Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
December 05, 2021, 02:29:05 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional Photo Printing for Windows
Print with
Qimage and see what you've been missing!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to save job settings & reset paths to picture files when upgrading PC  (Read 4268 times)
BillHorne
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 69


View Profile
« on: September 22, 2009, 01:42:43 AM »

I am in the middle of a transition from my older PC desktop tower to a new, faster machine. Currently I use Qimage (ver. 2009.269) to print image files that are located on two hard drives in the older machine plus one external USB drive. The two machines will be networked under XP Pro SP3.

I would like to reinstall Qimage on the newer machine to print from it instead of using something like Windows Remote Desktop to print from the older machine. However, I am wary of breaking Qimage's paths to the image files and folders, thereby disrupting my job settings in the event that the new machine renames the various drives where the image files reside. Or if I move some of the image file folders to the new machine for faster access.

I notice that if I move an image file from the original folder and path that Qimage has saved as part of its job settings to a new location, there's no prompting for the missing file, just the red cross-hatched rectangle. And if I navigate to the file's new location and place it on my layout, the job settings seem to be reset.

Is there anything in Qimage that's analogous to what happens when folders or paths are changed in a program like QuarkXPress or InDesign, e.g. the program alerts the user to a missing file or link so it's possible to navigate to the file, reload or refresh it, and then voila, it reappears in its sized format and location on the page? (Quark will also proceed to say that "additional files are in this folder - do you want to update them?" which saves repeating the task again and again for a group of image files that have been moved.

If I reimport job settings from my old machine and place them in the appropriate folder on the new machine, can I re-link the image files without affecting the job settings? (a bit tedious, but not as bad from starting from scratch!) Or do I in fact need to start over on the new machine?
Thanks.
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5452



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2009, 10:03:57 AM »

Quote
If I reimport job settings from my old machine and place them in the appropriate folder on the new machine, can I re-link the image files without affecting the job settings?
Bill.

I know this works because I have done it. It may not be the smoothest way, but since you only have to do it one at a time, it will fix it.
(First of all, I must ask whether you are aware that you can reletter your "other" drives to the same as they were in the old machine?)

Nevertheless, the saved settings for the jobs or printers that you saved are located in the SAVE folder, a sub folder of ddisoftware\Qimage\Save.
These files are in plain text and can be read and adjusted/altered by opening them using Notepad.
I have attached two screen snaps to show you where I changed c:\ to F:\ in the file and saved it.
(I have a duplicate set of images and folders on my "F" drive so Qimage was able to use the alternate path I typed.)

I would copy the Save folder from old machine to new, and do your normal work routine. When you encounter a discrepancy problem, then you can open the saved file and change the path as mentioned above. They all wont need changing.

Hope some of this gives you an idea.
I got a new machine a year ago, and by re-lettering my external drives and CD drives, plus a few manual changes to a few files, all went smoothly.

Fred


Logged
BillHorne
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 69


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2009, 03:47:58 PM »

Thanks, Fred - much appreciated. I did know I can reletter drives; just wasn't sure if there might be hidden associations that might interfere with Qimage's (Studio Edition) access to the image files or the crops, etc. Your workaround is what I was looking for.
Bill
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!