Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
October 17, 2021, 02:50:26 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional Photo Printing for Windows
Print with
Qimage and see what you've been missing!
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: I still love qimage, but must say goodbye  (Read 20260 times)
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3370



View Profile Email
« Reply #15 on: November 21, 2009, 05:29:24 PM »

You should not take Mike's problems described in his article as representative. I had no issues upgrading my PC to Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit, but I did a clean install.

Don't take Thomas' as representative either.  Getting a feel for how Windows 7 is really doing requires research: things like what OS and software you are using now, whether you are going to do an update or a clean install, and whether you are using 32 or 64 bit all factor into the equation.  We're still early in the transition but I have found some common issues that are fairly significant and have been corroborated via other users.  The two main ones are:

(1) Windows 7's folder/file security is EXTREMELY non user friendly and buggy.  Doing something as simple as restoring a folder of files can cause some or all of the files in the folder to not be readable, even if you have admin privileges.  Using the Windows "Properties" function, you'll find that if you select one file at a time, you can get to the "Security" tab where you'll need to delete all user access and add back the ones you want and take ownership of the file to correct this problem, but if you select more than one file, the "Security" tab is often missing, forcing you to do this one file at a time.  Worse, this seems random, where multiple files of the same type and same (current) privileges will cause the "Security" tab to disappear, while other multiple selections do work.  It's an absolute mess.  Setting security at the folder level says it works, but it doesn't: it randomly leaves out certain files in the folder and doesn't change them.  You can end up with a folder that you own, with simple files like JPG images or text files, and some of them won't open even if you open an explorer window in "Run as Administrator" mode.  I actually had to make a command line batch file to fix the problem.

(2) The longer you run your machine, the more instances of "Explorer.exe" will be running in task manager.  I've found as many as eight copies open, each using about 15 MB of memory or so.  Only one is the "correct one" that shows you your desktop.  The rest are W7 memory leaks!  Update: I actually located the problem with this one.  If you create an Explorer shortcut on your desktop using any of the Explorer startup switches, you get a new Explorer process each time you click on that icon... and they all hang around and never close even after you close the window.  As an example, just create a new shortcut using "%SystemRoot%\explorer.exe /e,/select,c:".  Now each time you click on the icon you get a new Explorer.exe process that won't go away unless you kill it in Task Manager.  If the shortcut is just "%SystemRoot%\explorer.exe" without the switches, it works OK.  Again this is with W7 64 bit.  Doing the same thing on Vista 64 bit leads to no problem: you do get an extra "Explorer.exe" process each time you open but they go away as soon as you close the Explorer window.  Just one of a number of W7 bugs that make even the most basic of OS operations painful.  W7 just was not ready for prime time: as of this writing, it still isn't!

As I said, a lot of factors contribute so you may or may not see these problems, but they are common.

Mike
« Last Edit: November 22, 2009, 01:20:34 AM by Mike Chaney » Logged
Liz Z.
Full Member
***
Posts: 104



View Profile
« Reply #16 on: November 21, 2009, 07:02:55 PM »

Thanks to both of you. I am quite comfortable with Vista, but I always like to know what's up with these newfangled operating systems!

As for Mac, I now own an iPod Touch, after being a Palm user for years. I can totally see why folks fall in love with the esthetics of Macs--they are sooooo cute!

Liz
Logged
teppy
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


View Profile Email
« Reply #17 on: November 24, 2009, 01:52:52 AM »

Ok, so i tried to print with photoshop and it really sucks for me in every way possible and i won't go into it. we have an old laptop here that belonged to my son. it runs but the cheap-*ss dell housing is broken pretty bad. the lid has had  it. if i set it up, i will have to configure it to go into sleep mode without ever closing the lid. i have decided to take the advice that was given to me and use this for qimage only. Question-is it possible to use this windows computer on my home network without it having access to the internet? i've never set up a home-network only connection and don't know if its even possible. this way i could share a pictures folder and see them in qimage without having to load them onto a disk to print.

this laptop runs on XP. i can say for sure that i will not be upgrading it to windows 7 much less vista. unless mike ever starts writing qimage to where XP is obsolete, i will be in good shape.

thanks for the advice. the truth is that i just couldn't give up qimage after all. i'm being very serious here, after using this software for this many years, it is just impossible to find something out there to compare it to. i have been all over the internet looking at everything from stand alone applications to photoshop plugins. none of that would have really worked for me anyway because epson printers don't show the same printer properties in mac as it does in windows. its kind of messed up. i'm not ready to get rid of my R2400 either.

