Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
December 05, 2021, 02:20:53 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional ICC Profiling Software for Windows
Create custom ICC profiles with
Profile Prism for accurate color!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Qimage Not Keeping Queue On Program Restart  (Read 8625 times)
ArtM
Newbie
*
Posts: 19


Photography, PCs, Sailing

402827 ArtM9
View Profile
« on: July 07, 2010, 05:23:29 PM »

I often set up a multi page Queue & start printing.
Then the printer jams/prints wrong colour/takes a nap/etc.;
and I have to cancel & restart the job - perhaps with modified settings;
and perhaps tomorrow after I start up Qimage again.

Way back when it used to retain the same Queue upon restart.
Now it doesn't.  And I have to make sure I save Queue - before printing.

Am I missing it?  Is there a way to force Q to save queue & bring it up
again automatically upon program restart ?  Looked in Prefs but didn't see it ....
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5452



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2010, 06:00:16 PM »

Quote
Looked in Prefs but didn't see it ....
Art,
Look in EDIT Preferences, and Clear Queue automatically. Select Never. That will take care of today.
Just a suggestion.
Why not click FILE, Save click the "J" button for JOB, and give it a name, and save it.
That way, you can recall it even after you had dome three other jobs since the last time on this job.

Hope this helps
.Fred
Logged
ArtM
Newbie
*
Posts: 19


Photography, PCs, Sailing

402827 ArtM9
View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2010, 06:10:44 PM »

Fred - Thnx for reply - Clear Queue prevents clearing after print - but Does Not retain
the queue upon program restart.  I have to recall the previous saved version as you suggested.
I just want to short circuit the step of Recalling.  Additionally, as minor tweaks are made I end up
 with many variations of the saved version - if I'm religious enough to save each try.
I'd rather have Q auto save queue & auto reload upon program restart.  Then save final version
when I finally get it right/fix/kick/drop/buy another printer/etc.!
Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3214



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2010, 08:18:16 PM »

Quote
I'd rather have Q auto save queue & auto reload upon program restart.
Sorry Art, not all of us would want that, certainly not reload on start up  Wink
A prompt to save would be useful!
Terry
Logged
ArtM
Newbie
*
Posts: 19


Photography, PCs, Sailing

402827 ArtM9
View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2010, 01:28:43 PM »

Quote
Sorry Art, not all of us would want that, certainly not reload on start up  Wink
A prompt to save would be useful!

Understand this might not be the preference of others - or even myself when I (eventually!)
get a clean run on the job I'm working on; but an option would be nice to smooth out the
workflow while working on one job, like  a couple of Prefs . . .

Auto Save Queue Job on Exit ? Y/N
Auto Reload Queue on Restart ?  Y/N

Or something that satisfies both situations.

PS - The main reason I am repeatedly reloading the queue is printer problems on my Epson R1800
        that prints half pages & spits out the remainder of the paper stack until Media Error !!  Grrrr !
Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3214



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2010, 02:17:48 PM »

Hi Art,
Quote
my Epson R1800 that prints half pages
Maybe you have a spooling problem.
Qimage help says:

Format: The spool format controls whether the "Enable Advanced Printing Features" check box is checked/unchecked in your printer's properties in Control Panel.  For most printing, the "EMF" setting is recommended.  If you run into problems with partial prints, blank pages, missing pieces of prints, or other print related problems, you may wish to try the "Raw" setting.  Qimage will finish processing your jobs significantly faster when using the "EMF" mode, however, the "Raw" setting is generally more reliable when printing very large jobs or very large prints due to operating system and disk space considerations.

Terry
Logged
ArtM
Newbie
*
Posts: 19


Photography, PCs, Sailing

402827 ArtM9
View Profile
« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2010, 02:34:14 AM »

Quote
PS - The main reason I am repeatedly reloading the queue is printer problems on my Epson R1800
        that prints half pages & spits out the remainder of the paper stack until Media Error !!  Grrrr !

Uh Oh. This is starting to look like an Epson Driver problem !

