Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
September 18, 2021, 05:13:49 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
  Home Help Search Login Register  

Professional ICC Profiling Software for Windows
Create custom ICC profiles with
Profile Prism for accurate color!
  Show Posts
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5
31  Mike's Software / Qimage Ultimate / Re: Onscreen rotation issue on: October 15, 2013, 01:18:21 PM
Thanks. I was mentioned in the first post. It's the more annoying of the two  Grin
32  Mike's Software / Qimage Ultimate / Re: Onscreen rotation issue on: October 14, 2013, 11:03:56 PM
The issue is not so much that it lands on the page in the wrong orientation the issue is that when I use the arrow to turn the image to the correct orientation it turns the wrong way. Shouldn't it turn in the direction of the arrow? I don't think any amount of explanation can convince me that is should work that way  Grin
33  Mike's Software / Qimage Ultimate / Re: Help troubleshooting a magenta cast on: October 13, 2013, 05:03:35 AM
Well actually, I just zeroed it out and it still looks good. Seems setting the color setting to normal instead of dark was the best solution for me.
34  Mike's Software / Qimage Ultimate / Re: Help troubleshooting a magenta cast on: October 13, 2013, 04:59:17 AM
Thanks Mac,

I was able to neutralize the issue by going back in to the printer drive custom mode and moving the horz to -5. Looks like that got rid of the rest of the magenta.  Although I send my paper targets off to a service to get profiled I have been thinking of getting an I1 photo pro 2 and doing it my self but the cost has kept me from buying one. Oh, I had to look up burple in the urban dictionary :-)



Thanks,

Ned
35  Mike's Software / Qimage Ultimate / Re: Help troubleshooting a magenta cast on: October 12, 2013, 05:48:54 PM
Quote
has the 3880 got a B&W mode with various grey inks?
I see now from your screen shot you are using The Advanced B&W mode but why is "Custom" set? I don't know much about your driver but with B&W mode set I would think "automatic" would be needed? Hopefully someone else with this printer will comment.
Also, how is QU set for colour management; again I would think, let driver manage colour was appropriate.
You mentioned using a colour profile, is this relevant when set to the B&W mode?
Terry

Thanks for all of the feedback. I have it on custom mode because I set the color correction in the driver to darker. I typically like how that looks. Darker is magnifying the problem in this case. Setting back to automatic almost takes care of the magenta cast, but there is still a tiny bit there. I'll just use this as a learning opportunity and figure out what's going on.  By the way, I though once I started inkjet printing that I would be printing less than I do in the darkroom, not the case. I think I use more paper with inkjet than I ever did in the darkroom.

Cheers
36  Mike's Software / Qimage Ultimate / Re: Help troubleshooting a magenta cast on: October 11, 2013, 05:47:47 PM
Quote
How the heck does magenta get on a B&W print anyway?
Because you are using coloured inks - has the 3880 got a B&W mode with various grey inks?
Quote
However with both I have made a successful print at least once, the last three in a row were unsuccessful
That seems to indicate blocked nozzles, I suggest you do a check & clean.
Terry

I check before the start of each print run, no issues with blocked nozzles. 
37  Mike's Software / Qimage Ultimate / Re: Onscreen rotation issue on: October 11, 2013, 05:45:05 PM
I'll have to try your suggestions a little later and see how it works out for me.  What I don't want to have to do is remember to have to do something before I do something else.  Qimage is not necessarily open before I export to it so if I have to open Qimage, set it up first then go back and export then go back to Qimage again it won't be as smooth of a workflow as it could/should be.

Anyway, I will play with it.

Thanks.
38  Mike's Software / Qimage Ultimate / Help troubleshooting a magenta cast on: October 11, 2013, 05:16:21 AM
Below is a picture of part of a print on Epson presentation paper matte. The image is a 6x9 B&W film negative scanned using a leafscan 45 which used a ND filter when scanning so it's a total monochrome image from the start. I did some adjustments in photoshop and lightroom and used some third party filters (Nik).

You can see there is a magenta cast above the head and down the left arm. The color cast is not there with I review the image in Photoshop, lightroom or Qimage. This issue is not isolated to just this image, I have at least one other in this current print run that is doing the same thing. However with both I have made a successful print at least once, the last three in a row were unsuccessful unfortunately is costing me paper  Angry

I have tried the stock Epson paper profile as well as a custom profile for this printer/paper combo and have also changed the rendering internet and maybe a few other things but the issue remains. Not sure what to try next. I have been using the inkjet republic 3rd party ink system for years with never an issues, and I don't believe the problem is the ink but I've been wrong before.  How the heck does magenta get on a B&W print anyway?

Driver Settings..



