Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
May 31, 2020, 12:22:51 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Download and develop photos from your flash cards with one click!
Get a trial of
FlashPipe today and stop fumbling with explorer windows to transfer photos and videos
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Plugin mystery  (Read 4076 times)
Lurcherjohn
Full Member
***
Posts: 144


View Profile
« on: April 30, 2017, 08:15:43 PM »

Can someone repeat what I've been doing and see if they get the same result.
I have been using Photoshop and Qimage plugin to print with no problems.
But if in Photoshop I convert a photo to greyscale and then use the plugin, the image in Qimage appears three times but in three thin columns in the one thumbnail and in the print live view.
Please give it a try and see what happens.
Any thoughts about what's going on?
       John
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5259



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2017, 10:09:48 PM »

Quote
Can someone repeat what I've been doing and see if they get the same result.
I have been using Photoshop and Qimage plugin to print with no problems.
But if in Photoshop I convert a photo to greyscale and then use the plugin, the image in Qimage appears three times but in three thin columns in the one thumbnail and in the print live view.
Please give it a try and see what happens.
Any thoughts about what's going on?
       John

Hi John,
You know that I certainly know the least about Photo Shop of anyone here.
I can repeat what you are getting, and have tried three gray scale profiles that I found in the list.
Which one are you using? The three I tried show in Google as CMYK profiles not rgb.
CMYK does not work in Qimage.
When I want a B&W (grayscale image) I just invo9ke the B&W filter in Qimage. Been using it for years and always a neutral gray.

Fred
Logged
Jules
Full Member
***
Posts: 121



View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2017, 06:25:47 AM »

Quote
Can someone repeat what I've been doing and see if they get the same result.
I have been using Photoshop and Qimage plugin to print with no problems.
But if in Photoshop I convert a photo to greyscale and then use the plugin, the image in Qimage appears three times but in three thin columns in the one thumbnail and in the print live view.
Please give it a try and see what happens.
Any thoughts about what's going on?
       John

Hi John,
You know that I certainly know the least about Photo Shop of anyone here.

I don't know if this is of any help. But 95% of my printing is black and white. I use PS to do my retouching but I do not convert the image to b&w using Greyscale ( I use a self created Action). But the flattened file remains in RGB for printing in Qimage.
Jules

I can repeat what you are getting, and have tried three gray scale profiles that I found in the list.
Which one are you using? The three I tried show in Google as CMYK profiles not rgb.
CMYK does not work in Qimage.
When I want a B&W (grayscale image) I just invo9ke the B&W filter in Qimage. Been using it for years and always a neutral gray.

Fred
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5259



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2017, 08:08:03 AM »

Hi Jules,
I do not see any typed in stuff from you.
Did you have a good idea for John? If so, what you typed, didn't save.
Fred
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5259



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2017, 08:19:40 AM »

Hey Jules,
Your post is dated earlier than John's original post.
Check your computer clock.
Fred
Logged
BrianPrice
Full Member
***
Posts: 243



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2017, 08:56:41 AM »

I'm finding this as well, it's going to be something for Mike to sort out.
The best way to print black and white in QI is to leave the image in RGB colour (reduce saturation to zero). The file is then printed using the colour profile which gives you perfect monochrome (greys are colours too).
The other way is to use QuadTone Rip in QI, I havn't tried this but I believe it's complicated!

Brian
Logged
Lurcherjohn
Full Member
***
Posts: 144


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: May 01, 2017, 10:27:53 PM »

The grey scale I used in Photoshop is Image>Mode>Greyscale>Flatten>Discard
Then File>Automate>Qimage
and voila it's in three columns, smeared downwards
Just done it again to check.
 

Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5259



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2017, 08:48:11 AM »

Quote
The grey scale I used in Photoshop is Image>Mode>Greyscale>Flatten>Discard
Then File>Automate>Qimage
and voila it's in three columns, smeared downwards
Just done it again to check.
 
John,
I emailed Brian .... etc that Mike knows and is fixing.
I couldn't get your email address so I tried "Personal message" in the Forum innards.
I don't think that went out to you either.
So all should be OK soon.
Fred

PS I get teh same results that you get.
Logged
Lurcherjohn
Full Member
***
Posts: 144


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: May 02, 2017, 04:51:38 PM »

Thanks Fred, I've got your email. It was just chance I used the Photoshop greyscale, for a quick look. I usually Use Topaz B&W for black and white prints.
Glad you and others found the same thing, I thought I was going mad.
Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3042



View Profile Email
« Reply #9 on: May 02, 2017, 09:56:30 PM »

This problem has been corrected in the just-released v2017.124.

Regards,
Mike
Logged
Lurcherjohn
Full Member
***
Posts: 144


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: May 02, 2017, 10:09:40 PM »

Thanks Mike, well done. Excellent response to a problem as usual.
Logged
Jules
Full Member
***
Posts: 121



View Profile Email
« Reply #11 on: May 04, 2017, 06:18:27 AM »

Hi Jules,
I do not see any typed in stuff from you.
Did you have a good idea for John? If so, what you typed, didn't save.
Fred

I don't know what happened there. I wrote that I do most of my professional printing in B&W, but do not convert to Greyscale. I use an Action that I have developed that does not require converting. I print all my B&W using RGB.
Logged
Jules
Full Member
***
Posts: 121



View Profile Email
« Reply #12 on: May 04, 2017, 06:21:05 AM »

Hey Jules,
Your post is dated earlier than John's original post.
Check your computer clock.
Fred

Looks ok here Fred! Johns post was on April 30, mine May 1st. (But contained nothing Huh )
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!