Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
December 13, 2018, 08:09:47 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Download and develop photos from your flash cards with one click!
Get a trial of
FlashPipe today and stop fumbling with explorer windows to transfer photos and videos
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Canon Chroma Optimizer switch or selection  (Read 679 times)
BP
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


View Profile
« on: October 30, 2018, 06:56:24 AM »

Hey
for Canon Pro (1000,2000,4000,6000)users it would be good, if there was the possibility the chroma optimizer.
Switch off or select automatic or total.

Is such an option possible?

BP
Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3099



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2018, 07:39:29 AM »

Hi BP.
My understanding of this is that it involves the use of the chroma optimizer cartridge in the printer.
One way that already exists is to have 3 different Printer Setups saved for each condition. This would, of course, mean more setups for each paper size & type but once done it's there for ever.
It's not a lot different from Epson printers that use a gloss optimizer depending on the paper type, a separate printer setup is required for each one.
Terry
Logged
BP
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2018, 08:04:09 AM »

Hey
Yes in the broadest sense it is like that.
Unfortunately, but you can not turn off the function chroma optimizer in the original driver.
Maybe it could create Mike.
In my opinion, it would be easier if I had a choice in qimage.

Bernd
Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 2648



View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2018, 09:49:08 AM »

Chroma optimizer is a driver-specific setting that has no "hook" to the Windows OS, meaning I cannot access that parameter without "hacking" the driver for each individual model.  Terry's solution of saving printer setups would do the trick.  Just name them "CO-off", "CO-auto", etc.

Regards,
Mike
Logged
BP
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2018, 11:18:44 AM »

Hey Mike,
too bad that this does not work.
Thanks anyway.

I will apply the solution from terry.
But the chroma off is unfortunately not available.

Regards,
Bernd
Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 2648



View Profile Email
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2018, 11:52:37 AM »

Hey Mike,
too bad that this does not work.
Thanks anyway.

I will apply the solution from terry.
But the chroma off is unfortunately not available.

Regards,
Bernd

The driver only offers "Auto" and "Overall" which means you'd need a RIP in order to turn it off.  I'm not sure why Canon doesn't give the option in the driver.

Mike
Logged
BP
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2018, 01:35:11 PM »

....I think I have heard that the chroma optimizer in the software mirage
can be switched off.

Regards,
Bernd
Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 2648



View Profile Email
« Reply #7 on: October 30, 2018, 01:45:37 PM »

....I think I have heard that the chroma optimizer in the software mirage
can be switched off.

Regards,
Bernd

I could believe that, because Mirage is a RIP.  But like any RIP, it comes with tradeoffs: Mirage only supports select model Canon and Epson printers.

Mike
Logged
BP
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: October 30, 2018, 02:08:09 PM »

For me, there is no better software than qimage!
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 4882



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #9 on: November 17, 2018, 10:25:14 AM »

Quote
Hey
for Canon Pro (1000,2000,4000,6000)users it would be good, if there was the possibility the chroma optimizer.
Switch off or select automatic or total.

Is such an option possible?

BP

You all probably found this already, but I was poking around in the Canon 1000 driver and came across the spot where they adress the gloss optimizer. There does not seem to be OFF, nut selecting Matte paper does that, but you can switch auto or all.
Just some info in case.
Fred

Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!