Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
July 26, 2021, 07:46:55 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Download and develop photos from your flash cards with one click!
Get a trial of
FlashPipe today and stop fumbling with explorer windows to transfer photos and videos
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Qimage technique to upsample photo file?  (Read 320 times)
NAwlins Contrarian
Newbie
*
Posts: 5


View Profile
« on: June 27, 2021, 09:51:52 PM »

I'm looking for advice on what are the best techniques to use Qimage Ultimate to upsample a photo and export it as a JPEG. Recently I was asked for one of my photos to make a life-size cutout of the requestor's daughter. In my photo she is 3469 pixels tall, and I figure the print was going to run about 4'9" long / tall, so natively that's only about 61 ppi. Generally I'd assume and advise that anyone serious enough to have a 24" photo printer and roll paper should probably be left to do final file prep however is best, but based on the requests I got, the time urgency, and my sense from the discussion, the guy with the printer was just somebody with access to the printer who was printing for a friend as a last-minute thing. So I:
(1) opened the TIFF from the raw converter in Qimage Ultimate,
(2) in the HQ Sharpening field I set the radius to I think 4 and the % to I think 100, and
(3) did a Save As... and then in the Output Options box checked Resample (Fusion) box and set the length to 17100 pixels.

My most basic question is sharpening: is that radius applicable to the resampled 17100 pixel length (what I wanted) or the original 3469 pixel length (for which a radius of 4 would be really high)? Is there some way to do post-resampling sharpening, other than saving the file with resampling, then opening the resampled file and sharpen it, and save it as a third version?

Also, is there some recommended or preferred resampling procedure when the goal is to output a file?

Thanks!

P.S.
I don't have Gigapixel AI and it won't even run on my old computer. Also, Qimage's resampling is fine for my own needs and the sizes I can print. So really, my choice was between Qimage and Affinity Photo.
Logged
Roy Sletcher
Newbie
*
Posts: 44



View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2021, 12:24:18 AM »


I have Gigapixel AI and would be willing to run the file and return it to you via email if that helps solve your problem.

You mention time is of the essence and my email is on my profile. Else, let me know how to contact you.

Let me know if you want to proceed.

-Roy Sletcher-
A friendly Canadian.






Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3316



View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2021, 12:20:53 PM »

You're probably better off just letting Qimage do what it was designed to do by printing to file.  Switch to print to file mode and set up your paper size to what you want (around 24 x 60 inches) at 300 PPI.  Then when Qimage prints to file, it'll create a 24x60 photo at 300 PPI and it'll calculate the necessary sharpening at that level.

Regards,
Mike
Logged
NAwlins Contrarian
Newbie
*
Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2021, 02:50:58 AM »

Roy: thanks for the generous offer, but my question was so I'd be better-prepared for the next time. In the particular case, I'd already done what I did and that ship had sailed. The guy called me on a Saturday night and needed a file to be printed and mounted to be used as a 'Sgt. Pepper'-style part of a group photo that Tuesday or Wednesday.

Mike: Doh! I don't know why I didn't think to try printing to a file. I've done that from Lightroom, but Qimage has a lot of options and capabilities and I've only scratched the surface in the maybe eighteen months since I licensed it and use it instead of LR for printing. I see that sharpening is adjustable in Qimage's print-to-file function. Does it use the user-selected interpolation from the Processing area, or does it always use Fusion, or what?

FWIW, considering the file I prepared was almost a 5x upscale, I was pleased with how smooth and non-weird/artifacty it was with Qimage's Fusion interpolation. My approach to sharpening was probably not the best, but all things considered, this was a good experience.
Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3316



View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2021, 12:23:04 PM »

When printing, Qimage will use the selected interpolation method.  I would stick with fusion as it is the best for photos.  It is the best balance between sharpness and and detail: it doesn't try to oversharpen or "create" detail which can cause weird artifacts.

Regards,
Mike
Logged
NAwlins Contrarian
Newbie
*
Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 04, 2021, 11:03:48 PM »

Thanks!
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!