Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
December 05, 2021, 03:14:04 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Download and develop photos from your flash cards with one click!
Get a trial of
FlashPipe today and stop fumbling with explorer windows to transfer photos and videos
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Help please, I'm about to lose my mind.  (Read 7762 times)
Betty
Newbie
*
Posts: 37


View Profile
« on: May 22, 2010, 04:42:51 PM »

Excuse me, if this has already came through, but I don't think it did.
Earlier this week I set up 2 cards in photoshop, 10x6.75, to fit paper and envelopes.  I set up 1 horizinal and one veritical.  I went into QI and printed both beautifully.  I even saved the job settings to recall in QI.  This morning I tried setting up another card in PhotoShop, by just overlaying a new painting over the previous one in a new layer.  Now every one prints with the top of the painting cut off, even the cards that printed beautifully earlier in the week.  I've tried fit to page, and original size, as well as the custom size 10x6.75 set up earlier that worked before.  I've also tried crop on and off.  I've exhausted myself and my limited knowledge.  Could some please check out the screen print sent seperately, and help me find out what dumb thing I have done??

Many thanks,
Betty
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5452



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2010, 04:50:11 PM »

Betty, it's hard for me to see your settings, but it looks like Qimage is sending 10 x 6.75 to the printer.
According to the lower left (queue readout)
If that is so, then do a HELP, RESET Printer, and then reset the paper and quality and any color management settings; nothing else.
Make a new print.
Fred
Logged
Betty
Newbie
*
Posts: 37


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2010, 05:11:48 PM »

Fred, thanks for reading and trying.  I did the printer reset, still same resulting cutting off of the top.
Betty
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5452



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2010, 05:26:18 PM »

Quote
I did the printer reset, still same resulting cutting off of the top
Ok then now we check the obvious!
The top of the painting cut off!!
So what I am guessing is that the print size is OK but the image has the top cut off?
That's different from the print being the wrong size. HELP!!

If that is correct, do you have any print crop turned on (not scissors) in the Full Page Editor which might have been used for the previous setup?
If you didn't change the filename, Qimage will use that previously saved print crop on a file of the same name.
You need to pass on more information. You changed a layer in PS and saved!!
Maybe that's what happened.Huh??
Logged
Betty
Newbie
*
Posts: 37


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2010, 07:50:20 PM »

Thanks again, Fred.  I had to leave and go to my grandson's ball game. 
I'm attaching screen prints of the page editor and also a different screen shot showing settings better of QI.

I'm at a loss here.

Betty
Logged
Betty
Newbie
*
Posts: 37


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2010, 07:52:03 PM »

Looks like the page editor screen print didn't make it.  Here it is

Betty
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5452



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2010, 07:58:57 PM »

Betty,
Thank you for the screen snaps, but I need you to define the problem according to the screen snaps I see.
There is a painting of flowers, three flowers.
When you make your print, what goes wrong?
The top of the flower is cut off or is the print cut off with the flower painting no longer central?
What happens?
Fred
Logged
Betty
Newbie
*
Posts: 37


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2010, 08:47:29 PM »

When I print the top of the flowers/painting is cut off.  It looks like there is plenty of room but when it is printed, the top edge is cut off.

I've been spinning my wheels here and changing settings, and now have a red 2x2 on top if the page to print in the print q.  How can I get rid of that? 


Betty
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5452



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #8 on: May 22, 2010, 09:30:29 PM »

Quote
I've been spinning my wheels here and changing settings, and now have a red 2x2 on top if the page to print in the print q.  How can I get rid of that? 

Betty,
The 2 x2 in red is caused by you telling Qimage to make a print that will not fit on teh paper size.
It is saying, "hey, if you really want that size print, I need 4 sheets of paper."

So recheck your 6.75 x 10 print size.
What was the actual size of the print that came out of your printer? Can you measure it with a ruler?
What you describe, Assuming that Qimage is still reporting in the lower left quadrant, a print size of 10 x 6.75, is a printer driver problem where something is scaling, zooming or enlarging the print.

Can you make a jpg of the psd file and email to me? wathree.ssz@verizon.net

Fred
Logged
Betty
Newbie
*
Posts: 37


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: May 23, 2010, 03:07:22 AM »

Fred, here is a screen print of the full page editor of the 10x6.75 sized file.  Per the rulers in the full page editor it is showing 10x7.5 size.
Could this be the problem?  Why is this size different?  How can I correct it?  The file is 10x6.75 in Photoshop.

Thanks again,
Betty
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5452



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #10 on: May 23, 2010, 09:27:11 AM »

Quote
Per the rulers in the full page editor it is showing 10x7.5 size.

Betty,
Have another look at the rulers in Qimage and you will see that it is still showing 6.75.
Look at the start of the image. It is starting (based on position on the page) just shy of the 1" mark, looks like about .88 inches as per the readout to the right side.
So all you do is read the difference from the beginning of the image to the lower end of the image, and you see 6.75 inches between the start and the end.

Also, you can see that (on the right) it shows. .88 above the image, a 6.75 inch image height, and .88 below.
Add them up and you have the paper size.

One last item, that needs to be mentioned.
When I asked that you click HELP and RESET PRINTER, and then reminded you to set the paper type, print quality, and any Color Management settings, I assumed you would do this manually, and not try to re-use your saved JOB or saved PRINTER settings.
Right?
You have an HP printer, although I couldn't make out the model, they have a track record of changing their own driver settings on a whim, and if you saved the JOB with the whimsical settings, the problem gets loaded back in when the JOB is reloaded.

We will overcome!!!

:-)
Fred
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!