Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
December 05, 2021, 03:04:47 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Download and develop photos from your flash cards with one click!
Get a trial of
FlashPipe today and stop fumbling with explorer windows to transfer photos and videos
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Using Recovering Moving Old Windows XP Data From Another Drive Onto Windows 7  (Read 5335 times)
ArtM
Newbie
*
Posts: 19


Photography, PCs, Sailing

402827 ArtM9
View Profile
« on: September 03, 2012, 05:19:19 PM »

Uh OH !  I may have outsmarted myself.  I ran on XP for years.  Concluded that my Raid Zero D-Data Drive was the place to put Qimage - and all its data for performance reasons.
After many months of messing around I now have a new Windows 7 system.  Without all XP's programs (@#$%^&*&&*!).  And a set of SSD's in Raid Zero as my C-Programs drive!
So I have to reinstall Qimage Pro.  But I want my old data back from its present unused home on D-Data.

Whats the best way of doing that. Getting my old data back to C-Programs drive so I have access to all my old saved jobs, etc.  ??
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5452



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2012, 05:40:28 PM »

Quote
Whats the best way of doing that. Getting my old data back to C-Programs drive so I have access to all my old saved jobs, etc.  ??

Art,
I haven't done this in a while, but I believe all you have to do is click UTILITIES  in Qimage Ultimate, and select Migrate Application Data.
It asks for a destination folder..... but you have Pro and not Ultimate.
So I opened Pro and there's the same routine available there too.
I did surprise myself.... but pleasantly.
Give that a try!
All the folders containg the old saved jobs etc. should go as sub folders inside the QIMAGE FOLDER, which is inside Program Data.
Fred
« Last Edit: September 03, 2012, 05:53:05 PM by Fred A » Logged
ArtM
Newbie
*
Posts: 19


Photography, PCs, Sailing

402827 ArtM9
View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2012, 06:07:35 PM »

Thnx for the tip Fred.  But No Cigar !
The migrate utility allows you to select a Destination for the migrate;
but NOT the source.  So it only really allows me to move the the data existing
in the Win 7 Program Data for the fresh install of Qimage to another location.

I want to move it from my old D-Data area for Qimage to the C-Programs 'Program Data' area for Qimage in Win 7

Another suggestion ?  Does copying all the old D-data Qimage folders over the installation folder of Qimage data in Program Data area make sense ?
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5452



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2012, 07:48:14 PM »

Quote
Another suggestion ?  Does copying all the old D-data Qimage folders over the installation folder of Qimage data in Program Data area make sense ?

Of course!
The routine I described previously was supposed to be the easy way.... manually, moving the folders to the proper location is fine.
Fred
Logged
ArtM
Newbie
*
Posts: 19


Photography, PCs, Sailing

402827 ArtM9
View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2012, 09:57:34 PM »

Its not as simple as just copying data over installation directory.
Now in Windows 7 there is 'Program Data' directory.
I have tried to merge folder for folder from the old XP program directory to the Windows 7 Program Data for Qimage.
Seems to be working as I can see my old print jobs & the Queue.
Shows some printer/driver errors I haven't resolved yet.
Nothing with computers is simple !
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5452



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2012, 08:38:27 AM »

Quote
Now in Windows 7 there is 'Program Data' directory.
I have tried to merge folder for folder from the old XP program directory to the Windows 7 Program Data for Qimage.
Seems to be working as I can see my old print jobs & the Queue.
Shows some printer/driver errors I haven't resolved yet.
Nothing with computers is simple !

Art,

That's what the automated restructuring routine in Qimage  does for you. It relocates the files to the Program Data directory.
Now it sounds like you might just have to replace the drivers for your printers. Most will need W7 drivers.

Fred
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!