Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
December 04, 2021, 01:00:07 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Download and develop photos from your flash cards with one click!
Get a trial of
FlashPipe today and stop fumbling with explorer windows to transfer photos and videos
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Could not load file / image read errors  (Read 5217 times)
bgrigor
Full Member
***
Posts: 120



View Profile WWW
« on: July 02, 2010, 12:54:19 AM »

I am a long-time Qimage user (Studio Edition) now on v2010.208. I use Qimage in a commercial printshop setting under Win 7 32-bit on a quad-core machine.

Past experience tells me that even if Qimage should "Image Read Error", I can still print the file (and a get a preview in the printer driver). However, I am having no such luck with one particular file that happens to be 17017 x 17137 pixels at 400 ppi (42.54 in. x 42.84 in.). It is a compressed TIFF with LZW. It originated as a 3-layer PSD, but the PSD wouldn't print either, so I saved it out as the compressed TIFF. Both files appear with the "Image Read Error" in the thumbnail and in the print preview. If I click to print, both files produce the error "Qimage could not load the file:" and the print session is aborted.

Since these are commercial jobs, I really need to find a way to print them and I'm open to any suggestions.

Thanks so much!

Cheers!

Brad
Logged

--bag

"May fortune favor the foolish."
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5452



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2010, 10:15:30 AM »

Quote
Since these are commercial jobs, I really need to find a way to print them and I'm open to any suggestions.
Brad,
A few things to check.
1) Open Qimage and click HELP.
2) Hold the Shift key down while you click on Analyze Current Settings.
This will tell you how much resource is available for use by Qimage to handle an 875 megabyte file.

When you saved the PSD, did you remember to check the MAX compatibilty box?
When you created the TIF, were the settings in the SAVE box like the screen snap attached?
 Byte Order and Pixel order in particular.
No Alpha Channels allowed in the image either.

Let's check and see what you can find.

Fred
Logged
bgrigor
Full Member
***
Posts: 120



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2010, 03:19:24 PM »

When you created the TIF, were the settings in the SAVE box like the screen snap attached?
 Byte Order and Pixel order in particular.
No Alpha Channels allowed in the image either.
Thanks Fred. The TIFF was saved with LZW compression. I resaved it with NO compression and YAAAY! I'm printing it now.

Thanks so much for the quick and insightful assistance.

Cheers!

Brad
Logged

--bag

"May fortune favor the foolish."
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5452



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2010, 06:10:38 PM »

Glad to help.
We have to win once  in a while. :-D

Fred
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!