Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
November 26, 2020, 01:59:41 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional ICC Profiling Software for Windows
Create custom ICC profiles with
Profile Prism for accurate color!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Comsumers expectations around continued support  (Read 10796 times)
Peejay74
Newbie
*
Posts: 4


View Profile
« on: July 26, 2010, 09:10:45 PM »

My comments are based around a business case not personal.

When a business offers a life time of upgrades like DDI Software did on it's website then viewers would have an expectation of what that meant. The average person would have thought DDI Software would continue with the amount of updates that they have been experiencing since they purchased their version of Qimage.
 
You say Qimage Ultimate is a new product!!

How does that affect the relationship between you and your customers with regard to the original Qimage products?

As you are in the USA an alot of us are not, we are not covered by your comsumer laws although I think your Govt has changed that for internet use. In New Zealand if you offer a lifetime of anything we have to do just that, unless your business goes bankrupt. A good reccommendation to anyone going into busiess is "Don't offer what you can't afford".

I love your product an I would like to see it developed further. You say Win 7 64bit but I fail to see what you have done for 64bit. Where is the use of extra memory, where is GPU usage, why does it still install in Program Files(86).
Logged
Alex
Newbie
*
Posts: 49


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2010, 09:34:28 PM »

I think it is pretty clear that you will still get free upgrades and support for LPS.  They just won't be for added new capabilities other than new camera support.  As always bug fixes will be provided as well.
Logged
mogur2
Newbie
*
Posts: 24


View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2010, 11:16:49 PM »

If I do decide to buy Ultimate, the 64 bit ability would be am important consideration.

Will the 14 day version work as 64 bit?

Where is the use of extra memory, where is GPU usage, why does it still install in Program Files(86).
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5368



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2010, 10:24:16 AM »

Quote
f I do decide to buy Ultimate, the 64 bit ability would be am important consideration.

Will the 14 day version work as 64 bit?
I am running W7 64 bit, and it is a beauty. I have a quad core processor, and Ultimate is using all 4 cores to build the the cache and the thumbs.
It is really neat!

Fred
Logged
Seth
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 322



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2010, 11:40:02 AM »

Quote
f I do decide to buy Ultimate, the 64 bit ability would be am important consideration.

Will the 14 day version work as 64 bit?
I am running W7 64 bit, and it is a beauty. I have a quad core processor, and Ultimate is using all 4 cores to build the the cache and the thumbs.
It is really neat!

Hi Fred!

I think the question is: is it running in 64-bit?  A lot of programs tolerate it but install in the Programs X86 folder.  They are operating in 32-bit.  Studio "takes advantage" of quad processors already (assuming checking the box to do so) but still is a 32-bit program.

Logged

Seth
<CWO4 (FMF) USN, Ret.>
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5368



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #5 on: July 27, 2010, 11:45:14 AM »

Quote
Hi Fred!

I think the question is: is it running in 64-bit?  A lot of programs tolerate it but install in the Programs X86 folder.  They are operating in 32-bit.  Studio "takes advantage" of quad processors already (assuming checking the box to do so) but still is a 32-bit program.

Thanks, Seth,
I think you might be right.
The only two programs I have that actually use the 64 bit capability, are Acronis image back up, and I have Uninstaller Pro.

Fred
Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3177



View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: July 27, 2010, 03:00:40 PM »

As you are in the USA an alot of us are not, we are not covered by your comsumer laws although I think your Govt has changed that for internet use. In New Zealand if you offer a lifetime of anything we have to do just that, unless your business goes bankrupt. A good reccommendation to anyone going into busiess is "Don't offer what you can't afford".

Completely irrelevant!  The product that people bought with free lifetime upgrades is still supported and updated.  Qimage Ultimate is a new product.  I could very easily have done what any other company would do (and do all the time) and just retire Qimage and name the new product "Widget Pro" or something.  Free lifetime support means lifetime of the product, not YOUR lifetime, so many companies would say that a 12 year run of a product is enough: it's reached the end of its useful life.  The simple fact of the matter is that because you bought (and still have) free upgrades for the life of Qimage doesn't mean you can prohibit us from ever creating new software.  Fortunately I don't believe most of our user base is that disrespectful or ridiculous about it.  If I thought they were, I'd probably just do what the rest of the companies do and dump Qimage and say we're done with that as it has reached the end of its life.  I'm not doing that simply because I believe in supporting my customers.

Mike
Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3177



View Profile Email
« Reply #7 on: July 27, 2010, 03:06:56 PM »

I think the question is: is it running in 64-bit?  A lot of programs tolerate it but install in the Programs X86 folder.  They are operating in 32-bit.  Studio "takes advantage" of quad processors already (assuming checking the box to do so) but still is a 32-bit program.

But what's your point?  The only real advantage of 64 bit code is that it can address more memory.  So unless you are one of the 1 in 5000 people working with 2GB images and you happen to run out of memory in Qimage, 64 bit is not really a valid want or need.

Mike
Logged
Seth
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 322



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: July 27, 2010, 07:07:27 PM »

I guess that makes me 1 in 5001.  Grin Grin  Large, 32-bit, HDR-based panoramas can get there.

I don't want to go back to a 64-bit 128MB video card either.

Mike-

I merely responded to Fred.  The question was 'is it 64-bit software?'  The answer is no it is not.  Will it run in a 64-bit environment?  Yes, it will.  Does it still address CPU cores?  Yes.  I LIKE Studio.

In defense of QI software, people VERY rarely put the video in the equation.  Appearances and screen writing are affected by that also--sometimes more than CPU. 

Wow, I hope your stress level goes down.  No sense adding more than programming does already  Roll Eyes.
Logged

Seth
<CWO4 (FMF) USN, Ret.>
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!