Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
December 04, 2021, 12:41:47 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Download and develop photos from your flash cards with one click!
Get a trial of
FlashPipe today and stop fumbling with explorer windows to transfer photos and videos
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Print filter applied to web files  (Read 8385 times)
jeffjessee
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 76


.


View Profile Email
« on: May 01, 2013, 04:32:38 PM »

In making wallpaper for my extra-saturated monitor, I need to subtract at least 20 from the saturation. I have a print filter that does that, but it doesn't get applied when I create email-sized jpgs. Other than editing each file, reducing the sat., then creating jpgs, then re-editing and setting the sat. filter back to normal, anyone know an easier way? I've tried print to file, that required even more steps. I guess what I really want is another checkbox in the create email command for "apply print filter". That would be so simple, and these days, simple helps  Smiley
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5452



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2013, 05:06:11 PM »

Quote
That would be so simple, and these days, simple helps

Hi Jeff.
Try a checkmark in "G: for global filter. That works.

Fred
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5452



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2013, 05:10:21 PM »

Open the editor and apply a -50 in the saturation. Then FILE SAVE FILTER and name it.
Now all set to use it in "G" box.

Fred
Logged
jeffjessee
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 76


.


View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2013, 01:21:43 PM »

I had understood the "G" filter went in place of the filter that was already on the file, so I would lose the original filter, which is also needed. Is that not correct?

Jeff
Logged
jeffjessee
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 76


.


View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2013, 01:30:18 PM »

Just read the docs, and see that if a file already has a filter, the "G" filter will not be applied. Not exactly what I thought, but it won't work for me, as I always have a filter associated with the file that I need in addition to the -saturation filter. Guess I just have to talk Mike into putting an "add print filter" box to check when creating web-sized files. Or would it bother anyone if the print filter was included with the "honor print crops and stamps" check box?

Jeff J
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5452



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2013, 02:08:50 PM »

Quote
Just read the docs, and see that if a file already has a filter, the "G" filter will not be applied. Not exactly what I thought, but it won't work for me, as I always have a filter associated with the file that I need in addition to the -saturation filter. Guess I just have to talk Mike into putting an "add print filter" box to check when creating web-sized files. Or would it bother anyone if the print filter was included with the "honor print crops and stamps" check box?

Just think of how....
I have no idea how many images you are working on, but this is very simple.
Here's the way I would do it.
I place all my images in the queue, and as I understand it, you have various filters applied to each image.
OK, now open one image remove  50% saturation with a -50, and then say DONE.
When the save box opens, just click on APPLY to all (add).
That takes care of that!
Now in the same queue, you can make your email web copies.

Fred
Logged
jeffjessee
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 76


.


View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2013, 02:11:54 PM »

Fred, wouldn't that apply ALL the filters in the image to all the other images, thus causing me to have to re-do every filter to get them back?
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5452



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2013, 07:15:47 PM »

Quote
Fred, wouldn't that apply ALL the filters in the image to all the other images, thus causing me to have to re-do every filter to get them back?

Jeff,
I just thought about it for a few minutes, and Viola! Here's your answer.
Put them into the queue as you always do. Now do your filters as you always do.
Finish in the editor.

OK Now do this:
Right click on the preview panel and select Convert Images.
Now just tick the button that says ADD to or replace existing  filters. .. see snap 135
Click APPEND and a box opens. See 133
Do your -50% saturation.
Now look at 134.. see where I put 1024 into the size box?
Now when you  click OK Qimage will  APPEND saturation and resize it for your web size in one step.

That should do it for you!!

Fred

Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3214



View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: May 02, 2013, 08:02:15 PM »

All this about applying a special saturation filter for web copies seems nonsense to me.
Quote
In making wallpaper for my extra-saturated monitor, I need to subtract at least 20 from the saturation.
The above is the root of the problem, why is the monitor so much out of kilter and not properly calibrated?
Terry
Logged
jeffjessee
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 76


.


View Profile Email
« Reply #9 on: May 03, 2013, 01:03:28 PM »

Terry-The monitor IS properly calibrated with a recently made profile, so that it works fine in QU and matches the prints well. The problem is, wonderful WINDOWS is NOT properly color managed, so with a monitor like mine (hp LP2475w), the wallpaper shows up garishly oversaturated and  unreal looking.

But Fred's latest suggestion sounds like it should work, I'll try it.

Thanks,
Jeff
Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3214



View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: May 03, 2013, 07:57:15 PM »

Hi Jeff,
I realise Windows is not colour managed but surprised that your wall paper images look over-saturated.
I have a wide gamut Eizo monitor and find that images converted to sRGB look reasonably ok as wallpaper.
I wonder if the problem is related to your monitor being LCD correction, should read LED.
One other suggestion to modify the saturation for a wallpaper image, especially if there are relatively few, just make a copy within QU and then modfy the saturation on the copy.
Terry
« Last Edit: May 04, 2013, 11:05:49 AM by Terry-M » Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3214



View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: May 04, 2013, 08:50:39 AM »

Jeff,
Following on from:
Quote
The problem is, wonderful WINDOWS is NOT properly color managed,
What version of Windows are you running? I'm on Windows 7 and I cannot fault how it shows images on the desktop or with Windows photo viewer.
I converted a raw file with bright colours to jpeg with the extreme ProPhoto profile and this showed correctly in the Windows viewer but a little dull  as a wallpaper. The correct monitor profile is selected in W7 colour management.
So, it does appear that W7  does colour manage to some extent but I stand to be corrected - it's something I've never been sure about  Roll Eyes
Terry
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5452



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #12 on: May 04, 2013, 09:08:38 AM »

Quote
The problem is, wonderful WINDOWS is NOT properly color managed,
What version of Windows are you running? I'm on Windows 7 and I cannot fault how it shows images on the desktop or with Windows photo viewer.
I converted a raw file with bright colours to jpeg with the extreme ProPhoto profile and this showed correctly in the Windows viewer but a little dull  as a wallpaper. The correct monitor profile is selected in W7 colour management.

Two cents plain:   (A New York City expression from the 30s and 40s)

I am not willing to blame the issue of what appears to be over saturation on a profile right or wrong.
You can employ the good old (comes with Windows and comes with Qimage) sRGB. It might change the shades of a few colors almost imperceptibly, but goosing up the saturation (and or contrast ) by a minimum of 20% which implies even more, 30-40%, is not the profile's fault.

Either your monitor's brightness is too high.... (Terry knows the starting brightness levels) and then do the monitor profile., or you have some sort of a gamma loader that boots from some program.

Just thinking out loud!

Fred
Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3214



View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: May 04, 2013, 11:08:43 AM »

Quote
Either your monitor's brightness is too high.... (Terry knows the starting brightness levels)
My iMatch software recommends 120CD/M^2 for and LCD monitor but nothing about LED types.
I have mine set at 125CD/M^2 so the monitor matches prints.
Terry
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!