Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
October 01, 2020, 08:47:06 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional ICC Profiling Software for Windows
Create custom ICC profiles with
Profile Prism for accurate color!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Create a layout - one 2x3 in center of 8.5x11 page  (Read 6619 times)
Gordo
Newbie
*
Posts: 34


View Profile Email
« on: February 19, 2015, 09:13:38 PM »

Efforts & videos - no results yet. Help please!  Want to create a layout (are they called templates), save for later recall to drop in a different image.  Printer, settings (paper size, orientation, quality -  selected.  Want to place a 2x3 in the center of a 8.5x11 sheet (vertical orientations).   

QImage (without my knowing which boxes to check/uncheck) seems to want to do a lot of other things.   My being simple-minded - just want one 2x3 photo in the center of a 8.5x11 sheet.    BTW, the sheet is an invoice, the 2x3 is an image of the item (a photograph or a piece of jewelry) being invoiced.

Also, BTW, my Qimage greeting card template/layout has been working perfectly for years....kudos to Mike & all the helpers!!!

Thanks,  Gordo
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5328



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2015, 09:39:15 PM »

OK simple as can be.
You don't say what is wrong, so I will just make one for you.

Set page to vertical.

Turn on Print Orientation locked just to make it easier. (not required)
Click on the zebra button on the template thumbnail. Select 2 x 3. If you don't have that, select custom size and type in 2 x 3
With Optimal Spaced placement selected it pops that baby dead center.
Add an image

To save, Simply Click FILE Save, click J button since you want to save everything about the job. Printer settings paper etc... etc

Save as a JOB. Name it of course.
Recall it after clicking the J button in recall, and select it.

That's it
See snaps
Fred
Logged
Gordo
Newbie
*
Posts: 34


View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2015, 02:36:59 AM »

I set printer/paper parameters.  The main screen shows correct paper size & orientation but there are two nicely spaced 6x4 rectangles with diagonal black lines, with a "Freehand" button in between.  Where did that stuff come from...I've never used twin 6x4 horizontal - ever"?

Anyway, I proceeded:  clicked the template zebra-dot. In the resulting "Print Properties (6.00x 4.00)" dialog, I click "2 x 3" & get 10 2x3's on the page.   I went back & clicked "Custom" and saw the "Special Sizes" dialog, & choose "Enter specific SIZE" and typed in 2 x3 and click "OK", I get 10 2x3 rectangles (vertical).

Eureka!!  I finally stumbled on the fact that the 6x4 horizontal, 10 - 2x3's, etc., etc., graphics layout "gymnastics" is just "eye wash" advertising of what the app can do....UGH;  rather than a clean, no distractions drawing board ready for the designer/photographer's layout additions.  Seeing that extraneous stuff, the Qimage non-expert likely thinks "I don't want that layout, gotta go back, delete, start over......"     

I'm coming from years of CAD & PhotoShop.....none of this flashing, automatic graphic possibilities injected into the middle of my graphic layout.

Pissed, Yes!  A waste of an hour of my time AND Fred's time as well.   

Mike, if you happen to see this rant, is there any merit to it?  Or, perhaps you are/have designing an app mostly for folks who have no idea what they want to do.

Thanks, Fred     BTW, where does one find "Optimal Spaced Placement" in the program?

G.       
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5328



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2015, 10:29:24 AM »

Quote
I set printer/paper parameters.  The main screen shows correct paper size & orientation but there are two nicely spaced 6x4 rectangles with diagonal black lines, with a "Freehand" button in between.  Where did that stuff come from...I've never used twin 6x4 horizontal - ever"?

Hi Gordo,
Perhaps you have cooled down and can look at the facts.
If that says FREEHAND, you got there by opening some saved LAYOUT. That places you in Freehand mode,.
Look at it this way. In order to move images around on a sheet, whether it is an image or a template, that is freehand. You are manually selecting the locations.
One click on the placement selector puts you back to Optimal spaced. See snap attached

Quote
Anyway, I proceeded:  clicked the template zebra-dot. In the resulting "Print Properties (6.00x 4.00)" dialog, I click "2 x 3" & get 10 2x3's on the page.   I went back & clicked "Custom" and saw the "Special Sizes" dialog, & choose "Enter specific SIZE" and typed in 2 x3 and click "OK", I get 10 2x3 rectangles (vertical).
Perhaps, when there is nothing selected or operational and the last requested print size was 2 x 3, and the selection of page numbe is zero, the page will show as SAMPLE below the preview panel.
Then you will see 10 black sample placements.
The only way you can get 10 RED TEMPLATES is if you had a 10 in number of copies.

