Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
December 04, 2020, 08:39:26 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional Photo Printing for Windows
Print with
Qimage and see what you've been missing!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: v2018.101 issues/comments  (Read 8250 times)
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3185



View Profile Email
« on: June 18, 2017, 10:36:49 PM »

http://www.ddisoftware.com/qimage-u

v2018.101   Jun 18, 2017

Priority: Med

2018.101 includes some minor fixes and optimizations.

Mike
Logged
JohnG50D
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 62


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2017, 10:41:58 PM »

Hello Mike, 101 seems to be sending the email for 100.

John
Logged
JohnG50D
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 62


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2017, 10:46:05 PM »

I've got 101 now.
I don't know why my first attempt gave me the 100 response.

John
Logged
Chris
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 60


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2017, 12:18:40 PM »

Hi,
Love the new layout of the 2018 version.
Could you add an option to the "when Qimage Ultimate starts" to "show the queue" as its the only option missing and the one I need every time.
Thanks

Chris
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5375



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #4 on: June 19, 2017, 01:06:58 PM »

Quote
2018.101 includes some minor fixes and optimizations.

Here's a small sample/example of a minor optimization.
Stuff that Mike adds to make it smoother working for us all if you need it.

Most often, I have a folder full of shots that includes scenery, with composition; and shots of people in an activity, and flowers and birds.
I usually crop to suit an aesthetic feel for the scene with no particular regard for aspect ratio at this point.
Other shots, makes no difference, no crop needed. Many times I'll crop from the page editor on those.

So I have a queue of 8 prints  at 8 x 10 on 8.5 x 11 paper.
Some are image cropped, and some are OK to apply crop scissors for 8 x 10.
This means that I have to be able to select certain ones for Scissors on, and certain ones to be left as is.
The small example is four tiny green corner dots when print is selected. No dots if print is not selected, and red dots if crop scissor is on and selected.
This little feature makes it so easy for me to scissor crop on for some and off for others.
Screen snaps  084 and 085 would not work with crop scissors since the special cropping I wanted was done in Page Editor as you can see by the white scissor icons. The scenery of the old dirt road can handle crop scissor on easily.

Just one of my little quirks.  You guys have your own methods I'm sure.
Have fun
Fred
Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3185



View Profile Email
« Reply #5 on: June 19, 2017, 01:11:58 PM »

Quote
Love the new layout of the 2018 version.
Could you add an option to the "when Qimage Ultimate starts" to "show the queue" as its the only option missing and the one I need every time.
Thanks

I'd be curious to know what you are using the queue tab for.  Over the years with controls becoming more visual in nature and the expanded capability of the live view and thumbs, the queue has taken a back seat... and was eventually moved to the trunk with the spare tire.  That is, only needed for a very specific and specialized task.

Personally, I've not clicked on the queue tab in years (other than to test it in beta testing) so I can't imagine wanting to open to it.  That's why I'm curious how you are using it.  The only time think I would use it is if I, for some reason, wanted to replace a print on the live view with a different print but I generally don't have the need for that.

Regards,
Mike
Logged
Ernst Dinkla
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 396


View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: June 19, 2017, 02:06:16 PM »

Yes, I wondered whether the Queue tab could be weeded out too. Not installed 101 yet so can not comment on the other changes.

Ernst, op de lei getypt.
Logged
jana
Newbie
*
Posts: 19


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: June 19, 2017, 03:22:27 PM »

When I go to "Utilities" --> "Manage Plugin Exports" and delete things in there, I would also like to see these items "automagically" deleted from the history.

No big deal. Just a little "annoyance" :-)
Logged
bgrigor
Full Member
***
Posts: 120



View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: June 19, 2017, 04:05:08 PM »

Quote
Love the new layout of the 2018 version.
Could you add an option to the "when Qimage Ultimate starts" to "show the queue" as its the only option missing and the one I need every time.
Thanks

I'd be curious to know what you are using the queue tab for.  Over the years with controls becoming more visual in nature and the expanded capability of the live view and thumbs, the queue has taken a back seat... and was eventually moved to the trunk with the spare tire.  That is, only needed for a very specific and specialized task.

Personally, I've not clicked on the queue tab in years (other than to test it in beta testing) so I can't imagine wanting to open to it.  That's why I'm curious how you are using it.  The only time think I would use it is if I, for some reason, wanted to replace a print on the live view with a different print but I generally don't have the need for that.

Regards,
Mike

I use the queue to sort the printing order. I use the queue to drag/drop replace files (keep all other parameters). I use the queue to quickly see full path name of files and printing resolution (sometimes need to hover the mouse over the entry to see the fully expanded entry). The queue also tells me the colorspace of the file. I use the queue to quickly navigate to the print preview of a particular item in the queue, especially for large jobs.

Yes, I still use the queue.

I've just installed 2018.101 and will let you know how it goes.

Cheers!

Brad
« Last Edit: June 19, 2017, 04:45:55 PM by bgrigor » Logged

--bag

"May fortune favor the foolish."
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3185



View Profile Email
« Reply #9 on: June 19, 2017, 05:11:06 PM »

I use the queue to sort the printing order. I use the queue to drag/drop replace files (keep all other parameters). I use the queue to quickly see full path name of files and printing resolution (sometimes need to hover the mouse over the entry to see the fully expanded entry). The queue also tells me the colorspace of the file. I use the queue to quickly navigate to the print preview of a particular item in the queue, especially for large jobs.

Yes, I still use the queue.

I've just installed 2018.101 and will let you know how it goes.

Cheers!

Brad

Every one of those things you can do without the queue, even easier, except for replacing files by dragging and dropping onto a line in the queue.  And for that, I could argue you should probably just do it the right way and create a layout if you find yourself doing that a lot.

