Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
December 05, 2021, 02:30:20 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional ICC Profiling Software for Windows
Create custom ICC profiles with
Profile Prism for accurate color!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Recommended workflow for consistently sized signature watermark  (Read 13336 times)
bgoddard
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile Email
« on: March 09, 2014, 02:23:40 AM »

I did a little searching around on this and didn't find much so lets see if I can explain what I am trying to accomplish.


Background:

For the past year or so I have been using Qimage to print everything to my Canon ipf8400 with great success.  I have been signing my prints in the lower left corner with a pigment based ink pen. A couple things have prompted me to want to change this up and just add a scanned signature to the files before printing. (Main reason is an extreme level of annoyance when I mess up signing a large print.)


Issue:

I would like this signature to be approximately 5/8" tall regardless of print size.  If I add this signature to the native sized file in PS and send it thru Qimage for printing I can get a signature that comes out enlarged to something like 1.5" tall on a large 40x60 print. In my opinion this looks pretty obtrusive.   


Current workflow:

I have taken to using Qimage to resize the file to the desired print dimensions @ 300ppi. I save out a tiff and go into PS to add a 200px tall signature and then save and print that file back in Qimage.


This seems to work decent if not slightly tedious. My question is am I overlooking anything that might make this process simpler or should I be doing anything different to affect the quality of the final output?
Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3214



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2014, 07:41:49 AM »

Hi and welcome to the forum,
The Qimage Signature feature will give the same size signatures whatever the print size because it is based on a pixel size for the signature files.
See Help-Contents-Copyright/Signatures.
Some time ago I prepared some samples with additional information on this feature, see:
http://www.pbase.com/tjm04/qu_signatures
You are welcome to download the files to "play" with.
Attached are 2 screen shots from the page editor, one is an A4 print the other an A3 print - can can see (just about) the red signature bottom right, the A3 signature is relatively smaller than on the A4 size because the pixels sizes are identical.
Terry
« Last Edit: March 09, 2014, 07:43:34 AM by Terry-M » Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3214



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2014, 07:58:42 AM »

One more example attached.
This is from a scanned image of a written signature.
Terry
Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3214



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2014, 08:45:53 AM »

I note you said this:
Quote
My question is am I overlooking anything that might make this process simpler or should I be doing anything different to affect the quality of the final output?
Quote
I have taken to using Qimage to resize the file to the desired print dimensions @ 300ppi.
Why do that? You will be interpolating twice which is bad news for quality.
Specify the print size in Qimage in inches/mm; Qimage then interpolates to the native resolution of the printer which for a Canon printer at "best" quality is 600ppi. The resolution obtained from the driver is shown above the page preview. The resolution of the original image does not matter as Qimage takes care of it with its superior interpolation algorithms.
Doing this will certainly simplify your work flow - do it the Qimage way  Wink
Terry
Logged
bgoddard
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2014, 12:34:26 AM »

That seems to be perfect, exactly what I was looking for. It will be a day or so until I can actually try it out though. Thanks!

Another question somewhat related to this. I have been finding it easier to just send files to my finisher and have them print them rather than me printing and sending rolled prints to them. They are in CO, me IL.

What would the best way to go about this be and harness the signature functionality and other benefits of Qimage?


Thanks again for your quick feedback.
Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3214



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 10, 2014, 07:34:18 AM »

Quote
Another question somewhat related to this. I have been finding it easier to just send files to my finisher and have them print them rather than me printing and sending rolled prints to them. They are in CO, me IL.
What would the best way to go about this be and harness the signature functionality and other benefits of Qimage?
Qimage has a feature called "Print to File" which is specifically designed to do exactly what you want. P2F will include any text, borders and signatures that have been specified for printing.
There is a Help section on this in Help - Qimage Functions - Print to (printer of file)
However, this is a little out of date for the latest features of Qimage Ultimate, which I assume you are using. If not I strongly recommend you upgrade.
There is a Learning Video about Print to File here http://www.youtube.com/embed/M0Qh8grFaYQ
The full list of videos is here http://www.ddisoftware.com/qimage-u/learn.htm
Terry
Logged
Roy Sletcher
Newbie
*
Posts: 44



View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: March 10, 2014, 05:04:13 PM »

Hi Terry,

Have been following this thread with interest as I want to try to ad a copyright/watermark or signature file to certain images, but instead of printing to file, I want to output to printer.

When following your instructions to go to  <HELP> and then on to copyright/signature, the relevant text is headed "Copyright/Signature (only available in Studio Edition)"

I am using QI ULTIMATE, and it does not seem to work the same as written in the text referred to above.

Am I missing something, or fallen intoa  pitfall.

Thanks

Roy Sletcher

 
Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3214



View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: March 10, 2014, 05:17:28 PM »

Hi Roy,
Quote
Am I missing something, or fallen into a  pitfall.
I have sent you a personal message via the forum with my email address so you can send your signature files to me for "diagnosis".
Also, download and check my samples and additional information here - select "original size" before downloading
http://www.pbase.com/tjm04/qu_signatures.
Terry
Logged
Roy Sletcher
Newbie
*
Posts: 44



View Profile Email
« Reply #8 on: March 10, 2014, 11:02:12 PM »

Hi Roy,
Quote
Am I missing something, or fallen into a  pitfall.
I have sent you a personal message via the forum with my email address so you can send your signature files to me for "diagnosis".
Also, download and check my samples and additional information here - select "original size" before downloading
http://www.pbase.com/tjm04/qu_signatures.
Terry

Hi Terry,

Thanks for speedy reply and help.

Fortunately I re-read the help files and manged to figure it out. I think ;-)

I guess RTFM really does work! 

Hopefully I will not have to bother you again, but as a serial lurker, I am very impressed with the time you and Fred take to help users with difficulties.

It is much appreciated, and I have learned a lot from the comments you both post.

Regards.

Roy Sletcher


Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3214



View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: March 11, 2014, 09:36:39 AM »

Hi Roy,
I'm pleased you have sorted it out and thank you for your kind words  Smiley
For the benefit of others I'll quote what you said in your message:
Quote
I was neglecting to preview in the High resolution mode, and did not realise the copyright symbol on the preview screen was not the actual file being used, but merely advising the copyright/signature feature was activated. When I printed my image all was clear.
Terry
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!