/a/RNq7DWR

Thanks!

Benjamin
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5209



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2020, 07:57:04 PM »

Quote
I'm using Qimage for the first couple of times on my Canon Pro-10 with OEM inks. When I printed a 12x18 on 13x19 Hahnemuhle Photo Rag Matte Smooth paper I get a weird light band at the very end of my print (see link for images including settings). I am using Qimage to bypass the fine art margins imposed on the Pro-10. I have also tried the XPS driver with no change and the printer is connected via USB. I printed smaller images with this paper and didn't detect any light band... Anyone have a solution?
Hi Benjamin
Try this.
Switch to Print to file instead of paper. See if that is still there or gone.
Also see if it is there when you turn on Print Preview when printing.
Fred
Logged
MelW
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 271


View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2020, 08:14:22 PM »

That almost looks like a "reverse" roller mark, as if something is rubbing against the paper as it goes through the printer and picking off some of the ink. It is mottled and looks mechanical rather than an artifact of a software or even nozzle problem.
Logged
bjdehaven
Newbie
*
Posts: 13


View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2020, 08:16:17 PM »

Quote
I'm using Qimage for the first couple of times on my Canon Pro-10 with OEM inks. When I printed a 12x18 on 13x19 Hahnemuhle Photo Rag Matte Smooth paper I get a weird light band at the very end of my print (see link for images including settings). I am using Qimage to bypass the fine art margins imposed on the Pro-10. I have also tried the XPS driver with no change and the printer is connected via USB. I printed smaller images with this paper and didn't detect any light band... Anyone have a solution?
Hi Benjamin
Try this.
Switch to Print to file instead of paper. See if that is still there or gone.
Also see if it is there when you turn on Print Preview when printing.
Fred

Nope, no line in print preview or in print to file...
Logged
bjdehaven
Newbie
*
Posts: 13


View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2020, 09:04:28 PM »

That almost looks like a "reverse" roller mark, as if something is rubbing against the paper as it goes through the printer and picking off some of the ink. It is mottled and looks mechanical rather than an artifact of a software or even nozzle problem.

I tried to print again with the "prevent paper abrasion" checked off in the driver but got the same result...
Logged
MelW
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 271


View Profile Email
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2020, 01:10:37 AM »

So, just to prove that this is a printer issue, print something else using the same printer setup (same rear tray feed, paper settings) and look for that band at the same place on the paper.  When I say something else, I mean perhaps several smaller images that will appear at the same paper location and see that the light band goes through all of them, or a small black box, or text document, a page from the internet, whatever.

I don't have that printer; perhaps someone on this forum who does can chime in here.
Logged
bjdehaven
Newbie
*
Posts: 13


View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2020, 02:25:06 AM »

So, just to prove that this is a printer issue, print something else using the same printer setup (same rear tray feed, paper settings) and look for that band at the same place on the paper.  When I say something else, I mean perhaps several smaller images that will appear at the same paper location and see that the light band goes through all of them, or a small black box, or text document, a page from the internet, whatever.

I don't have that printer; perhaps someone on this forum who does can chime in here.

I agree it is a almost certainly a printer / driver problem. I printed a 12x18 print on 13x19 Hahnemuhle FineArt Baryta Paper and encountered no light line... The driver setting for this paper is "Other Glossy Paper" while with the problem matte paper it is "Other Fine Art Paper 1". So its something to do with that exact paper type / settings. I am out of the problem type of paper until my shipment tomorrow when I can test again but this is costing me a fortune in ink and paper! Smiley I will report back later unless someone comes up with something in the mean time... Thanks to all for helping me work through this, I'm still learning Qimage and only been printing for a year now so this troubleshooting is new to me...

Benjamin
Logged
MelW
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 271


View Profile Email
« Reply #7 on: January 15, 2020, 04:31:50 AM »

Do you also feed the Baryta paper through the rear tray?  Is it thinner than the fine art matte paper?
Logged
bjdehaven
Newbie
*
Posts: 13


View Profile Email
« Reply #8 on: January 15, 2020, 05:43:10 PM »

Do you also feed the Baryta paper through the rear tray?  Is it thinner than the fine art matte paper?

Everything has been fed through the normal rear tray. It seems the bypass fine art borders trick doesn't work with the manual feed tray, at least not that I can figure out. The Baryta is 300 weight while the Photo Rag is between 305 and 310 weight, so the Photo Rag is a touch thicker.
Logged
bjdehaven
Newbie
*
Posts: 13


View Profile Email
« Reply #9 on: January 17, 2020, 12:07:25 AM »

Ok, got my new pack of Hahnemuhle Photo Rag 308 smooth. First test print was going swimmingly until it got to the place where the band seems to be and it froze up. It started blinking the alarm amber lamp and the power lamp and stopped printing. I assumed it was out of ink so I opened the top and pressed the resume button to scroll out the head with the cartridges but nothing happened. I ended up having to turn the power off and turn it back on and manually pull the print the rest of the way out... Nothing showed up on the computer monitor... I printed a different image on the same Hahnemuhle Photo Rag that is going me problems and it froze in the same spot again. I noted this time that the lamps were both flashing 3 times then the power (white) lamp would be steady for a moment or two then back to the 3x flashes of each lamp simultaneously. I am connected and printing via usb though the blue wifi light is lit and solid. The print window says "Canon PRO-10 series XPS - USB001" in the title bar...

I printed a 12x18 on 13x19 print on Canon Pro-Luster just for comparison and everything printed out normally with no problems whatsoever...

 
Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 2976



View Profile Email
« Reply #10 on: January 17, 2020, 01:52:18 AM »

Not sure it will affect anything with respect to your particular print job, but don't ever use the XPS drivers from Canon!  The XPS drivers have so many bugs that their behavior is unpredictable.  Always use the regular (non XPS) driver instead.

Regards,
Mike
Logged
bjdehaven
Newbie
*
Posts: 13


View Profile Email
« Reply #11 on: January 17, 2020, 02:35:44 AM »

Not sure it will affect anything with respect to your particular print job, but don't ever use the XPS drivers from Canon!  The XPS drivers have so many bugs that their behavior is unpredictable.  Always use the regular (non XPS) driver instead.

Regards,
Mike

Thank you, I was unaware of that.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!