Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
November 29, 2020, 01:16:38 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Download and develop photos from your flash cards with one click!
Get a trial of
FlashPipe today and stop fumbling with explorer windows to transfer photos and videos
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Photo Matts, Photo Frame, Social Media  (Read 1033 times)
NICCO.M
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


View Profile
« on: March 05, 2020, 05:16:19 PM »

Hi Fred, or Members;

Relatively new QIU and Forum user here, my apology for any newbie errors.  Some guidance on the following would be appreciated.

 Is there a method of creating an action, as one can with Photoshop, to add matts
> to photo(s) to be shared on social media e.g. Facebook and or others as well on
> website?  What of adding photo frame as well.
>
> Example is as seen on a friends Facebook page and his website,
> LewisKemper.com.
>
>
> QIU user,

   - NICCO.M
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5368



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2020, 06:18:24 PM »

Quote
Is there a method of creating an action, as one can with Photoshop, to add matts
> to photo(s) to be shared on social media e.g. Facebook and or others as well on
> website?  What of adding photo frame as well.
>
> Example is as seen on a friends Facebook page and his website,
> LewisKemper.com.
>
>
> QIU user,

   - NICCO.M

Hi Nicco,
By an action, you mean like a shortcut thing?
You want to add a mat or two to an image and then addi a frame or cutout and save it?
Of course, easy peasy.
I just don't know what an action is.  Please give an example if what you wish to do.
Fred
Logged
NICCO.M
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2020, 10:16:06 PM »

Hi Fred,

In Photoshop or Photoshop Elements one can use the embedded feature, named ACTION, of recording any or all editing steps and saving it for later use just by invoking/applying the ACTION to new post processing edits on similar photo(s).  The action does serve as short cut to save time on repetitious edits on single, multiple and or batch of images.
 - NICCO.M
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5368



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2020, 10:34:58 PM »

Quote
In Photoshop or Photoshop Elements one can use the embedded feature, named ACTION, of recording any or all editing steps and saving it for later use just by invoking/applying the ACTION to new post processing edits on similar photo(s).  The action does serve as short cut to save time on repetitious edits on single, multiple and or batch of images.
 - NICCO.M
OK on the action.
I was going to say that I don't get much action. I'm too old.
That having been said, Qimage has it's own methods. For example, on printer setups with paper selection, printer selection, size paper, profile to match paper selection, driver settings for that particular set up, (including Color management settings, quality settings,(( borderless preview etc)) and all this recalled with one click.

I make and save layouts (templates) with various positioning of prints and text. I have calendar layouts, DVD label layouts, birthday vard layouts, etc.
If you are lazy like me, I can scroll though previously printed jobs, and Qimage will recall it.
So if you have a  job that you think QU cannot do, describe it please.
Maybe Mel or Terry or anyone can add odd setups they make.
Fred
Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3197



View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2020, 07:42:10 AM »

Hi Nicco
Quote
Is there a method of creating an action, as one can with Photoshop, to add matts
> to photo(s) to be shared on social media e.g. Facebook and or others as well on
> website?  What of adding photo frame as well.

 See next Post


Terry
« Last Edit: March 06, 2020, 09:36:48 AM by Terry-M » Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3197



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 06, 2020, 09:08:27 AM »

OK. Back to square one!
I've now looked at your friend's web site and seen what you mean.
The best way to this in QU is to create a Cutout. See the attached image I made using a QU cutout in the image editor.
See second screen shot of QU editor where this is done
I made the cutout image in a graphics program, Serif PagePlus but other programs could do this too.
If you go to the Help- Legacy Help Documentation - Index  - Qimage Functions, you'll see Cutouts listed there and how to make them and load into QU.
Terry

PS. You can see samples of my collection of QU Cutouts and Frames here. Some were "experimental"!
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1Z3zHFUC_8p7TKIW7TH9sTaP3w-Fvl1Ed
Use the grid view and right click on an image to select Preview.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2020, 12:06:15 PM by Terry-M » Logged
NICCO.M
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2020, 03:15:55 PM »

Fred...  Cheesy LOL

Thank you to Fred and Terry-M for those insights on my task.  Do either of you two have a way of using QU to run the cut out / frame method on a batch of photos in one operation (action).  If that is implied in your how to my apology for being dense on that topic.

- NICCO
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5368



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #7 on: March 09, 2020, 04:29:53 PM »

Quote
Thank you to Fred and Terry-M for those insights on my task.  Do either of you two have a way of using QU to run the cut out / frame method on a batch of photos in one operation (action).  If that is implied in your how to my apology for being dense on that topic.
Well I would not include the cutout frame in my saved setup, but instead, there's an easier way .
Put your images into the queue.
Apply the cutout frame of your choice the first image.
Now when you click DONE, you get the approval box to save the filter.
**** Here you add a dot where it says apply to all in the queue Located top right corner.
Then it will ask " replace, or add. Select add.
The reason being that any previous work you did like sharpenin, exposure, White balance.... will not be disturbed.
See if that works for you.

Fred
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!