Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
May 27, 2020, 09:35:52 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional Photo Printing for Windows
Print with
Qimage and see what you've been missing!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 600x600  (Read 1248 times)
mical
Newbie
*
Posts: 40


View Profile
« on: December 22, 2018, 02:02:33 PM »

Hi.
Is it possible to increase the resolution from the standard 600x600 on the front screen of Q-U if so how?
Regards.

Mical
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5259



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2018, 03:15:00 PM »

Quote
s it possible to increase the resolution from the standard 600x600 on the front screen of Q-U if so how?
Regards.
It depends on what printer you have .
Have a look at screen snap attached and see you have such a screen
Click on the little arrow to the right of PRINT RES

Fred
Logged
mical
Newbie
*
Posts: 40


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2018, 03:45:35 PM »

Hi Fred.
I tried the 1200 ppl setting it didn't change the 600x600 screen res on the front screen, any other settings i might try?
Thanks

Mical
Logged
mical
Newbie
*
Posts: 40


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2018, 03:50:04 PM »

snap shot 1200 ppl set
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5259



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2018, 09:24:13 PM »

You got it!!

Looks like an Emu.
I got a shot like that.
Mine is through a chain link. Yours is better
Fred
« Last Edit: December 22, 2018, 09:25:49 PM by Fred A » Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5259



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2018, 09:48:34 PM »

Found it.
Logged
mical
Newbie
*
Posts: 40


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: December 23, 2018, 11:01:50 AM »

Hi Fred.
Still cant get the main pic above 600x600 ppl (see snap shot)  even with print res set to overdrive 1200 ppl and poster res set to max 600ppl.

Question- Any idea why 600X600 ppl res was chosen as the display resolution, it does pixelate the image somewhat, are there any other adjustments to up the resolution ?
   
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5259



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #7 on: December 23, 2018, 11:52:09 AM »

Quote
Question- Any idea why 600X600 ppl res was chosen as the display resolution, it does pixelate the image somewhat, are there any other adjustments to up the resolution ?
Mical,
Here's what I see. I cannot confirm until I get the XPS driver you are using, but all my other Canon drivers will max out at 600 x 600 if you have matte type paper registered.
My IPF 8300 driver has no paper selection.
Change the paper selection to a Luster, glossy, semi gloss... and see what you get, 600 or 1200.

In the meantime, although Xmas time, I'll leave Mike a note.
Something might be special to certain drivers.

Fred
Logged
mical
Newbie
*
Posts: 40


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: December 23, 2018, 01:39:07 PM »

Thanks Fred.
The reason I am asking is my eyes are not as good as they used to be, (recently had new glasses prescription) so seeing a pixelated  image on the front screen as a FIRST VIEW is giving me grief
trying to focus.

I am well aware of all the options to achieve full res for viewing full screen, printing, and soft proofing etc I have been using Qimage for ten years.

The only ask I have is can the front screen FIRST VIEW image be up resolutioned as an option even though it may take a little longer to load.   
Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3040



View Profile Email
« Reply #9 on: December 23, 2018, 02:26:51 PM »

600x600 is the printer resolution which has nothing to do with the quality of the live view preview.  The live view preview uses the thumbnails so you can quickly judge the cropping and placement of the prints on the page and arrange them how you like.  To be sure you are using the highest resolution thumbnails:

(1) From the top menu, choose "View", "Thumb Quality", and choose "Best Thumbnail Quality".
(2) Then click "View", "Rebuild Thumbs/Cache" to rebuild the thumbs at the higher quality.

Step (2) is done on a per-folder basis since it rebuilds thumbs in the current folder you are viewing so if you visit a different folder of images, repeat step (2) in that folder and so on.  If in step (1) you find that it is already on best quality, you are already using the highest quality thumbnails.  In that case, you typically only see pixelization if you use tight crops in your prints.  In cases like that, if it's important to see print sharpness and you want a better idea of print quality, use the soft proof button as you've been doing: that's the best way to judge what will be printed... other than actually printing.

Mike
Logged
mical
Newbie
*
Posts: 40


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: December 23, 2018, 05:10:32 PM »

Thanks Mike.
Rebuilding thumbs as we speak. Brilliant

Regards.
Mical
 
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!