(1) Sorting the print order: can do the same thing(s) from the live view.
(2) See full path name and print res: hold your mouse over the print on the live view for the same info.
(3) Color space: hold your mouse over the print on the page and look at the EXIF bar on the bottom of the main window.
(4) Navigating to an item for print preview: you can't tell what a photo is by filename anyway, so might as well just flip to next/prev page in live view where you can see what you are doing.

Mike
Logged
Chris
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 60


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: June 19, 2017, 06:40:26 PM »

Quote
Love the new layout of the 2018 version.
Could you add an option to the "when Qimage Ultimate starts" to "show the queue" as its the only option missing and the one I need every time.
Thanks

I'd be curious to know what you are using the queue tab for.  Over the years with controls becoming more visual in nature and the expanded capability of the live view and thumbs, the queue has taken a back seat... and was eventually moved to the trunk with the spare tire.  That is, only needed for a very specific and specialized task.

Personally, I've not clicked on the queue tab in years (other than to test it in beta testing) so I can't imagine wanting to open to it.  That's why I'm curious how you are using it.  The only time think I would use it is if I, for some reason, wanted to replace a print on the live view with a different print but I generally don't have the need for that.

Regards,
Mike

Yes, probably quite specific.  I load a number of images into the queue, which are then edited/cropped etc. Before I hit print it's useful to check that all images have filters (indicates they have been edited - the Queue shows this) and also preform a quick check that I have the correct image numbers required for the order.

Regards
Chris
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5375



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #11 on: June 19, 2017, 07:18:20 PM »

Quote
I load a number of images into the queue, which are then edited/cropped etc. Before I hit print it's useful to check that all images have filters (indicates they have been edited - the Queue shows this) and also preform a quick check that I have the correct image numbers required for the order.

Again, to emphasize, while in any screen, if you hover the mouse pointer over any thumbnail that has a red or purple colored filename, not only does it tell you that a filter is being applied, but it also tells you what you did. (Crop, DFS, saturation.. etc etc).
Which images are in the queue? Those have bold letters in the filemane.
And even more tedious would be for me to have to scroll horizontally in the QUEUE tab to see the filename and whether there is a filter applied.
Checking to see  if you have all your images accounted for, simply right click on View screen, Select all, and the number appears at the lower right corner.
Certainly more sure than counting rows in the queue tab.

What I use it for is to get my perfect 16 x 12 with 2 borders and a floating text signature all set, Print, and then I use the queue tab to drag and swap another image into the exact same setting.


Have fun,
Fred
« Last Edit: June 19, 2017, 07:25:14 PM by Fred A » Logged
Chris
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 60


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: June 19, 2017, 07:36:16 PM »

Quote
I load a number of images into the queue, which are then edited/cropped etc. Before I hit print it's useful to check that all images have filters (indicates they have been edited - the Queue shows this) and also preform a quick check that I have the correct image numbers required for the order.

Again, to emphasize, while in any screen, if you hover the mouse pointer over any thumbnail that has a red or purple colored filename, not only does it tell you that a filter is being applied, but it also tells you what you did. (Crop, DFS, saturation.. etc etc).
Which images are in the queue? Those have bold letters in the filemane.
And even more tedious would be for me to have to scroll horizontally in the QUEUE tab to see the filename and whether there is a filter applied.
Checking to see  if you have all your images accounted for, simply right click on View screen, Select all, and the number appears at the lower right corner.
Certainly more sure than counting rows in the queue tab.

What I use it for is to get my perfect 16 x 12 with 2 borders and a floating text signature all set, Print, and then I use the queue tab to drag and swap another image into the exact same setting.


Have fun,
Fred


Thanks for the reply Fred, 
Unfortunately the first 2 suggestions don't work for me as I'm not using the Thumbnail View (File List). 
As to the 3rd suggestion you are correct, scrolling horizontially is a pain (never needed to on one of the older layouts as there was more width available when it was below the View Plane (?)), but its not the quantity of prints i'm checking it's the image numbers  Wink
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5375



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #13 on: June 19, 2017, 08:25:09 PM »

Quote
Unfortunately the first 2 suggestions don't work for me as I'm not using the Thumbnail View

Actually, Chris, that was pretty funny to me.
It would be the same situation had you said, I don't have any of my own teeth.
I have a great of difficulty eating apples, nuts and peanut brittle.

Trying to help, I might advise you to make sure your dentures fit properly, use a dab or two of denture adhesive on the lowers,and try to  chew with a more balanced positioning of the food in your mouth.

... and you reply; I am not using dentures.

No disrespect.... just arrived as extremely funny.
Would have been better if you mentioned no thumbnails used at the opening of the discourse.

Fred
Logged
Chris
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 60


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: June 19, 2017, 09:22:15 PM »

Quote
Unfortunately the first 2 suggestions don't work for me as I'm not using the Thumbnail View

Actually, Chris, that was pretty funny to me.
It would be the same situation had you said, I don't have any of my own teeth.
I have a great of difficulty eating apples, nuts and peanut brittle.

Trying to help, I might advise you to make sure your dentures fit properly, use a dab or two of denture adhesive on the lowers,and try to  chew with a more balanced positioning of the food in your mouth.

... and you reply; I am not using dentures.

No disrespect.... just arrived as extremely funny.
Would have been better if you mentioned no thumbnails used at the opening of the discourse.

Fred


LOL, yes I agree, probably better to have mentioned not using thumbnails  Smiley though to be honest after having used Qimage for 10+ years and never used thumbnails it slips my mind that other people do.   Grin
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!