Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
July 03, 2020, 05:35:41 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional ICC Profiling Software for Windows
Create custom ICC profiles with
Profile Prism for accurate color!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Media Size and Print Size Issue  (Read 279 times)
vjbelle
Newbie
*
Posts: 15


View Profile
« on: January 02, 2020, 05:54:50 PM »

It's been a while since I've used Qimage but have supported it whether I used it or not.  I have the latest version of Ultimate and am confused as to what is happening. 

All of my printing is large and layout is critical as I print on Canvass and museum wrap so the print has to be adjusted to the small variances of the stretcher bars. I decided to test on some older paper I have laying around to make sure that I can get predictable results. 

I'm assuming that I can set the media size regardless as to whether or not that particular size is a size that has been registered with my printer properties.  I created an odd size file (19.75 X 14.81) and set my media size to 24 X 16.  I have a 24 inch roll loaded into the printer.  Qimage shows my file thumbnail having the correct dimensions but when its loaded onto the media page the size changes to (19.47 X 14.61) and it prints that way. 

What is going on?

Any help appreciated.

Regards,

Victor
Logged
vjbelle
Newbie
*
Posts: 15


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2020, 07:31:27 PM »

I have another example.  I want to print a 4X3 file (8256 X 6192) to slightly different dimensions (not keeping to a strict 4X3).  I want the file to be 12075 X 8963 (40.25 X 29.877).  This is easy to do in PS or the Canon print plugin.  Qimage will not let me do this even though I specify the exact dimensions for the print.  It will allow the width but restricts the length to 39.83 which is a perfect 4 X 3. 

Is there a way around this?  Or..... do I have to do all of the size changing outside of Qimage and bring the image in at the dimensions I want?

Victor
Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3070



View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2020, 07:42:13 PM »

Sounds like you have cropping turned off.  Select the thumbnail of the image you want to print and then on the Prints tab, select "Custom" size and then check the box for "Enter Specific SIZE" and make sure to check the box to turn cropping on.  I circled the relevant areas in the attached screen shot.

Regards,
Mike
Logged
vjbelle
Newbie
*
Posts: 15


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2020, 09:06:26 PM »

Thank you Mike..... I did everything 'except' to turn cropping on which to my brain means to make smaller so it just didn't make sense to me to turn it on. 

There's light at the end of the tunnel..... Smiley

Victor
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!