Mike Chaney's Tech Corner

Mike's Software => Qimage Studio Edition => Topic started by: Liz Z. on August 28, 2012, 01:33:15 PM



Title: RAW for Sony RX100 + Qimage Studio
Post by: Liz Z. on August 28, 2012, 01:33:15 PM
Hi--I use Qimage Studio, and though I tried Ultimate I realized that Studio is more than enough for my needs. But then I got a new, not-yet-supported camera, the Sony RX100.

Mike, will support for RAW images from the Sony RX100 be added to Studio? At this point Studio sort of sees them, but it loads up a green tinted image. ACR just released a beta version which supports the camera, so I know the image isn't green.

I am wondering if I will have to upgrade to Ultimate if I want to use RAW editing with images taken with the Sony RX100?

Thanks for all you do,

Liz


Title: Re: RAW for Sony RX100 + Qimage Studio
Post by: Liz Z. on August 28, 2012, 01:57:23 PM
Never mind! I just read another post that answered my question about updates. I guess it's time to buy Ultimate!


Title: Re: RAW for Sony RX100 + Qimage Studio
Post by: Fred A on August 28, 2012, 03:26:10 PM
Quote
I guess it's time to buy Ultimate!

You wont be sorry!

Fred


Title: Re: RAW for Sony RX100 + Qimage Studio
Post by: Liz Z. on August 28, 2012, 04:11:52 PM
I'm sure you're right, Fred-- I just needed a "valid" reason to do it!

On a related note, if I uninstall Qimage Studio will I be uninstalling the printing jobs that I saved, or anything else I will regret?

Liz


Title: Re: RAW for Sony RX100 + Qimage Studio
Post by: Fred A on August 28, 2012, 04:44:16 PM
Quote
On a related note, if I uninstall Qimage Studio will I be uninstalling the printing jobs that I saved, or anything else I will regret?

No need to uninstall Studio anyway, but all the saved jobs etc. will be migrated to a new location so Ultimate can access them easily.

See two screen snaps from Ultimate.
The first one shows you a selection in the Utility Menu for migrating your files.

Let me put it this way, we are standing by if you need any help.
Fred


Title: Re: RAW for Sony RX100 + Qimage Studio
Post by: Liz Z. on August 28, 2012, 05:53:52 PM
Fred, you are so kind.

Can you imagine what the world would be like if it were commonplace to hear people say to one another, "Let me put it this way, we are standing by if you need any help"?


Liz


Title: Re: RAW for Sony RX100 + Qimage Studio
Post by: Fred A on August 28, 2012, 08:07:58 PM
Quote
Can you imagine what the world would be like if it were commonplace to hear people say to one another, "Let me put it this way, we are standing by if you need any help"?


It's true!  If I am busy, Terry will help, or Brian, or Dennis, or anyone on this forum that knows the answer.
That's what the "we" means.
All good people on here, Plus!    Mike, the author and expert.  I have this old brass lamp. It's a little tarnished, but if I rub it, a puff of smoke, and Mike pops out to give answers too.
But you have to get Ultimate.

 ;D

Fred