Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
December 03, 2020, 10:11:48 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Download and develop photos from your flash cards with one click!
Get a trial of
FlashPipe today and stop fumbling with explorer windows to transfer photos and videos
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Saved Printer Settings  (Read 381 times)
Ravenwood
Newbie
*
Posts: 5



View Profile Email
« on: October 10, 2020, 02:56:48 PM »

I am trying to clean out my "saved printer settings" which has become quite cluttered with settings I no longer use/need. When I go to C://programdata/ddisoftware/qimage/save, I find 2 settings for profiles: a prt and a pr1. What is the difference and can I delete both? On a different note, I absolutely LOVE the ability to run an auto proof rendering choice before printing. Many thanks for adding it.
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5373



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2020, 05:02:03 PM »

Quote
I am trying to clean out my "saved printer settings" which has become quite cluttered with settings I no longer use/need. When I go to C://programdata/ddisoftware/qimage/save, I find 2 settings for profiles: a prt and a pr1. What is the difference and can I delete both?

Simpler than that, sir.
Just open the list of saved printer profiles in Qimage, and when you find what you want to delete, right click and DELETE.

Fred
Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3185



View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2020, 05:12:13 PM »

Fred's way will delete both prt and pr1 files automatically.  But for inquiry minds, the prt file is the driver settings and the pr1 file are the Qimage settings such as print size, borders, printer profile, any user additional margins, and a bunch of other Qimage-specific settings that go along with that printer setup.

Regards,
Mike
« Last Edit: October 10, 2020, 05:13:57 PM by admin » Logged
Ravenwood
Newbie
*
Posts: 5



View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2020, 11:12:27 PM »

Fred &  Admin: wow, many thanks for your speedy reply. Yes, the right click/delete is much better/faster - and it is good to know the difference of prt & pr1. One more question: I also note that I have duplicate save settings listed with { }s. What are these and can I delete these too?
Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3185



View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2020, 01:26:47 AM »

Those are the settings by printer and media type.  They are used to bring back settings you last used for a particular printer and media type.  For example, if you choose Canon Pro-100 Series as your printer and you choose semigloss paper, it will bring back the settings last used for that printer and paper.  I'd leave those alone as they are part of the smart printer settings and they'll come back anyway if you delete them.

Mike
Logged
Ravenwood
Newbie
*
Posts: 5



View Profile Email
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2020, 12:54:29 PM »

Thanks, Mike. I have now cleaned up my "saved settings" and back to normal again Smiley
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!