OK.  I've tried Standard text printing.  Works OK.  Tried Epson Easy Print.  Same problem - prints partial image
 & then spits out paper until stack empty.  Then tried changing port to USB & adding USB cable connection.
Eureka! Works OK.  But I used to run Qimage & Firewire/IEEE1394 just fine.  I also reloaded
drivers to get latest version prior to all of this (12332/6.52).  A Google search for 1800/1394 print problems came up with
a comment that Epson has dropped 1394 support !!!  Anyone know anything about this?  Are you using an
Epson R1800 with IEEE1394?  Which drivers? If its true I guess the solution is to go Backwards to previous drivers !

My main motivation for IEEE1394 is my understanding that IEEE1394 is a little faster than USB 2.
(My system is PC/2.6GhZ/4GB/1TB/WinXP-Pro)
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5452



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #7 on: July 13, 2010, 10:19:59 AM »

Art,
When I first got my R1800, I thought, Why not hook it up using Fire wire.  I had the same problems. Most of the time, it would produce a Printer Not Ready error, and sometimes print a partial image and stop as if it was finished.
I went to my computer person that built it, and he told me to lay off the FW. It has issues with certain types of printing jobs.
He also mentioned that the FW beating the USB 2.0 was a myth, but that was his opinion.
Anyway, hooking up the 1800 via USB, all was well again.

Fred
« Last Edit: July 13, 2010, 05:53:56 PM by Fred A » Logged
ArtM
Newbie
*
Posts: 19


Photography, PCs, Sailing

402827 ArtM9
View Profile
« Reply #8 on: July 13, 2010, 09:57:05 PM »

Quote
lay off the FW. It has issues with certain types of printing jobs.

Thnx Fred.  Think I will take the hint & stay on USB.

Guess that just proves my conclusion from many years dealing with computers.
Hardware manufacturers should leave software to software manufacturers.
Logged
ArtM
Newbie
*
Posts: 19


Photography, PCs, Sailing

402827 ArtM9
View Profile
« Reply #9 on: July 13, 2010, 10:51:20 PM »

Speaking of speed & performance; Does it not make sense to print 'Landscape'
for whole page 8 1/2 X 11 printing to reduce form feeds & use wide carriage on R1800?

PS - I still think it would be more efficient workflow to - optionally - auto recall job queue
on Qimage restart.
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5452



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #10 on: July 14, 2010, 09:23:05 AM »

Quote
I still think it would be more efficient workflow to - optionally - auto recall job queue
on Qimage restart.

Good Morning Art,
As to above, You can accomplish the same task by three mouse clicks.
File
Recall
Double click the selected JOB;

*** And better yet!!
(I should have mentioned this before) 

Alternative:   Click File, click Open Automated Job Log.
At the second from the top, you see: Q Last Exit Job.
Open that, and you have what you dreamed pf having.
You didn't have to save the job first, nor name it, nor have to delete it later.

That should work fine for you.


On the printer, I never thought about turning the 8.5 x 11 around. I wonder if the printer driver would handle that.
It probably could if I used User Defined size and told the printer that I had 11 inch wide paper, possibly on a 13" roll?
By the time I set user defined, it would be half printed doing it the correct way.
:-)

Knowing myself, I would probably get the orientation bass-ackwards too.

Fred
Logged
Drew Baker
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


View Profile Email
« Reply #11 on: July 25, 2010, 02:46:27 AM »

PS - I still think it would be more efficient workflow to - optionally - auto recall job queue
on Qimage restart.

You could add that to your QImage shortcut yourself, actually. By modifying the shortcut -- adding the name and location of the saved job you would like to start with -- you can set any job as the start job.

For example, on my system QImage's job log folder is C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\ddisoftware\Qimage\Log and the last exit job is called {Q} Last Exit.job. So the full name and location is C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\ddisoftware\Qimage\Log\{Q} Last Exit.job. Because there are spaces in the name I'll need to put it in quotes when I add it to my shortcut. Like this:
Quote
"C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\ddisoftware\Qimage\Log\{Q} Last Exit.job"

Now, if I right click on the QImage shortcut on my desktop and select Properties I see the shortcut's target is:
Quote
"C:\Program Files\Qimage\Qimage.exe"

To add the job I just add it to the end (after a space, naturally):
Quote
"C:\Program Files\Qimage\Qimage.exe" "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\ddisoftware\Qimage\Log\{Q} Last Exit.job"

And from now on that shortcut will start where I left off.

Hope that helps,

--Drew
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!