Mike Chaney's Tech Corner

Mike's Software => Qimage Studio Edition => Topic started by: genebrown48 on June 25, 2014, 07:39:58 PM



Title: 0 block files
Post by: genebrown48 on June 25, 2014, 07:39:58 PM
I've been using Qimage Studio 2009.209 for quite some time. Lately it has started writing 0 block files to the root directory of my images hard drive. There have been as many as 65 and they are erased when Qimage is closed. Qimage Ultimate 2011.136 does it, too. Does anyone know why?


Title: Re: 0 block files
Post by: admin on June 25, 2014, 08:26:05 PM
Don't know what that could be.  What are (some sample) names of the files?

Mike


Title: Re: 0 block files
Post by: genebrown48 on June 25, 2014, 09:58:47 PM
I have attached a screen shot of some of today's files.


Title: Re: 0 block files
Post by: genebrown48 on June 25, 2014, 10:24:10 PM
When I try to open or delete them I get a message that they are in in use by another program. If I copy them to a new location I can open them in notepad but there is no text in them.


Title: Re: 0 block files
Post by: admin on June 26, 2014, 07:44:43 PM
What kind of operation(s) are you doing in Qimage when those appear?  In looking at them, I don't think they are coming from Qimage because there is no code in Qimage that creates temporary or lock/semaphore files in the root.  So I think it's probably some other program interfering like an antivirus program or maybe a driver of some sort that is creating those outside of Qimage based on something in Qimage that it is "watching".  If I know what type of functions make them appear though, I might be able to narrow it down.  None of the machines I tested create any files at all in the root so it is something specific to your setup or machine.  That is, unless you are doing some unique operation I haven't tested, which is why I ask if they are only appear when you are performing some particular operation in Qimage.

Mike



Title: Re: 0 block files
Post by: genebrown48 on June 26, 2014, 10:40:48 PM
I am filtering (cntl+f) and printing images on a DNP-DS40 or a Skinko 1245. Now that I think about it, this started after I started using the DNP-DS40. The number of 0 block files doesn't seem to have anything to do with the number of files I filter or print. I am more concerned about it being done by a virus or malware. I have run several programs that check for such as that. They didn't find anything.

On a slightly different note, I seem to remember Qimage having an overlay function. Has that been dropped from these versions?


Title: Re: 0 block files
Post by: genebrown48 on June 27, 2014, 10:03:48 PM
Today Qimage is writing those zero block file on startup and it was set to print to my Epson 9800. Only 4 files on startup.