Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
October 17, 2021, 03:19:08 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional ICC Profiling Software for Windows
Create custom ICC profiles with
Profile Prism for accurate color!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Thinking of buying Qimage but ...  (Read 5369 times)
Animanganime
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile Email
« on: August 18, 2009, 05:23:22 AM »

I am trying to print an image that is 24" x 80" with my Epson Stylus Pro 7600 but of course the driver won't let me print pass 60"
I just want to know if Qimage will be able to overwrite that size limitation and let me print pass 60" in length
I have read all the faqs and specs and what not but I can't find the answer anywhere
I download the trial version but I really don't want to waste 60" of expensive paper ( say the software does not work ) to try out the long print
Please can someone confirm the printing length capability of this software
Thank you very much in advance.
Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3213



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2009, 06:55:00 AM »

Quote
I just want to know if Qimage will be able to overwrite that size limitation and let me print pass 60" in length
Yes it will.
have a look at the online help, Learn by example 6a
http://www.ddisoftware.com/qimage/qimagehlp/lbe.htm#6a

You also might want to look at one of MIke's articles on printing large http://ddisoftware.com/tech/articles/february-2006-wide-load-tips-for-printing-large/
Half way down the article there's a paragraph on Maximum Print Sizes.

Terry.
Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3213



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2009, 07:20:14 AM »

Quote
I download the trial version but I really don't want to waste 60" of expensive paper ( say the software does not work ) to try out the long print
Can you set your driver to Preview before printing? If so, try that and then cancel to save on paper.
Terry.
Logged
BrianPrice
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 258



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2009, 07:45:58 AM »

Hi

As Terry says, the technique described in example 6a is definitely the best way to go, I have used it successfully on several occasions.
Basically, you set the printer to a smaller page size - I would recommend something like 24" x 24" and turn off auto-cut - and QI will then spread the pano over several pages, and the 7600 will butt them together perfectly.
As well as overcoming the printer length limit, this has the advantage of using smaller spool files - a single large spool file can crash almost any system. It's no different to printing 3 or 4 separate 24 x 24"s.

Brian
« Last Edit: August 18, 2009, 07:52:33 AM by BrianPrice » Logged
Animanganime
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2009, 05:19:10 PM »

Thank you all for the fantastic news, I went to a local photography shop today asking for the cheapest RIP for the 7600 and it costs around $900. Once again you guys have been very helpful.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!