Quote
Eureka!!  I finally stumbled on the fact that the 6x4 horizontal, 10 - 2x3's, etc., etc., graphics layout "gymnastics" is just "eye wash" advertising of what the app can do....UGH;  rather than a clean, no distractions drawing board ready for the designer/photographer's layout additions.  Seeing that extraneous stuff, the Qimage non-expert likely thinks "I don't want that layout, gotta go back, delete, start over......

Had you followed instructions as I wrote previously:
Turn on Print Orientation locked just to make it easier. (not required)
Click on the zebra button on the template thumbnail. Select 2 x 3. If you don't have that, select custom size and type in 2 x 3
With Optimal Spaced placement selected it pops that baby dead center.
Add an image

and seeing the screen image I attached was RED, there was no way you could mistake a RED TEMPLATE for a black sample rectangle.

Quote
I'm coming from years of CAD & PhotoShop.....none of this flashing, automatic graphic possibilities injected into the middle of my graphic layout.

Pissed, Yes!  A waste of an hour of my time AND Fred's time as well.   

Mike, if you happen to see this rant, is there any merit to it?  Or, perhaps you are/have designing an app mostly for folks who have no idea what they want to do.

Thanks, Fred     BTW, where does one find "Optimal Spaced Placement" in the program?

Last but not least, that's the major part of the problem; you are completely joined at the hip to Photo Shop, and therefore think anything that is different is wrong!!
Of all things, QU is far less complex to use, and with better quality results (Prints or Image resizing, sharpening and more.....)

To be comfortable and successful with Qimage, you are going to have to drop the theology of Photo Shop, and be willing to take a bit of time to learn a new method.

I once sat in on a class od Photo Shop whose instructor was showing how to make a double border with two colors and two thicknesses.
After, Brush sizes, and Stroke thickness, and color, and placements, 45 minutes went by.
I said that I can do that in Qimage Ultimate in under 30 seconds....
Only a few were willing to believe me and came up to me at the close.

My point is... it isn't wrong just because it differs from Photo Shop.

You did not waste my time. I have nothing to do anyway.
Actually, this discussion is good for all of us.
I re-learned the important reason  for people having difficulty getting into Qimage.... "coming from a different program with a different technique."

Stick with it Gordo.

Fred


Logged
Gordo
Newbie
*
Posts: 34


View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2015, 12:14:53 AM »

Thanks!!,  Fred
Missed a day.  Back at it today - printing & studying your notes & attachments and trying, trying, trying, & still not getting results.

Years ago In Qimage I made greeting card (Templates, Layouts, Forms - they're called?) 4x5, 5x4, 5x7, 7x5 - width x height - on-screen & card dimensions & orientations.  I've been filling those templates with photos, to make hundreds of cards.  Works very well!!! Actually, this is the only thing I have ever done or even know how to do in Qimage....other than occasionally nudging an image a bit (density, color balance, contrast). BTW,  99.99% of my image editing of my 20MP raw files - is done in Photoshop.

BTW, that's all I know how to do in PS since beginning Adobe in 2002 (Adobe Photoshop LE (Limited Edition - $69.) - then CS2 & 3  ($494 in 2006)  Just crop, Levels (set white & black & points, density-middle slider, color balance - R, G, B, sliders), spotting, dodging-burning.

Your comment ".....that's the major part of the problem; you are completely joined at the hip to Photo Shop, and therefore think...."  is totally off-target. 

In the beginning of my Qimage ~ 5 years ago?, I typed a brief step-by-step of my Template making process, AND a step-by-step of how to "run" it - and referred to it when adding a new card size or orientation template.  Now that step by step is not working.  I can't get a red rectangle w/diagonal lines.

In my original post, I wanted to make and file a Template/Layout, not a Job.  I'd like to recall that layout and fill it with an image as invoices are needed, and of course save those Jobs.

I'm guessing that there are now some settings that are preventing this from happening.   When I boot Qimage why in the world do I see 6x4 black rectangles on the screen?   I haven't set up or printed a 6x4, in my life - anywhere.    The only red I've seen in 3 days is on one of your attachments....and my face in the mirror!

Sorry, this post is filled with background - to indicate that I only know & use 0.01% of Qimage (& PS).  I'm a brief step-by-step-list kind of guy.   When you say "set page vertical", "Optimal Spaced"  it might take me and my newby compatriots a very long time searching for that menu, phrase, button, box.   I bet I've tried 15 times, starting with: "Open Qimage, make printer settings, the folder with 2x3 images is open", and that F------ 6x4 layout is still on the screen, and I'm not able to do the one thing that I know how to do - have done it many times.     

