Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
July 18, 2024, 11:21:11 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Qimage registration expired? New lifetime licenses are only $59.99!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional Photo Printing Software for Windows
Print with
Qimage and see what you've been missing!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Nikon z6  (Read 28049 times)
spaceair
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


View Profile Email
« on: September 09, 2019, 02:30:00 PM »

Raw files from Nikon Z6 camera upon loading images they look bad..
is there solution?
Jpeg are just fine.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2019, 02:31:42 PM by spaceair » Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 4160



View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2019, 03:57:26 PM »

Can you describe how they look bad?  QU is compatible with the Z6 and the results I'm getting look good.

Regards,
Mike
Logged
spaceair
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2019, 05:38:41 PM »

too bright and pale
« Last Edit: September 09, 2019, 05:45:10 PM by spaceair » Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 4160



View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2019, 07:22:42 PM »

The 2020 edition should be released in the next couple weeks and that has a built-in profile for the Z6 that improves color.

Regards,
Mike
Logged
spaceair
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2019, 12:53:43 PM »

ok, i use now tiff file for now Smiley
Logged
CHoffman
Full Member
***
Posts: 179


View Profile Email
« Reply #5 on: November 01, 2019, 08:33:43 PM »

Recently got a Z6 and Qimage is working great. It was a tremendous leap of faith for this long time SLR user to go mirrorless, but the more I use it the more I like it. In fact, I almost can't imagine going back.
Logged
jennywhite
Newbie
*
Posts: 1


View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: August 11, 2023, 10:02:11 PM »

Are you happy with the camera?
Logged
CHoffman
Full Member
***
Posts: 179


View Profile Email
« Reply #7 on: June 19, 2024, 07:40:01 PM »

Been a while, sorry I never saw the last post. Anyway, I've been a very happy Z6 camper since getting it. For Mike- I've just ordered the Z6iii. When it comes are there any images that would be useful to you for fine tuning the profile or to do with RAWs?
Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 4160



View Profile Email
« Reply #8 on: June 20, 2024, 12:45:19 PM »

There's no way to know if Z6 III raws will be even compatible with LibRaw yet so we'll have to wait and see.  Once LibRaw is capable of reading the raws, a custom profile is dependent on our availability to get the camera for testing.

Regards,
Mike
Logged
CHoffman
Full Member
***
Posts: 179


View Profile Email
« Reply #9 on: July 02, 2024, 12:09:50 AM »

Well, FWIW, I got my Z6iii and the raws and other images seem to work fine with Qimage and everything else I've tried with them. There is a file type used for pixel shifted imaging that nothing but Nikon software works with, but that's not surprising.

Just not a darn thing to complain about.  Cool
Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 4160



View Profile Email
« Reply #10 on: July 02, 2024, 12:46:15 PM »

Good to know!  Thanks for sharing.

Mike
Logged
CHoffman
Full Member
***
Posts: 179


View Profile Email
« Reply #11 on: July 04, 2024, 04:37:29 PM »

More info as I use the Z6iii more. There are three compressions for RAW, Lossless, High efficiency * and High efficiency (with no star). The lossless works fine with Qimage and all other programs I've tried- I've always used lossless. The two higher compression levels don't display in Qimage, Affinity Photo, Image Glass or Topaz. Do you want those files or is there some 3rd party library that needs to be updated?
« Last Edit: July 04, 2024, 04:39:03 PM by CHoffman » Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 4160



View Profile Email
« Reply #12 on: July 04, 2024, 06:12:22 PM »

No.  That's typical of raw: LibRaw, DCRAW, and other tools almost never support the compressed raws.  I think they started to years ago when compressed raw first came out but now they just tell you to not use the compressed modes if you want your raws to be usable in most software.

Regards,
Mike
Logged
CHoffman
Full Member
***
Posts: 179


View Profile Email
« Reply #13 on: July 04, 2024, 06:40:33 PM »

Ah, OK. What got me started messing with this was I switched from a CFExpress card to an SD card and suddenly couldn't read my RAWs. I don't entirely understand the slot selection but was surprised that the compression type changed without me expressly changing it. Now I know enough to check it. Thanks!
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Security updates 2022 by ddisoftware, Inc.