Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
November 30, 2021, 12:05:48 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional ICC Profiling Software for Windows
Create custom ICC profiles with
Profile Prism for accurate color!
Pages: 1 2 [3]
  Print  
Author Topic: where is smart sharpening  (Read 29277 times)
redzuk
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
« Reply #30 on: July 17, 2009, 04:14:27 PM »


Fred,

I see the added detail to the soft feathers and a little  of that 3d pop you spoke of more clearly in one of the pics. 

In the other one (with the tall grass and gazebo in the background), I see more detail everywhere, had you asked me to guess which one received the eq I would have got it backwards.  Same amount of USM and SS in the examples?

Carl

Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5451



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #31 on: July 17, 2009, 04:24:51 PM »

The point is, knowing the basic principles of the equalizer's function, makes you use it knowing it will shift the focus of increased sharpness (contrast) from the edges to softer areas, and when a specific area needs sharpening, but the other parts of the picture will look over.... fake looking, that's the time to try 3/300 and 75% EQ and see what you look like then.

Have fun with this. No need to get wound up worrying if it's right. You'll know what looks good.
One thing that interested me a lot was the phenomenon that occurred when I got a Samsung LCD monitor and threw out my CRT. Now the images all looked a tad over sharpened on the new monitor. Bottom line, make a test print to be sure whether the monitor is telling the truth.

Have fun!!! 
Fred
Logged
Ya Me
Full Member
***
Posts: 133



View Profile
« Reply #32 on: July 18, 2009, 11:21:35 AM »


This is definitely a good learning thread!

Ya Me
Logged

If I Don't Ask .. Who Will?
redzuk
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
« Reply #33 on: July 18, 2009, 04:41:47 PM »


This is definitely a good learning thread!

Ya Me

Seems as though SS doesnt show up in any preview, just quietly does its thing in the prints.  Also seems to be directly related to the amount of USM you use so its hard to say just how much SS adds, saving that experiment for the next time i want 2 8x10's of the same photo.

Funny thing is in the older version of qimage i have the SS is not identified in the job options tab.  Its just a number on the same line as the interpolation adjustments, so i figured it was the level of interpolation.  I toggled it between 3-5 usually leaving it at 5 because that was labeled as default level.  I didnt think it had anything to do with sharpening, i wasnt using qimage for sharpening, it was just the best way i know to send a file to the printer.   I do know the prints are coming out great and now i think SS might be a big part of that. 

Not real sure about the equalizer and whether or not there is a big benefit to resizing/resampling in qimage because of interpolation functions, but my eyes are open.

Carl
Logged
Seth
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 322



View Profile
« Reply #34 on: July 18, 2009, 07:46:46 PM »

Seems as though SS doesnt show up in any preview, just quietly does its thing in the prints.  Also seems to be directly related to the amount of USM you use so its hard to say just how much SS adds, saving that experiment for the next time i want 2 8x10's of the same photo.

I think what you asked for, a ways back in this thread, was a "print preview screen" which might then show the addition of Smart Sharpening.  However, I think you would still be frustrated and/or disappointed since it would not be the same size or resolution as your paper printout.  Usually, as I test print through 4x5, 5x7, 8x10 and 11x14, I have SS set by the 8x10--not always, but usually.

BTW--if you are showing/selling you can mark thes smaller ones as A/P and sell them too.  Sometimes I just give them with the big print and they realize you spent time and money getting their print right.
Logged

Seth
<CWO4 (FMF) USN, Ret.>
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3213



View Profile WWW
« Reply #35 on: July 18, 2009, 08:44:49 PM »

Quote
Seems as though SS doesn't show up in any preview, just quietly does its thing in the prints.
That is exactly right. Just set the level so your prints look like the screen image.
Terry.
Logged
redzuk
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
« Reply #36 on: July 20, 2009, 04:08:41 PM »

I hope i dont sound disappointed, its more like somebody let me in on a secret. 

After reading the article about the equalizer function that Terry linked, it makes sense that black and white should have much better resolution than color.  I looked at a few images using the predefined "black and white" filter and think i do see more 3d effect in them, but i dont see greater resolution. 

It made me curious if i could push the iso higher than I normally would and get better resolution by converting to black and white?   Would it matter what interpolation settings you use for B&W prints? 

Carl
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!