Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
September 20, 2020, 03:18:17 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Download and develop photos from your flash cards with one click!
Get a trial of
FlashPipe today and stop fumbling with explorer windows to transfer photos and videos
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Multiple crops from same image?  (Read 8679 times)
jacken
Newbie
*
Posts: 29


View Profile
« on: December 17, 2009, 11:47:15 AM »

can't figure this out. Is it possible?

I want an 8x10 and a 7x5 and so on from the same photo. I have already dropped a copy of the image into each size. But when I make the 1st crop to 10x8 this remains 'sticky' for the next copy I want at 7x5" etc.

Can you help?
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5323



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2009, 12:05:49 PM »

Quote
I want an 8x10 and a 7x5 and so on from the same photo. I have already dropped a copy of the image into each size. But when I make the 1st crop to 10x8 this remains 'sticky' for the next copy I want at 7x5" etc.
Not really sure what you are trying to do. I am guessing that you are using PRINT CROPPING as opposed to image cropping?
In print cropping, you go to the Full page Editor and set the zoom and crop to suit your taste. Say DONE, and Qimage remembers that crop for the 8 x 10.
Now you highlight the image on the main screen, and change the size to 5 x 7.
Go into the full page editor and again set your crop and zoom to suit.
Now, Qimage will remember each crop when it sees which size is being requested.

If you are using the auto crop in Qimage, just make sure the crop scissors is on and print.
If you are cropping the image in the Batch screen where all the controls are located, then draw your crop using the mouse (you can uncheck crop lock if you want a free hand), and Click DONE, and save the filter.
Then right click the thumbnail, and click COPY... put in a suitable name ... like 8x10 of fluffy.
Then you can open the original again in the batch screen and crop to a different ratio and DONE SAVE out of that.
Logged
Eljae
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 68


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2009, 01:08:57 PM »

I am also not sure of your goal, but I am also new at Qi, and have been getting familiar with the cropping functions.

One of the cropping to different size issues I had seemed to work like this, and this is what I am currently doing.  Fred could you please correct me if I am wrong:

1.  Set your crop parameters before you pull your images into the print queue.  First, set up your printer parameters (i.e. paper type, quality, size, choose  borderless option or not).
2.  Choose your Qi "Print Properties" size.
3.  Decide if you want Auto Cropping on or off.
4.  Optional, drag your image within the crop and position it to your liking.
5.  Print.
6.  Clear your print Queue, and reset your parameters for your next crop size and repeat.


 
« Last Edit: December 18, 2009, 01:23:11 PM by Eljae » Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5323



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2009, 01:26:32 PM »

LJ,
I am not sure what you are saying in #3 and #4

Drag your image within the crop.... Huh?
#3 Auto crop (scissors) is used when you wish to make a certain size print; no excuses.
Fred
Logged
Eljae
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 68


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2009, 01:43:06 PM »

Quote
Drag your image within the crop....

Depending on the image, sometimes the crop is not placed where I want it on an image.  Like in a full size image being Auto cropped down to 8x10, if there is too much room on the top I double click the image (in the Page Editor?), then grab and drag the image to re-position it within the crop.

Quote
#3 Auto crop (scissors) is used when you wish to make a certain size print; no excuses.
Fred

If I leave Auto Crop off, can I manually adjust to define the crop area on the image and then drag the image within that crop?
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5323



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #5 on: December 18, 2009, 01:50:59 PM »

You got it!
Perfect!
Logged
Eljae
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 68


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: December 18, 2009, 02:09:34 PM »

Thanks for the question Jacken, was my problem similar to yours?

Thanks Fred...I always clear the "View/Print Queue" before setting a new "Print Properties" size.  But, I havent figured out how to clear the entire "View/Print Queue" with one click, is this possible?

« Last Edit: December 18, 2009, 02:14:32 PM by Eljae » Logged
Eljae
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 68


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: December 18, 2009, 10:59:30 PM »

Also Jacken, you can change the size of an individual print by selecting the print on the preview page and choosing a new "Print Properties" size from the drop down.

Let's say you print an 8x10.  Next, right click on your image (in the Page Editor).  Next select your printer paper settings.  Next click on the "Print Properties" size drop down and choose the size you want.

There may be other ways to get the same result, but this is what I am doing for now.

Quote
I havent figured out how to clear the entire "View/Print Queue" with one click, is this possible?

Actually, also during my cropping and printing, as well as clearing the entire queue at once I am also trying to figure out how to clear out a selected group of images and leave others.

« Last Edit: December 18, 2009, 11:18:34 PM by Eljae » Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5323



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #8 on: December 18, 2009, 11:11:54 PM »

Quote
But, I havent figured out how to clear the entire "View/Print Queue" with one click, is this possible?
Sure, just right click on the filenames in View Print queue, or right click on the preview panel, upper right, and select CLEAR QUEUE.

Quote
I am also trying to figure out how to clear out a selected group of images and leave others.

Use the standard widows routine of holding teh CTRL key while you select the files that you want to clear in the queue, Right click them, and select Remove From Queue.

Fred
Logged
Eljae
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 68


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: December 18, 2009, 11:20:14 PM »

Quote
Sure, just right click on the filenames in View Print queue, or right click on the preview panel, upper right, and select CLEAR QUEUE.
Quote
Use the standard widows routine of holding teh CTRL key while you select the files that you want to clear in the queue, Right click them, and select Remove From Queue.

Thank you Fred!
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!