Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
September 25, 2017, 01:08:49 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional ICC Profiling Software for Windows
Create custom ICC profiles with
Profile Prism for accurate color!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Prints Highlight seems to be missing.  (Read 776 times)
Jules
Full Member
***
Posts: 103



View Profile Email
« on: July 17, 2017, 11:33:33 AM »

Has this feature that i very much like been taken away in the latest Version.  Embarrassed Previously when I clicked on an image that I wanted to print and then the little 'Sizes' icon, a list of all my previously set print sizes would pop up and any that had the same ration as the one I had picked would be highlit in blue. So for instance if I had a 16 x 12" saved file selected, when I opened the size list then 16 x 12, 8 x 6 and 4 x 3 would all be highlit making my choice very easy to find. Now I have the Print list obtainable in a slightly different way from the three headings, Printers and Settings, Prints, and Queue. But choosing the Prints list does not give me any highlit size. I have many different sizes in my list (about 40). Could the highlighting not be returned. It was useful.
Jules
Logged
Jules
Full Member
***
Posts: 103



View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2017, 05:42:54 AM »

Lots of people have read this. Are there no comments or thoughts?
Jules
Logged
Jules
Full Member
***
Posts: 103



View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2017, 12:05:19 PM »

Oh well.
Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 2984



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2017, 12:17:19 PM »

Jules,
Quote
Are there no comments or thoughts?
It was re-introduced in v107 http://www.ddisoftware.com/qimage-u/downloads.htm#latestver
Update your QU.
Terry
Logged
Jules
Full Member
***
Posts: 103



View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2017, 04:57:41 PM »

I am using Vs 107 and it still does not highlight the size in my list in Blue I'm afraid
Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 2984



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2017, 03:12:54 AM »

It's OK here. See screen shot below.
Yellow for current size, blue for previous print size used and others with same aspect ratio.
Terry
Logged
Jules
Full Member
***
Posts: 103



View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2017, 01:10:15 PM »

Hi there.
  It still doesn't work for me, but I think I may know why.
When I open a folder of 10 x 8"s on the left, and hover over an image, I see this info below.
Filename.psd: 53,318,268, 15.71 x 12,57 in @ 300 PPI, 4712 x 3770 (ISO 200), f16 etc
It is not seeing the image as a 10 x 8 but as a 15.71 x 12.57 in
Could this be why 10 x 8 is not showing up in Blue?
  Jules
Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 2984



View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2017, 01:53:00 PM »

Jules,
Are you selecting the thumb to see the print sizes highlighted in the Print tab?
Quote
When I open a folder of 10 x 8"s on the left, and hover over an image, I see this info below.
Filename.psd: 53,318,268, 15.71 x 12,57 in @ 300 PPI, 4712 x 3770 (ISO 200), f16 etc
It is not seeing the image as a 10 x 8 but as a 15.71 x 12.57 in
Could this be why 10 x 8 is not showing up in Blue?
No. First an image is not 10x8 or any linear size; it's size is in pixels. Therefore the linear size you see when you hover over it is the size that it would be if printed at 300ppi: -
"15.71 x 12,57 in @ 300 PPI". The print resolution for your 10x8 will be higher at 471ppi.
Terry
Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 2415



View Profile Email
« Reply #8 on: August 04, 2017, 11:25:57 AM »

4770x3712 is basically a 10:8 ratio.  I created a 4770x3712 image and when I click on that image in the thumbs, 8x10 and 16x20 higlight blue.  You do know that you have to click on that thumbnail to select it in order for the sizes to highlight, right?  Only select that one image: if you select multiples that are different aspect ratios, it may invalidate the size highlighting.

