Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
December 02, 2020, 03:36:19 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional ICC Profiling Software for Windows
Create custom ICC profiles with
Profile Prism for accurate color!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Installing QUimage  (Read 3465 times)
vsteffel
Full Member
***
Posts: 107



View Profile Email
« on: February 25, 2017, 06:53:33 PM »

A few days ago my QU17-106 failed to work.  I reinstalled it. Same thing. I cleaned the hard drive and tried again.  This has been going on and on.  I even disabled Windows Defender and tried to get a working version of Qimage.  Today I downloaded QU17 - 119--same thing. 

My operating system is Windows 10.

Below are screen prints. Please help.
Logged
vsteffel
Full Member
***
Posts: 107



View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2017, 06:57:40 PM »

Please note that I tried to attach 3 screen prints, but only the 3rd appeared.


So, here's another try.
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5372



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2017, 08:21:57 PM »

Quote
A few days ago my QU17-106 failed to work.  I reinstalled it. Same thing. I cleaned the hard drive and tried again.  This has been going on and on.  I even disabled Windows Defender and tried to get a working version of Qimage.  Today I downloaded QU17 - 119--same thing.

My operating system is Windows 10.

Hi Vlad,
Mike isn't home, but I left a message.
In t6he meantime,
Reading above, the problem started while you were using version 106 which had been running fine.
You then upgraded to 119 because 106 stopped, and still will not run evn 119.

It does lead one to think of something in Windows that has changed, or something about Defender that is tearing open files and looking through them every time one opens.

I assume that Defender is your only Anti virus.
Have you done anything recently involving your printers?
Fred
Logged
vsteffel
Full Member
***
Posts: 107



View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2017, 09:09:29 PM »

Fred,

I haven't done anything with the printer.  In fact, I don't use it very often.  I will add that I had tried to install each of the versions of QU, i.e., 106 and 119, with Defender disabled.  Also, I uninstalled my copies of QU before I did a new install.

There is something else, I remember seeing a message from QU suggesting that I should not use QU as an administrator.  I know that once--a long time ago--I did use QU as an administrator, but I have done that recently.  I've searched through Windows Control Panel and other Windows folders to find administrator, but I have failed to locate.

I don't know if this helps.

Vlady
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5372



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2017, 09:37:37 PM »

Quote
There is something else, I remember seeing a message from QU suggesting that I should not use QU as an administrator.  I know that once--a long time ago--I did use QU as an administrator, but I have done that recently.  I've searched through Windows Control Panel and other Windows folders to find administrator, but I have failed to locate.

I don't know if this helps.

Vlady,
I know there is a way to do that, but best we wait for Mike.

Fred
Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3181



View Profile Email
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2017, 01:55:33 PM »

The install takes care of all file permissions so you could just reinstall it without uninstalling first and it'll correct admin file permission issues.  Then after you reinstall, try starting it with the shift key held so that you get a fresh start and see if that fixes it.

Regards,
Mike
Logged
vsteffel
Full Member
***
Posts: 107



View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: February 26, 2017, 05:20:08 PM »

Mike and Fred,

I reinstalled QU17-119, I held the shift key down and pressed on start QU.  It worked like a charm.  I did some post-processing. 

Thanks loads.

Vlady
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5372



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #7 on: February 26, 2017, 07:08:40 PM »

Quote
Mike and Fred,

I reinstalled QU17-119, I held the shift key down and pressed on start QU.  It worked like a charm.  I did some post-processing.

Thanks loads.

Vlady

Thanks, Vlady...
I actually proposed that restart with SHIFT key down a few days ago to another person with a similar problem, but he never told me if it stayed fixed, so I hesitated to suggest it to you.
That is a clean restart that requires that you tell QU where your images are stored, and all the initial settings that yiou prefer, in QU and in your driver. Some people complain that I sabotaged their settings and they don't remember them.
 Glad it worked.

Fred (and Mike too)
 
Logged
vsteffel
Full Member
***
Posts: 107



View Profile Email
« Reply #8 on: February 28, 2017, 02:46:11 AM »

Fred,

Today I used QUimage twice.  The first time that I used it I had the restart it by pressing the Shift key.  The second time QU loaded just like it used to.  I guess the trick is to remember the Shift key when the error message comes up.

Thanks again.

Vlady
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!