Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
October 01, 2020, 06:15:26 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional Photo Printing for Windows
Print with
Qimage and see what you've been missing!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Create a layout w/templates  (Read 475 times)
Gordo
Newbie
*
Posts: 34


View Profile Email
« on: May 15, 2020, 12:13:08 AM »

Specs:   Epson 600 (or 3800) Paper size 5x14.  Two-Up Print Size 4.4 x 6.4 w/ 1st border .07 , 2nd border .04  (borders outside print dimensions).  .19 margins all around & w/ .38 between the images.....will be folded there to a 5x7 card.
 
QU doesn't allow B+ borders and those sizes.... for location of the templates.   I've drawn these specs in Turbocad - They fit.  Also I have drawn and used same above specs for "one-up"  (7x10 paper folded to 5x7) greeting cards, in QU, for years.   

Worked with this for +hours, watched Mike's 01/19/2011 video. Made notes. There's probably a setting in there I'm missing.  QU v2019.122
Thanks,
Gordo
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5328



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2020, 11:00:09 AM »

Quote
Worked with this for +hours, watched Mike's 01/19/2011 video. Made notes. There's probably a setting in there I'm missing.  QU v2019.122
Thanks,
Gordo
Hi Gordo,
Instead of getting into tight arithmetic at this point, see if the newer video Nov. 2019 makes it easier for you.
You will likely have to install a more current version. But this should do the job.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=flIrKPVzwoQ&feature=youtu.be&hd=1

Fred
Just playing here....6.4 + border 1, .07. second border, .04 = a .11 border set. Yet you have .38 borders around the prints?
What am I missing?
« Last Edit: May 15, 2020, 11:12:44 AM by Fred A » Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5328



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2020, 12:40:44 PM »

Still playing.
Using the 3800 driver, I have paper size at 5.0 x 14.0
I have print size at 4.40  x 6.40
I have border 1 at .07 and border 2 at .04
I click B+ borders and the resulting print size is 4.62 x 6.62
that is 6.40 + .11 twice for both sides makes 6.62 and 4.40 + .11 twice for both sides makes 4.62.
Since the printable area of the paper is 4.76 it easily accepts 4.62

Fred
Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3136



View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2020, 02:01:19 PM »

Here's my video response showing how I did it:

https://youtu.be/7MbuL1HNMYg

Regards,
Mike
Logged
Gordo
Newbie
*
Posts: 34


View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2020, 08:23:10 PM »

Thanks Fred (reply #2) and Mike (reply #3),

You both nailed it.  I used Mike's step-by-step, on my 'internet' desktop, to do each step on my QU desktop.
When you clicked "IntelliCenter", I said Ah-Ha!!   That's probably my missing step.  I had been using 'Freehand', and just, previously, tried 'Template'.

In fact, I hadn't used (don't remember seeing all those choices) on that panel before, or had always used 'freehand'.   Is it called Print Placement?
Where can I find a definition of those choices?

Whoops, back to appreciating Fred and Mike for your rapid replies of excellent, concise help.  Even though I have used probably only 1% of the tools of QU over many years, it has been a fine, one of the best, 'programs'; I go back to 1981 (Apple+ and E). VisiCalc and Visidex. :-) or :-(

Many thanks,
Gordo       
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!