Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
July 24, 2019, 12:33:56 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional Photo Printing for Windows
Print with
Qimage and see what you've been missing!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Moving Fill Slider without opening RAW edit screen  (Read 3249 times)
tonygamble
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 368


View Profile Email
« on: December 03, 2016, 12:15:59 PM »

When I can see a group of images that are going to suffer from too much or too little Fill I would like to be able to add or subtract a few points in a batch mode.

The present batch RAW Refine does not allow that. If I have three images with Fill of 12 6 3 I go into batch RAW Refine and alter the third image to zero fill all three end up with zero fill. My request would result in them all going down by three - so they would now show 9 3 0

Tony
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5047



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2016, 01:50:39 PM »

Quote
The present batch RAW Refine does not allow that. If I have three images with Fill of 12 6 3 I go into batch RAW Refine and alter the third image to zero fill all three end up with zero fill. My request would result in them all going down by three - so they would now show 9 3 0

Already there.
See screen snaps.
Just open the first refine screen of the selected thumbs, and click on the right icon. This will allow you to change one and use the changed Fill numbers to the rest

Fred
Logged
tonygamble
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 368


View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2016, 03:03:10 PM »

But Fred that is not what I want to do.

I want to take four RAWS with fills of 12 8 5 3

I want to change them two points to 10 6 3 1

If I collect them all and change, say, the 3 to a 1 they all end up with a fill of 1.

Tony
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5047



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2016, 03:15:23 PM »


Quote
I want to take four RAWS with fills of 12 8 5 3

I want to change them two points to 10 6 3 1


I see what you want, but seems so impractical in so much as you wont be seeing the change to decide if it's correct.
Each image is different as suggested by the 12, 8 5, 3 ... How can you decide that each new setting will be optimum?
As you reduce FILL, you are reducing brightness, but increasing contrast. This needs to be subjective.

Fred
Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3155



View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2016, 03:23:27 PM »

Quote
This needs to be subjective.
Not only that if you are wanting the best, reading RGB values to check for too bright highlights and too dark shadows (no detail). You cannot do that from a thumbnail.
Terry
Logged
tonygamble
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 368


View Profile Email
« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2016, 03:35:17 PM »

Fred and Terry,

Both points taken.

BUT.

I find it helps me to page through, say, four RAW files and move the slider a point or two to the left or right. It speeds up my work flow. It would speed it up even more if I did not have to open each RAW to do it.

That is why I put it on my wish list. I am not claiming it is the right way to work. I simply said I'd like it.


Tony
Logged
tonygamble
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 368


View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2019, 03:11:43 PM »

Having converted about 200 RAWs yesterday and used my 'move the slider x clicks left or right' trick I thought I'd look to see how long ago I requested this.

I know that Fred and Terry are not keen on the idea.

However I see that 2,900 people have felt the thread worth taking a look at.

Makes me think that some people might still like the facility, Mike.

Tony
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!