Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
January 21, 2021, 02:53:01 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Download and develop photos from your flash cards with one click!
Get a trial of
FlashPipe today and stop fumbling with explorer windows to transfer photos and videos
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: Editing IPTC data changes EXIF data  (Read 11715 times)
BrianPrice
Full Member
***
Posts: 248



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #15 on: July 28, 2011, 09:34:47 AM »

Hi
I think this may have something to do with the encoding mode - see this:

http://www.openphotographyforums.com/forums/showthread.php?p=97681

I've read all the posts but I didn't understand a word of it  Embarrassed Embarrassed, but it may be relevant.

Brian

www.secalis.co.uk
Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3205



View Profile Email
« Reply #16 on: July 28, 2011, 01:33:38 PM »

I repeated your test with a 5D CR2 and what I found is that it worked perfectly unless "byte order" on the TIFF save options was set to "Macintosh".  As soon as you set the byte order to "IBM PC" it works fine.  Can you confirm that's the case on your system as well?  Not sure why Adobe would set "Macintosh" as the default when they know their software is installed on a Windows system, but it does seem to have the wrong default.  I may have to disable IPTC if Mac byte order is selected if I can't find an update to the third party IPTC tool I'm using that will allow Mac TIFF's.

Mike
Logged
jrsforums
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 61


View Profile Email
« Reply #17 on: July 28, 2011, 01:42:31 PM »

I repeated your test with a 5D CR2 and what I found is that it worked perfectly unless "byte order" on the TIFF save options was set to "Macintosh".  As soon as you set the byte order to "IBM PC" it works fine.  Can you confirm that's the case on your system as well?  Not sure why Adobe would set "Macintosh" as the default when they know their software is installed on a Windows system, but it does seem to have the wrong default.  I may have to disable IPTC if Mac byte order is selected if I can't find an update to the third party IPTC tool I'm using that will allow Mac TIFF's.

Mike

I can confirm that MAC byte order was checked....and seems to be the default.    I will test PC later today.

In the post Fred sent me to http://www.luminous-landscape.com/forum/index.php?topic=15867  Our "favorite friend", Schewe, states that byte order should not matter (Reply #11)  Good thing he has never been wrong :-)

John

EDIT...as you know, PS allows the option to select 'PC'.  It does not appear that LR provides any choice.
« Last Edit: July 28, 2011, 03:06:49 PM by jrsforums » Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3205



View Profile Email
« Reply #18 on: July 28, 2011, 08:38:26 PM »

Byte order doesn't seem to matter for the image itself.  Not sure why it makes IPTC a problem for QU.  I'd have to look into it further, but I do know that Adobe does some non-standard things with IPTC.  Last time something similar happened I caught Adobe putting Unicode text into IPTC data.  Fine for them maybe... but it (badly) breaks the IPTC standard by inserting what amount to non-ascii control codes.  They seem to be fine with arbitrarily "redefining" standards.  I guess they figure everyone will follow.  But again, I'm just guessing at this point from what I've seen in the past.  I'd have to look into it when I have more time.  Right now, I'm busy with QU 2012 which is due out by the third or fourth week in August.  Smiley

Mike
Logged
jrsforums
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 61


View Profile Email
« Reply #19 on: July 28, 2011, 09:18:32 PM »

No problem, Mike.  My current plan is to make all my IPTC updates in LR.  When you get a chance to look into it in QU, the option for last minute changes will be great.

John
Logged
rayw
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 440


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: July 29, 2011, 02:14:49 AM »

referring to http://www.iptc.org/cms/site/photometadatasupportlist.html?channel=CH0101#70 and other pages on iptc.org, you can see how various software packages comply? with the so called standard. iptc have based much of what they do on what Adobe does, so of course Adobe can behave more or less as a law unto themselves, the rest have to play 'catch-up'. Sad

Best wishes,

Ray
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!