Mike Chaney's Tech Corner

Mike's Software => Qimage Ultimate => Topic started by: admin on February 28, 2020, 10:40:55 PM



Title: v2020.115 issues/comments
Post by: admin on February 28, 2020, 10:40:55 PM
http://www.ddsoftware.com/qimage-u

v2020.115      Feb 28, 2020

Priority: Low

2020.115 includes:

  • Soft proofing: Improved the soft proof gamut warning option to only highlight colors that are significantly out of gamut.
  • Auto roll length: Improved sizing by "Specify one dimension" when using the auto roll length feature.
  • Units: Preferred units (metric/imperial) is now updated and recalled as part of the smart printer settings when selecting a printer and media type.

Mike


Title: Re: v2020.115 issues/comments
Post by: BillHorne on March 04, 2020, 08:00:23 PM
I just updated to version 2020.115 and suddenly my saved jobs are not displaying correctly, e.g. an 13.78 11 inch image on 17 14 inch roll paper shows a portion of the image on a letter size sheet. This might be due to something I did yesterday (see below), but I'm uncertain...

If I go to my Control Panel and change the Epson 4800 printer driver preferences for the paper settings from letter size to 17 14 inch roll paper, the correct preview format comes back, and below Qimage's "Media Size" (Printer/Settings) the dimensions have changed back from letter size to W: 17.23 and L: 14. However, I have to resize my image and place it where I had it before, which slows down my workflow.

It's possible that when I installed a second Epson printer (4880) yesterday, when checking the 4800's Properties & Preferences so I could mirror them on the 4880, I somehow reset the 4800's Paper Settings in a way that affected Qimage. Perhaps I'm mistaken, but I thought that the Paper Settings could be set one way (e.g. Letter Size) in the printer driver, but controlled by Qimage and saved with each job. Did that change, or have I misunderstood this all along?

If I've had it wrong, what are the recommended Paper Settings for a printer that I use to print on letter size sheets for many jobs, and various saved (User Defined) 17" wide roll paper jobs for other jobs?
Thanks.

Windows 10 Pro Version 10.0.18363 Build 18363
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E8400 @ 3.00GHz, 2997 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
Total Physical Memory 4.00 GB
Total Virtual Memory 8.00 GB


Title: Re: v2020.115 issues/comments
Post by: MelW on March 04, 2020, 09:40:25 PM
One easy check is to re-install your previous QU version and see if you have the same issue.


Title: Re: v2020.115 issues/comments
Post by: BillHorne on March 04, 2020, 10:37:03 PM
Thanks, Mel. The issue exists in my previous version, too, which tells me I've somehow messed up my Epson 4800 driver and that the new Qimage version is not the culprit :-o


Title: Re: v2020.115 issues/comments
Post by: admin on March 04, 2020, 11:44:13 PM
I can't imagine anything you could do in Control Panel that would make a saved job load differently.  Any media type and size that was selected when the job was saved should come back when the job is loaded.  The only thing I can think of that would adversely affect loading of saved jobs is if somehow the paper type or size used when the job was saved has been deleted and no longer exists in the current driver.  Sometimes updating a printer driver will cause some settings from a job to not reload if the new driver is incompatible with the old saved settings.

Regards,
Mike


Title: Re: v2020.115 issues/comments
Post by: BillHorne on March 05, 2020, 08:12:35 AM
Thanks - I wonder if installing utilities like Epson's LFP Remote Panel when I installed the E4880 might have affected the installed driver for the E4800.


Title: Re: v2020.115 issues/comments
Post by: Ernst Dinkla on March 19, 2020, 08:18:41 AM
Thanks - I wonder if installing utilities like Epson's LFP Remote Panel when I installed the E4880 might have affected the installed driver for the E4800.

A very wild guess: Could it be in the Job File Naming choices in Preferences?  A previous job has a similar name but other settings and shows in the list where you would expect the new one. I had an issue with the interactive log file that probably always had the Auto (Name using date and time) setting but after an upgrade 20020.114? used another setting so my last jobs were not shown at the top of the log list. Took me some time to figure it out. Now some recent jobs are way down the list.

Met vriendelijke groet, Ernst Dinkla

        T
SOLI  AIR
        D


Title: Re: v2020.115 issues/comments
Post by: BillHorne on March 25, 2020, 02:43:27 AM
Thanks, Ernst, I'll check this out.