Regards,
Mike
Logged
Jules
Full Member
***
Posts: 103



View Profile Email
« Reply #9 on: August 06, 2017, 10:29:37 AM »

Thanks for your reply Mike. I have taken a screen shot. The curser was hovering over the left hand thumbnail although the 'Print Screen' key screen shot does not seem to record it. You can see that even 'though I have this thumbnail selected and hovered over, and that it is a 10 x 8 (as can be seen from the resolution at the bottom of the screen, 10 x 8 is not highlighted in my print sizes on the top right of the image. I have cropped the image to delete the centre parts to keep the image less than 250K. No trickery I promise.
Thanks for your help
Jules
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 4481



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #10 on: August 06, 2017, 10:34:04 AM »

Quote
Thanks for your reply Mike. I have taken a screen shot. The curser was hovering over the left hand thumbnail although the 'Print Screen' key screen shot does not seem to record it. You can see that even 'though I have this thumbnail selected and hovered over, and that it is a 10 x 8 (as can be seen from the resolution at the bottom of the screen, 10 x 8 is not highlighted in my print sizes on the top right of the image. I have cropped the image to delete the centre parts to keep the image less than 250K. No trickery I promise.
Thanks for your help

Jules,
Until Mike gets to his office, how about humoring me.
It looks like you have a folder called 8 x 10.... selected.... means nothing.
Here's what I ask you to show..... Mike and me.....
With the Prints tab in play and no image yet in the queue, blank view screen,
Now in the list of sizes , click on 8 x 10.
Now select any thumbnail, click on the little plus button on the thumb.
You should have an 8 x 10 print showing in the print screen, and the size box should be yellow.

FRED
Logged
Jules
Full Member
***
Posts: 103



View Profile Email
« Reply #11 on: August 06, 2017, 11:10:23 AM »

Hi Fred. I will humor you :-)
Let me first say that previosly I would have the thumbs of my fold of images showing in nthe thumbs pane. By clicking on one, it's size, or it's size and any other scaled size would light up in blue in the Prints box that opened. This was good for two reasons. One it meant it was easy to find the size I wanted (say 10x8 or 20x16) as they were all easily seen, and two, it confirmed to me that I had croppe the image correctly. This was importatnt as if for instance I had cropped an image 9.25x12 and put it in the 10x8 folder, when I clicked on it, it would not highlight 10x8 and i would know there was a size problem.
Now when I click on an thumb, no size shows in Blue.
That said looking at your instructions above
I select a 10x8 folder, it does mean something to me, it means those image should be a 10:8 scale.
So I click on 10x8 in the list of sizes as you have asked..... 10x8 template/s appear. Nothing in Blue
I select a thumbnail....A white tick on a black square appears top left on Thumnail.... No size appears in blue on Print list.
So following your list I click on 10x8 ......The picked thumbnail appears on my sheet as a 10x8. but i had to search for where 10x8 was listed, boring to do when an odd size is needed and there are lots of sizes in my list.
 much easier with the old old system when the relevent sizes automatically appeared in blue.
You say click on the little Plus to add to the queue, but I dodn't have to do that as it added when i hit the size.
....and still, my Print size is not in blue, or boxed in yellow.
 Huh

Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 4481



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #12 on: August 06, 2017, 02:56:31 PM »

Jules,
I just sent you a small  video by email.
Also, the key to watch for is shown in this snap.
If it says, set as new working size, no yellow because it is waiting for instruction.  If you add an image to the queue, (as I asked), then it changes to the other selection and you get the yellow.
Fred
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 4481



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #13 on: August 14, 2017, 03:46:09 PM »

Quote
Thanks for your reply Mike. I have taken a screen shot. The curser was hovering over the left hand thumbnail although the 'Print Screen' key screen shot does not seem to record it. You can see that even 'though I have this thumbnail selected and hovered over, and that it is a 10 x 8 (as can be seen from the resolution at the bottom of the screen, 10 x 8 is not highlighted in my print sizes on the top right of the image. I have cropped the image to delete the centre parts to keep the image less than 250K. No trickery I promise.

Quote
I am using Vs 107 and it still does not highlight the size in my list in Blue I'm afraid

Ok forum people, the mystery of Jules' missing highlighted print sizes is solved.
Jules and I have been working through email so we would not clutter the topic with posts that were just conversation and a few experiments.

The solution of why he didn't get the highlighted sizes in colors,  worth a chuckle since we all have done this from time to time.
(Only Terry will deny it) ( Grin Grin Grin)

Holy Moley, I am running version 102?  I could have sworn I upgraded to 107 or 108.

The highlighted sizes were not added until 107; and the mystery is solved.

A special thanks to Jules for having the patience and spending the time to see it through.
Fred
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!