Mike Chaney's Tech Corner

Mike's Software => Qimage => Topic started by: russellsnr on May 29, 2024, 02:27:29 PM



Title: mm to inches not consistent within app
Post by: russellsnr on May 29, 2024, 02:27:29 PM
Hi, moved from Windows Qimage Ultimate to Mac Qimage One a couple weeks ago, I assumed as it was or seemed to be a partnership company that Qimage One would work near the same as Ultimate albeit a cut down version but have a small problem with using mm or inches, as an older generation in the UK i prefer feet and inches. In Qimage One on the main screen I get to use inches but when I go to the paper sizes and Margins I get only mm and   I have clicked the icon that changes mm to inches on the main screen.
I contacted the developer/s and the answer I got was he thought because I live in the Eurozone but surely to be able to use whatever measurements you want should be available across the application?
I did download the app again from the USA site but that didn't work.
On the YouTube videos he does use inches in both cases for paper size and margins.
Thank You.
Russ.


Title: Re: mm to inches not consistent within app
Post by: admin on May 29, 2024, 03:33:38 PM
When you say you get mm for paper size and margins, it sounds like you are talking about inside the driver.  When you are in the driver settings, you are in another program (not Qimage One) so we have no way to control the units inside the driver.  Some drivers have the option to use cm or inches: what driver (printer) are you using?

Regards,
Mike


Title: Re: mm to inches not consistent within app
Post by: russellsnr on May 29, 2024, 03:47:04 PM
Canon IX6850 UK VERSION. Used the same printer version for Qimage Ultimate on Windows 10 and 11 but new to Mac. Thak you.


Title: Re: mm to inches not consistent within app
Post by: admin on May 29, 2024, 06:35:48 PM
Looks like there are no U.S. versions of that printer and Canon may have locked their driver to metric given that it is an EU printer.  I would suggest contacting Canon to see if there is a way to change the driver units to imperial.

Regards,
Mike


Title: Re: mm to inches not consistent within app
Post by: russellsnr on May 29, 2024, 06:43:38 PM
OK Thank you.