Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
December 04, 2020, 09:06:01 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Download and develop photos from your flash cards with one click!
Get a trial of
FlashPipe today and stop fumbling with explorer windows to transfer photos and videos
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: A word of warning  (Read 5309 times)
Jeff
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 738



View Profile WWW Email
« on: June 13, 2014, 08:58:04 AM »

Hello.

I think there has been some posts regarding alternative locations for the applications data files.

I have Qimage installed on a SSD, and soon found that it was filling up a rapid rate, so moved the app data files to a partition on a standard hd. P drive

All went well, no problems, until about 3 weeks ago when Qimage started running very slow and was obviously very poorly.

At next start up got an error message - at 066cb817 invalid file name - %s -

No problem, reinstall last update.

Now we all no doubt get used to QI doing all the work for us, so I just accepted the defaults as usual and all was well again Sad Sad

A few days later I did a search for a specific image, and got no results.  All the data base and gone. Cry Cry

We have had quite a few update this last week or so, and when running one it just caught my eye that the data files were shown as ssd C drive.

A quick check showed a data file now on both C and P drives.

Reinstalled and this time looked what I was doing and made sure data in P was selected, and all is now well again. Embarrassed Embarrassed

Jeff

   
Logged

Grumpy
tonygamble
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 373


View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2014, 09:08:27 AM »

Jeff,

Well spotted. I also use a C: SSD.

What 'search' words did you use in Explorer to spot the duplication?

Tony
Logged
Jeff
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 738



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2014, 03:13:20 PM »

Jeff,

Well spotted. I also use a C: SSD.

What 'search' words did you use in Explorer to spot the duplication?

Tony


I just looked up the 'Utilities >Migrate application data' in Qimage. then went to the locations in Explorer.

I would add that I think it was a Windows 7 problem.

Jeff 
Logged

Grumpy
tonygamble
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 373


View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2014, 03:24:09 PM »

And that showed you two locations, Jeff?

Tony
Logged
jana
Newbie
*
Posts: 19


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2014, 03:48:05 PM »

I hava a similar setup with Qimage installed on a SSD and the data files on a std. HD. No problems whatsoever. Running Win7.
Logged
Terry-M
The Honourable Metric Mann
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3197



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2014, 05:23:13 PM »

Two points to make:
It sounds as though some of you skimped on the size of the SSD, mine is 240GB; QU program data is 40GB and the SSD C-drive is less than half full, so no problem there.
Point 2: use QU maintenance facilities under the Utilities menu  for Thumbs and cache.
Terry
Logged
Jeff
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 738



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #6 on: June 14, 2014, 07:12:33 AM »

Two points to make:
It sounds as though some of you skimped on the size of the SSD, mine is 240GB; QU program data is 40GB and the SSD C-drive is less than half full, so no problem there.
Point 2: use QU maintenance facilities under the Utilities menu  for Thumbs and cache.
Terry

Correct.  Size skimp.

My experience with SSD's up to now is not good.

Their price is dropping, so a future update is to install a big one and start again with a re-install of win 7 and clean system.

Everything working at present but still a bit slow.

Jeff 
Logged

Grumpy
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!