Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
January 20, 2021, 01:12:09 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional ICC Profiling Software for Windows
Create custom ICC profiles with
Profile Prism for accurate color!
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: Print size question  (Read 13541 times)
Ken
Newbie
*
Posts: 36


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: December 19, 2010, 06:27:13 AM »

Fred,

Thank you for your response. I have cropped images in QIU many times before; however, for what i do with a multitude of prints, sometimes the workflow works better to crop within LR.

LR is also non-destructive. I have setup LR to go directly to QIU for printing at times, other times to the HD to a "printing" folder for later printing of large batches. All are exported as tiffs.

Since you may be shaking your head as to why I do it this way.. The same photo(s) (cropped) may go to:

1)printing
2)slideshow
3)web
4)CD or DVD

all via LR with a couple of clicks (presets).

Soooo, if I do as explained am I losing anything in print quality? It would save me time if I continue processing as described...however, I do not wish to sacrifice quality.

Thank you again for your help & support.

Ken
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5411



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #16 on: December 19, 2010, 10:32:26 AM »

thatnks for the help folks,


One hting I wanted to mention/ask- You mentioend targetted sharpening- in the past, what I usually do is just sharpen the whole photo, then open both unsharpened photo and sharpened one, lay the unsharpened one over the sharpened one, and erase areas that I don't want sharpened (or apply a mask, and brush out the areas I don't want sharpened. then flatten gthe image and resave it. ) I don't get too fussy about gettign real close to subject as along edges of subject, I'll usualy reduce opacity of brush and paint a thin outline that blends into them ore sharpeened areas of subject- that gives a pretty good transition from sharpened areas into non sharpened areas of background

Also, as a thank you for the help here- I thought I'd mention a free photoshop action called 'Golden Crop- it gives several cropping methods- golden mean, golden  triangle, rule of thirds etc- very handy program to have as many times the golden ratio works better for photos than the rule of thirds does- I don't have hte link- but a google search  fior 'golden crop' will find it

Naz,
I see you added to your post which seems to call for a reply.
Your upper paragraph regarding sharpening calls for 20 minutes per photo shot. I couldn't waste my day doing that.
Try to learn the Tone Targeted sharpening system in Ultimate.
Many get the wrong impression that you are locked into sharpening or not sharpening a certain color. You can if you wish, or you can use the RGB sharpening technique which narrows the range of what gets sharpened to you being able to sharpen even parts of the flesh tone of a single face.


I can make TIFS or JPGs of various sizes, with or without my crops with two mouse clicks, go to a different folder or the same, from my image, I can email the same images at any size I want right from Qimage's screen, two clicks to do that; oops! , three.

BUT!!   Each person is comfortable with a work flow that he has developed and got used to.  So, I can understand.... but I urge you to try.

I forgot to mention the CROP WIZARD in Qimage's Image Editor screen.
I don't need any plug ins. :-)     Really, click the Crop Wizard button and select your ratio and portrait or Landscape....   Click!

Fred
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5411



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #17 on: December 19, 2010, 10:53:12 AM »

Quote
Since you may be shaking your head as to why I do it this way.. The same photo(s) (cropped) may go to:

1)printing
2)slideshow
3)web
4)CD or DVD

all via LR with a couple of clicks (presets).

Soooo, if I do as explained am I losing anything in print quality? It would save me time if I continue processing as described...however, I do not wish to sacrifice quality.

Thank you again for your help & support.

Ken,
I really don't know that much about LR.
Frankly I tried it twice, and it makes me crazy to try to navigate around in it. I tried to print a few images on one sheet, and I gave up in frustration.
I wanted to test LR's ability to print a target for profiling, and I couldn't get LR to leave the colors alone.
So I get that feeling like when you watch Bela Lugosi as Count Dracula approaching, you take both index fingers, one vertical and one horizontal, held out in front of you like a CROSS, Warding off the aura of the dreaded count.
I do that when in the presence of Light Room.

Seriously, Ken, I really don't know how LR handles crops. I would suspect it makes a newly cropped file, but I don't know.
I just find Qimage does everything easier and better. The only time I "need" an editor like PS or PSP is when I need to remove a large object (like a trash pail in the street) from my shot of a colorful fish restaurant near the coast.
I send the image to one of my rich friends with CS5. He removes the objectionable object, and sends it back.

As for the other things; same as I said to Naz.
I do a lot of slide shows... (Thanks to Pro Show Gold). I select the images for the show from my raw thumbs, and use Make web copies from the RMB menu. I select 1024 for my size, click NO on do I want to email, and in a few seconds I have all my slide show shots in the Q-email subfolder.
I point Pro Show to that folder.... badda bing, badda boom! A slide show!

I can make TIFS or JPGs of various sizes, with or without my crops with two mouse clicks, go to a different folder or the same, from my image, I can email the same images at any size I want right from Qimage's screen, two clicks to do that; oops! , three.

By the way, Ken, I hope you use music with the slide show. It makes a slide show into a masterpiece.


The main thing is to try.... and to make yourself happy.

Fred
Logged
Owen Glendower
Full Member
***
Posts: 185


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: December 19, 2010, 01:57:39 PM »

Thank you for your response. I have cropped images in QIU many times before; however, for what i do with a multitude of prints, sometimes the workflow works better to crop within LR.

LR is also non-destructive. I have setup LR to go directly to QIU for printing at times, other times to the HD to a "printing" folder for later printing of large batches. All are exported as tiffs.

Since you may be shaking your head as to why I do it this way.. The same photo(s) (cropped) may go to:

1)printing
2)slideshow
3)web
4)CD or DVD

all via LR with a couple of clicks (presets).

Soooo, if I do as explained am I losing anything in print quality? It would save me time if I continue processing as described...however, I do not wish to sacrifice quality.

Thank you again for your help & support.

Ken


Your description of your LR workflow makes a great deal of sense, Ken.  If LR's edits are non-destructive, and if you're saving the cropped image in a lossless file format, I don't see how you could be losing quality by cropping in LR.

But you could certainly confirm that with the "test strip" function in Qimage.  Crop your image in LR, open it in Qimage, pick a monster enlargement size, and print a test strip.  Then go back to the uncropped image, crop in Qimage, and print another test strip.  I'd certainly be interested in knowing the results.
Logged
Ken
Newbie
*
Posts: 36


View Profile
« Reply #19 on: December 19, 2010, 10:38:55 PM »

Thank you Fred & Owen. I appreciate your comments & support.

I will try the test strip comparrison soon & let you know the results.

And, yes Fred, ProShow is the best. I have used Producer for years. Fantastic results!

Merry Christmas to all of the QI & QIU Family!

Ken
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!