Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
May 27, 2020, 03:54:23 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional ICC Profiling Software for Windows
Create custom ICC profiles with
Profile Prism for accurate color!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: ssd drive and qimage  (Read 6615 times)
jeffjessee
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 76


.


View Profile Email
« on: September 26, 2015, 01:04:20 AM »

Just got a new computer with a 500 gig SSD C: drive, and a 2 T HDD D: drive. I think I should install Qimage on the C: drive for speed in loading, but I believe all the data (pictures and filters, etc.) should probably be on the hard disk. Anyone using a SSD have suggestions about the best way to set Qimage up?

Thanks,
Jeff Jessee
Logged
Jeff
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 725



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2015, 06:22:37 AM »

Create a working folder on the SSD and do a mirror backups on the Sata HD

That will give you the fastest set up.

Jeff 
Logged

Grumpy
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3192



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2015, 06:44:40 AM »

Hi Jeff J
Quote
Anyone using a SSD have suggestions about the best way to set Qimage up?
I have 250GB SSD (C-drive) and have all my programs installed there including QU application data.
All files are on the conventional HDD D-drive.
At one time I did try running with the QU application data on the D-Drive when my raw cache was getting up to 80GB and the C-drive was up to 70% of capacity. There was no difference in performance and I did eventually reduce the raw cache (old images) and move the application data back the C-drive.
Terry.
Logged
tonygamble
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 373


View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2015, 11:51:41 AM »

Ditto here.

I have a working folder on the SSD with sub folders for each shoot.

I copy it to an external HDD after each session using FreeFileSync. Thus no images or work done on them gets lost if the SSD fails on startup.

When the shoot folder requires no more work I move it to one of my internal HDDs and I try to keep my SDD about 30% unused on average.

As this thread is not about safety back-ups I will stop here......

Tony
Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3192



View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2015, 07:05:20 PM »

Quote
I have a working folder on the SSD with sub folders for each shoot.
From the timing tests I have done for raw cache and print processing I could not see any advantage in having the image files on the SSD.
When I use QU FCCM to off load an SD card, the copies are directed to my on-board D-Drive HDD and an extra copy to an external USB 3 drive. The latter is updated now and again using FCCM. In addition, scheduled backup of the C and D drive are done daily with Todo backup software, mainly to my second internal HDD. Belt and braces!
Terry
Logged
Sandy
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 61


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: September 26, 2015, 07:06:08 PM »

My OS and all programs are on my SSD.  My Qimage data folder is on an HDD.  I didn't notice any difference in speed relative to having the Qimage data file on the SSD and it stops that being full/cluttered up.

Sandy
Logged
Jeff
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 725



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #6 on: October 08, 2015, 07:41:35 AM »

Just got a new computer with a 500 gig SSD C: drive, and a 2 T HDD D: drive. I think I should install Qimage on the C: drive for speed in loading, but I believe all the data (pictures and filters, etc.) should probably be on the hard disk. Anyone using a SSD have suggestions about the best way to set Qimage up?

Thanks,
Jeff Jessee


Just back from shot holiday hence delay in follow up.

I have a small internal ssd as a working image folder and two external sata's as back up disks.

I have recently installed a small prog - DSyncronize -  http://dimio.altervista.org/

This little prog will syncronize your files on the fly just like a 'cloud setup' but on your system.

I use FCCM to load images on to the internal ssd, DSyncronize is set to real time synchronise to the first external drive and then first external to second external, (braces, belt and a length of string.) Smiley Smiley Smiley

Took a bit working out and setting up, but now works like a dream. It backs up every thing including creating the folders. except the user data.

I know FCCM will do it all but I frequently forget to back up, now its all done on the fly.  Just have to remember to switch on the externals (there is always a snag).

It would be easier for you if you are starting from scratch.   create partition on the HD just for the photo backup.

Jeff - grumpy

     
Logged

Grumpy
tonygamble
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 373


View Profile Email
« Reply #7 on: October 09, 2015, 09:57:18 AM »

I looked at that software, Jeff.

I was quite keen to install it to run realtime and then I realised that my backup was also my safety neg for what we call in the Old World the odd c*** up.

The accidental overwriting of a QU filter for example. The deletion of a complicated page of images which have not been saved.

Of course if one is not copying with something like FFS regularly the 'right' files might not be on the backup anyway.

But it made me hesitate about the real value of real time backingup.

Just a thought. (Not exciting but it's about the only one I have had so far today....)

Tony
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5259



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #8 on: October 09, 2015, 10:06:27 AM »

Quote
Just a thought. (Not exciting but it's about the only one I have had so far today....)

Tony

What is wrong with you people?
Don't you ever think about  girls?

Fred
Logged
Jeff
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 725



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #9 on: October 10, 2015, 08:19:33 AM »

I looked at that software, Jeff.

I was quite keen to install it to run realtime and then I realised that my backup was also my safety neg for what we call in the Old World the odd c*** up.

The accidental overwriting of a QU filter for example. The deletion of a complicated page of images which have not been saved.

Of course if one is not copying with something like FFS regularly the 'right' files might not be on the backup anyway.

But it made me hesitate about the real value of real time backingup.

Just a thought. (Not exciting but it's about the only one I have had so far today....)

Tony


As I said it was a bit of a job setting up, that is getting the back up drives in sync before setting real time sync.

there was a lot of errors where backup had not been run and the drives were not exact copies.  I was still safe as orig raws etc are always there, just not the complete workings.

As Fred indicates I find it difficult to concentrate, every few minutes I have to have a thought about girls, that's all I can do now, poor sod that I am.

jeff

Logged

Grumpy
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!