Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
August 14, 2020, 02:27:44 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional Photo Printing for Windows
Print with
Qimage and see what you've been missing!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Image size option in the print info  (Read 1357 times)
atb
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 57


View Profile
« on: February 13, 2020, 11:49:05 AM »

Hello Mike,
I suggested this back in 2017 so I hope I don't come across pushy but it's something that would be a great help for me!

Today I printed 20 images on a roll all different sizes which I then cut mats for (or mounts as we call them in the UK).

Because the prints were all different sizes I had to measure all of them individually so I could cut the apertures of the mats to the correct size. This is quite time consuming for me.
What would be great is if the size of the printed image could be an option in the Print Info to be printed below the image....
something like - Size  190mm x 125mm
or if it had a border - Size 190mm x 125mm / 210mm x 145mm incl. border

This is a feature that I would use on at least half of everything I print if it was available.
Many thanks
John
« Last Edit: February 13, 2020, 11:50:57 AM by atb » Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5303



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2020, 12:05:17 PM »

Quote
Because the prints were all different sizes I had to measure all of them individually so I could cut the apertures of the mats to the correct size. This is quite time consuming for me.
What would be great is if the size of the printed image could be an option in the Print Info to be printed below the image....
something like - Size  190mm x 125mm
or if it had a border - Size 190mm x 125mm / 210mm x 145mm incl. border
Hi John; til Mike wakes up. It's 7 am here as I type.
Have you tried the annotated text on the page editor. ?
You type in the exact size with or without borders. Iy prints under the print so no interference.
It does require that you change the text when you come across a different size. 
Just a thought until Mike comes to work.

Fred
Logged
atb
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 57


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2020, 03:29:31 PM »

hello Fred
I have thought of that but it's the time factor. My feeling is it would be quicker to measure them with a rule.
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5303



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2020, 04:34:51 PM »

Quote
I have thought of that but it's the time factor. My feeling is it would be quicker to measure them with a rule.
If you roll your mouse cursor over an image,  on the main view screen, it tells you the exact size of the print including borders or plus borders or no border. No measuring needed.
Oh well, I guess wait for Mike.
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5303



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2020, 04:57:18 PM »

John,
Just thought of a really smart way to solve this for you.Place your images ready to print in the queue, and then click the QUEUE tab. It  will show everything you need to know about the print.
Size, borders, name, profile, etc.
See snap
Fred
Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3113



View Profile Email
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2020, 05:25:33 PM »

The workaround posted here are the only options I can think of.  I'll see what it would take to make size a "Print Info" option.

Regards,
Mike
Logged
atb
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 57


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: February 14, 2020, 09:00:26 AM »

Thanks Mike, and thanks Fred for your suggestions.
Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3113



View Profile Email
« Reply #7 on: February 16, 2020, 07:22:03 PM »

This has been added as an option in "Print Info" in the just-released 2020.112.

Regards,
Mike
Logged
atb
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 57


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: February 20, 2020, 02:28:33 PM »

Hello Mike,
Many thanks for adding this feature! it is very much appreciated!

but, there's an issue I've noticed....
The size it's reporting is the image size plus the size of the information text. For instance, I've just printed an image that's 276mm deep but the info is saying 280mm which is the 276mm + 4mm of the text.

Also, this is more of a behaviour request....
Would it be possible when the image is printed with a border to have the info give the size of the image and the size of the image with the border? Like this -
filename.jpg 400.0mm x 300.0mm (420.0mm x 320.0mm incl. border): 300PPI

I hope that makes sense!

Many thanks for your time and effort!
John

Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3113



View Profile Email
« Reply #9 on: February 20, 2020, 03:38:47 PM »

The size of each print is always listed with the info text included since that is part of the print area: that is the size that has been reported on the "Queue" tab from day one, and I didn't want the info text to confict with the total print size listed in the queue.  I suppose I could change both, however, so they coincide with the actual image area of the print since my guess is most people are more interested in that.

Regards,
Mike
Logged
atb
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 57


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: February 20, 2020, 04:22:06 PM »

For me, the important bit is the size of the image.
But fair enough anyway.
Thanks for your help.
Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3113



View Profile Email
« Reply #11 on: February 20, 2020, 09:04:44 PM »

Try the just-release 2020.113 to see improvements in the print size info option.

Regards,
Mike
Logged
atb
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 57


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: February 21, 2020, 04:52:02 PM »

Hello Mike,
Wow! Thank you so much! it's perfect!
That's going to save me so much time and work! again, thank you!
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!