Logged
BrianPrice
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 258



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #18 on: November 24, 2009, 08:55:51 AM »

Teppy

Just plug in the cable, and set a folder to be a shared folder, and the network will find it automatically. No setting up needed. Grin
Copy your print files to this folder, and print with QI. If you set this folder as the default for the job log, you can back up all your jobs and settings as you go.
I wouldn't recommend printing a file that is on another computer on the network, with QI or any other program - too many things can go wrong.

Brian
Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3213



View Profile WWW
« Reply #19 on: November 24, 2009, 09:12:28 AM »

Quote
I wouldn't recommend printing a file that is on another computer on the network, with QI or any other program - too many things can go wrong.
I occasionally print with files located on a network hard drive, it's quicker than loading a back-up dvd. So far no problems  Smiley
I would not attempt image prints from my other computer on the network, it's too slow via the Powerline adaptors I use; the HD is a direct connection to the router.
Terry.
Logged
teppy
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


View Profile Email
« Reply #20 on: November 24, 2009, 01:30:13 PM »

thanks brian and terry,
i'm not sure that i made myself clear, or maybe i'm not getting it. i definitely would rather set up a shared folder on my macbook HD that i can get to from the windows machine via my home network. burning a CD each time i want to print will be just too much of a PITA. the question on setting up i'm talking about is more of a how-to with networking. i went through it last night, and i dont know if it can be done. Basically, i want the windows machine to have access to my home network, so that i can get to this shared print folder, BUT, i do not want it to have internet access, unless i connect manually in case i need to do a qimage update. i did not want to have to mess around with norton or any other anti virus software. i don't think that i can get around this though. not a huge deal since i find myself back on windows again now. and this windows machine does have vista. i forgot that i had installed it on this laptop right before i got my son his macbook pro.
Logged
BrianPrice
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 258



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #21 on: November 24, 2009, 02:04:35 PM »

Teppy
Quote
Basically, i want the windows machine to have access to my home network, so that i can get to this shared print folder, BUT, i do not want it to have internet access

This is exactly what I described. Plug in the lead and the network and all shared folders should show in 'My Network Places. The computer will automatically connect to the internet if you open a browser or mail client. I don't think you can stop this, but you don't have to do any setting up.
I would still transfer files to the PC before printing them - you can do this on the network, no CD required.

Brian
Logged
teppy
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


View Profile Email
« Reply #22 on: November 24, 2009, 02:35:39 PM »

thanks brian,
this is how i have it set up now, except that its a wireless connection. i have just updated the norton software and paid the subscription. i think this is my safest bet. i am about to download qimage onto this computer. hopefully i will up and printing soon. i guess life is about to get real interesting again....but what would this world be like if there were no republicans and democrats, no ford or chevy, or no windows or mac?
Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3213



View Profile WWW
« Reply #23 on: November 24, 2009, 03:55:35 PM »

Teppy,
sorry to have to tell you, but you've wasted your money  Shocked
Quote
i have just updated the norton software and paid the subscription
Too late now the horse has bolted, but what is wrong with Grisoft AVG Free? Remember that for next time  Wink

Quote
The computer will automatically connect to the internet if you open a browser or mail client. I don't think you can stop this,
In Network Connections, right click on "Internet Connection" and select Disable.

Terry.
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5443



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #24 on: November 25, 2009, 04:22:00 PM »

Quote
I don't think I'll ever go Mac, although with Windows 7, I came close!   Shocked

Well, I finally did it. I went out and bought a big Mac with all the trimmings.
You should see this baby. No need to add all sorts of extras to it to make it palatable.

It came with pickles, and ketchup, mayo and tomato, lettuce and cheese; all on a sesame seed bun.
My gamma liked it too, and she gave it a 2.2 rating.

Fred  Grin Grin Grin
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!