Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
April 07, 2020, 09:59:35 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Download and develop photos from your flash cards with one click!
Get a trial of
FlashPipe today and stop fumbling with explorer windows to transfer photos and videos
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: v2020.115 issues/comments  (Read 625 times)
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 2993



View Profile Email
« on: February 28, 2020, 10:40:55 PM »

http://www.ddsoftware.com/qimage-u

v2020.115      Feb 28, 2020

Priority: Low

2020.115 includes:

  • Soft proofing: Improved the soft proof gamut warning option to only highlight colors that are significantly out of gamut.
  • Auto roll length: Improved sizing by "Specify one dimension" when using the auto roll length feature.
  • Units: Preferred units (metric/imperial) is now updated and recalled as part of the smart printer settings when selecting a printer and media type.

Mike
Logged
BillHorne
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 67


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2020, 08:00:23 PM »

I just updated to version 2020.115 and suddenly my saved jobs are not displaying correctly, e.g. an 13.78 11 inch image on 17 14 inch roll paper shows a portion of the image on a letter size sheet. This might be due to something I did yesterday (see below), but I'm uncertain...

If I go to my Control Panel and change the Epson 4800 printer driver preferences for the paper settings from letter size to 17 14 inch roll paper, the correct preview format comes back, and below Qimage's "Media Size" (Printer/Settings) the dimensions have changed back from letter size to W: 17.23 and L: 14. However, I have to resize my image and place it where I had it before, which slows down my workflow.

It's possible that when I installed a second Epson printer (4880) yesterday, when checking the 4800's Properties & Preferences so I could mirror them on the 4880, I somehow reset the 4800's Paper Settings in a way that affected Qimage. Perhaps I'm mistaken, but I thought that the Paper Settings could be set one way (e.g. Letter Size) in the printer driver, but controlled by Qimage and saved with each job. Did that change, or have I misunderstood this all along?

If I've had it wrong, what are the recommended Paper Settings for a printer that I use to print on letter size sheets for many jobs, and various saved (User Defined) 17" wide roll paper jobs for other jobs?
Thanks.

Windows 10 Pro Version 10.0.18363 Build 18363
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E8400 @ 3.00GHz, 2997 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
Total Physical Memory 4.00 GB
Total Virtual Memory 8.00 GB
« Last Edit: March 04, 2020, 08:24:42 PM by BillHorne » Logged
MelW
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 272


View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2020, 09:40:25 PM »

One easy check is to re-install your previous QU version and see if you have the same issue.
Logged
BillHorne
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 67


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2020, 10:37:03 PM »

Thanks, Mel. The issue exists in my previous version, too, which tells me I've somehow messed up my Epson 4800 driver and that the new Qimage version is not the culprit :-o
« Last Edit: March 04, 2020, 10:45:42 PM by BillHorne » Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 2993



View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2020, 11:44:13 PM »

I can't imagine anything you could do in Control Panel that would make a saved job load differently.  Any media type and size that was selected when the job was saved should come back when the job is loaded.  The only thing I can think of that would adversely affect loading of saved jobs is if somehow the paper type or size used when the job was saved has been deleted and no longer exists in the current driver.  Sometimes updating a printer driver will cause some settings from a job to not reload if the new driver is incompatible with the old saved settings.

Regards,
Mike
Logged
BillHorne
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 67


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2020, 08:12:35 AM »

Thanks - I wonder if installing utilities like Epson's LFP Remote Panel when I installed the E4880 might have affected the installed driver for the E4800.
Logged
Ernst Dinkla
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 384


View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2020, 08:18:41 AM »

Thanks - I wonder if installing utilities like Epson's LFP Remote Panel when I installed the E4880 might have affected the installed driver for the E4800.

A very wild guess: Could it be in the Job File Naming choices in Preferences?  A previous job has a similar name but other settings and shows in the list where you would expect the new one. I had an issue with the interactive log file that probably always had the Auto (Name using date and time) setting but after an upgrade 20020.114? used another setting so my last jobs were not shown at the top of the log list. Took me some time to figure it out. Now some recent jobs are way down the list.

Met vriendelijke groet, Ernst Dinkla

        T
SOLI  AIR
        D
Logged
BillHorne
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 67


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2020, 02:43:27 AM »

Thanks, Ernst, I'll check this out.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!