I need to take a break, go to the shop and get a very large hammer...or a chainsaw!!!

Gordo         
 
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5328



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2015, 10:23:03 AM »

WHEW

OK Gordon.....
I will respond to one item at this time.
The black 4 x 6 placemats are supposed to be there... they are 4 x 6 because it comes that way out of the box... called the default print size.

Now here's what we are going to do...

I checked your web site (Really super by the way) and you are in the US.
So we are going to talk on the telephone, and we will do Step 1, Step 2,.... live, in real time.

Oh the other item that can be covered here is SAVE AS A JOB.
You asked
 
Quote
Want to create a layout (are they called templates), save for later recall to drop in a different image.  Printer, settings (paper size, orientation, quality -  selected.  Want to place a 2x3 in the center of a 8.5x11 sheet (vertical orientations).   

So I responded with Save as a JOB.

OK We will solve it all in 15 minutes on the telephone.  Easy Peasy as Terry would say.

You can call me any time after 8:30 AM EST ( I am in Florida) at 941 359 1933

If you would rather I call you, please supply the number and the best time to call.

Some times emailing or posting gets so tedious and non productive because that jerk Fred is explaining something that I didn't really need... and you can't interrupt him because it's a POST or email.

So, as you see I am an early riser, and expect your call or reply post.

We will make it all clear.

Fred
Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3136



View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2015, 12:43:31 PM »

Since I can't really tell what help/videos you've seen, go to 2:30 in this video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qh41axh0rg4&feature=youtu.be&hd=1

It'll show you how to create a simple layout (although the one you are talking about is even simpler).

Regards,
Mike
Logged
Gordo
Newbie
*
Posts: 34


View Profile Email
« Reply #7 on: February 23, 2015, 10:36:49 PM »

Hello Mike,

Thanks for the UTube link.  Watched twice - it cleared it for me.  I saved as Layout:  1- 2x3 in center of 8.5x11 (for invoices).  And then did a Layout: 9 - 2x3's (Gallery - for show and tell purposes). 

For clarity and brevity, I thought the universal standard for graphics, screen/display, etc was: eg   2 x 3   first number (the 2) is always width - Left & Right. The second number (the 3) is always height - up and down.  You know, the "X" & "Y" axes.  Horizontal - left & right along the "X" axis.  Vertical - up and down along the "Y" axis.   

Therefore Clarity:  If the first number (always the X value) is larger than the second number ("Y" value) then it's a horizontal (rectangle).   Conversely, if the "X" is smaller, then it's a vertical.   Therefore, no need for silly (next paragraph) labels.
   
Apparently along the way, the Philistines came into the graphics & design discipline with the terms "landscape" and "portrait"......sounds like a couple of old ladies out for a stroll in the park.    My professors called that "Fuzzy Thinking", as in out-of-focus thinking.   How about "a pinch of nutmeg and a dash of salt"....engineers, describing the design of a truss. :-)

I bring the 2 x 3 and 3 x 2 issue because the "Print Properties" dialog title shows 3.00 x 2.00 when the list at the left shows 2.00 x 3.00....and elsewhere in Qimage.

BTW - I understand that the term "Thickness" has no place in 2-dimensional graphics.   Length x width = 2-D.   Length x width x Thickness (depth) = 3-D.  Thickness of a border, or a line?  Impossible.     

Even as only a 0.01% user of Qimage, I value it highly.  THANKS FOR QIMAGE, and for your ongoing, personal caring for it.

I'll check with Fred & friends with some other questions,

Gordo                 
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5328



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #8 on: February 24, 2015, 11:48:36 AM »

Quote
Original-recipient: rfc822;gordon@gordonartphoto.com
Final-recipient: rfc822;gordon@gordonartphoto.com
Action: failed
Status: 5.4.4 (Illegal host/domain name found)

Gordon,
I tried to email you and it bounced back. See above.

I will endeavor to paste the text here.

Quote
Good morning again,
Sorry I missed your call. We were out, and when we got in it was our 8:00 pm and we are tired out by then.
I was sort of hoping you would call during the day, last Sunday, but we can improvise.
Today, Tuesday, I will be out until my NOON, your 9:00 am
Please call between your 9:00 am and your noon!

I will be happy to call you... let me know when>.
My calls are no charge, so not a problem for me to call you.
I noticed that you said the call should be on your nickel.

Hope to hear from you.
Fred

fred
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!