Image of print  Although this image looks like it has a cast all over, it's just a bad photo of the print. Real life the grays and tonal range are nice (except for the magenta).
39  Mike's Software / Qimage Ultimate / Re: v2014.119 issues/comments on: October 11, 2013, 04:33:47 AM
Mack,
Quote
Wow!  Just did a scroll-and-click and it lit up some above as well as under.  I hit a jackpot!
I find it VERY difficult to reproduce what you are doing, I have to move the mouse as I select to do it so I suspect your mouse technique is a little doubtful.  Shocked
Why on Earth are you attempting to select a partially visible row in a scrollable list, haven't you got a scroll wheel on your mouse?  Huh
Terry


I've had that happen to me, and it's a UI issue. I just duplicated it, see the image below. Some things should be obvious, and selecting a half line should not select other lines. If it annoyed me enough I would have reported it too.

When you have lots of work to get through, these little issues add up in any program. I use one at work and everyday I have to take the additional step of clicking on a stupid button to remove a splitscreen view to get the program setup to the way I like to work. It's technically not a bug but to me it's a UI issue.  By itself its not a big deal but over time it will drive you crazy.

40  Mike's Software / Qimage Ultimate / Onscreen rotation issue on: October 11, 2013, 04:16:59 AM
Hi,
Not sure how far back this issue goes, got it in v118/9 for sure.
There is an annoyance that occurs when I export an image from Lightroom directly into Qimage. After Lightroom finishes it's export, Qimage automatically opens with the image placed on the "paper". For example sometimes the paper backdrop in QI is in portrait mode but the image is imported in landscape. No biggie, I open print properties and click on the blue arrow for CCW but the image rotates in the CW direction so now it is upside down. Clicking either blue arrow will correct it and until another image is imported as above it works fine.

Thanks.
41  Mike's Software / Qimage Ultimate / Re: v2014.104 Copy Image Command error on: August 02, 2013, 03:35:33 PM
Ok well this is super weird in a good way.

The images are all on the local machine and were copied to the c: my pictures directory using the built in flash pipe tool in qimage. Not sure if it's still called flashpipe  Huh

As stated I received the error, and was unable to move or copy. Left the machine on all night and this morning tried it again and both commands are working. Didn't change anything, completed my processing which is why I wanted to move them  Undecided
42  Mike's Software / Qimage Ultimate / v2014.104 Copy Image Command error on: August 02, 2013, 03:57:54 AM
Doing this wrong? From the thumbnail view, right click select copy image (or move) causes - error setting path: ""

System Windows XP Pro v2002 service pack 3
43  Mike's Software / Qimage Ultimate / Norton reporting v121 download low reputation on: May 10, 2013, 04:19:56 PM
Norton puts the file in quarantine. First time this has happened for qimage if I recall correctly.  Here is the report:  (I can remove it from quarantine if needed)

    February 15, 2012 3:15:47 PM
Type:
    Other
Risk Impact:
    High
Systems Affected:
    Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows NT, Windows Server 2003, Windows 2000

Behavior
WS.Reputation.1 is a detection for files that have a low reputation score based on analyzing data from Symantecís community of users and therefore are likely to be security risks. Detections of this type are based on Symantecís reputation-based security technology. Because this detection is based on a reputation score, it does not represent a specific class of threat like adware or spyware, but instead applies to all threat categories.

The reputation-based system uses "the wisdom of crowds" (Symantecís tens of millions of end users) connected to cloud-based intelligence to compute a reputation score for an application, and in the process identify malicious software in an entirely new way beyond traditional signatures and behavior-based detection techniques.
Antivirus Protection Dates

    Initial Rapid Release version March 27, 2009
    Latest Rapid Release version April 20, 2010 revision 025
    Initial Daily Certified version March 27, 2009 revision 005
    Latest Daily Certified version April 20, 2010 revision 024
    Initial Weekly Certified release date April 1, 2009

Click here for a more detailed description of Rapid Release and Daily Certified virus definitions.
44  Mike's Software / Qimage Ultimate / Qimage Ultimate vs. Photoshop on: May 07, 2013, 06:49:11 PM
I have been using qimage for many years. I use it for all of my printing. I would assume that many other like myself use photoshop to edit and send to qimage for printing ignoring the raw editing abilities of qimage.

Now that the backlash has started over Adobe's subscription model, people are looking for an alternative. Hopefully Mike you can somehow use this window of opportunity to your benefit. As for me, I will again try to work out a workflow that was so elegant with lightroom and photoshop working together.
45  Mike's Software / Qimage Ultimate / Re: "Crunchy" preview on: June 05, 2012, 01:30:01 AM
Shouldn't I be able to press the softproof button and get something that is close to what the final output will look like or do I need to sharpen/de-noise my image to conform to some threshold?
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!