Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
October 21, 2021, 06:26:34 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional Photo Printing for Windows
Print with
Qimage and see what you've been missing!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Qimage prints large square in picture  (Read 9312 times)
thornev
Newbie
*
Posts: 6



View Profile Email
« on: December 16, 2010, 05:39:52 PM »

I'm using Qimage to print Xmas cards so I hope someone can resolve soon.  When I print a 4x6 picture on 4x6 photo paper, Qimage puts a 1-inch square piece of the photo, overlaying the 4x6 photo, in the upper left corner making the photo unusable.  Job properties I'm using:

Print Properties = 4x6
Landscape mode
Optimal Spaced
Mntr ICC - set to use my Samsung monitor properties
Prtr ICC - Let printer driver manage color
Everything else is OFF.

Printer is HP Photosmart C309a.  Latest printer drivers are installed.  I'm using Qimage Pro version 2010.209 on Windows 7 Pro x64.

The picture displayed in the picture window looks fine, but when I print with preview ( a setting in my printer), the 1-inch square has been added.  I don't remember having this problem with 8x10 prints.

UPDATE - If I print two 4x6 photos on an 8x10 page, both prints get the 1-inch square on them.  UGH.
« Last Edit: December 16, 2010, 06:18:44 PM by thornev » Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5444



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2010, 06:33:20 PM »

Quote
The picture displayed in the picture window looks fine, but when I print with preview ( a setting in my printer), the 1-inch square has been added.  I don't remember having this problem with 8x10 prints.

UPDATE - If I print two 4x6 photos on an 8x10 page, both prints get the 1-inch square on them.  UGH.

Please let us know the numbers that Qimage reports above the upper right hand preview panel.

Is the 8 x 10 actually 8 x 10 paper or 8.5 x 11 paper?

Did you make prints or just judging by the print preview. ?

Can you go into the HP printer properties and disable the "ENABLE ADVANCED FEATURES"

Can you post a a screen snap of the main screen?

Fred
Logged
thornev
Newbie
*
Posts: 6



View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2010, 07:03:16 PM »

Thanks for the quick reply, Fred.

Numbers in upper right hand preview panel are "Page 6.000 x 4.000 in. (600x600)". That's in the "title bar" above the picture preview.

I don't really want this printing 2 pictures on one 8x10 page. I want 1 picture per 4x6 page let's keep the discussion to that scenario.

I made multiple prints with different printer and Qimage settings and all the prints have the unwanted square. FYI the unwanted square is a piece of the photo from the bottom middle.

"Enable Advanced Printing Features" is already unchecked in the printer driver.

I'll see if I can figure out how to upload a snapshot to this forum.  (can't find how to upload a photo - need help)  I put a screen snapshot on my web server:
http://thornev.net/media/Qimage.JPG
And here's a snapshot of the problem, note the square in the upper left corner:
http://thornev.net/media/Qimage2.JPG
« Last Edit: December 16, 2010, 07:22:05 PM by thornev » Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5444



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2010, 07:23:34 PM »

To add an attachment to the post, click on Additional options.
I find the size limit very limiting.
Feel free to email the screen snap of the whole main screen, and another of the print properties box.

wathre.ssz@verizon.net

If you can manage the image in the email, that would be wonderful.

Fred
Logged
thornev
Newbie
*
Posts: 6



View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2010, 07:30:23 PM »

Fred - I added 2 links to full size images in my previous post.  Can you use them?  I'll email them to you as well.  thorne

Fred - got this error after sending you an email:
 Diagnostic code: smtp;550 5.1.1 unknown or illegal alias: wathre.ssz@verizon.net

UPDATE - I worked around this problem by using my printer software to print the picture:  in Windows Explorer, right-click on photo and select Print.  I mean what do I need Qimage for if all I'm doing is printing 1 photo per page anyway, right?  I would like to solve this Qimage problem though.
« Last Edit: December 16, 2010, 07:39:39 PM by thornev » Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5444



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #5 on: December 16, 2010, 07:45:57 PM »

What is the origin of the Qimage2.jpg shot?
Is that a scan of a print?

Fred
Logged
rayw
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 440


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: December 16, 2010, 07:50:25 PM »

This sort problem crops up fairly regularly - see http://ddisoftware.com/tech/qimage/corrupted-image-prints/

Does that solution work for you? If not then more info in http://ddisoftware.com/tech/articles/april-2010-understanding-your-photo-printer/ and the links Mike mentions therein .

Best wishes,

Ray
Logged
thornev
Newbie
*
Posts: 6



View Profile Email
« Reply #7 on: December 16, 2010, 08:05:37 PM »

What is the origin of the Qimage2.jpg shot?
Is that a scan of a print?

Fred
Qimage2.JPG is what I see when I ask the printer driver to show me a preview of the picture before it is printed.  It is also what gets printed.
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5444



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #8 on: December 16, 2010, 08:14:01 PM »

Quote
Qimage2.JPG is what I see when I ask the printer driver to show me a preview of the picture before it is printed.  It is also what gets printed.
   

Ok, that's what I wanted to know.
The problem is in the HP driver.
You can try RESET Printer under HELP
and by all means, read Mike's article called, Houston, we have a printing problem.

http://ddisoftware.com/tech/articles/april-2006-houston-we-have-a-%28printing%29-problem/

Fred
Logged
thornev
Newbie
*
Posts: 6



View Profile Email
« Reply #9 on: January 26, 2011, 04:59:27 PM »

I haven't tried the Reset Printer trick in Qimage yet to get rid of the square, but there's another major reason I am not using Qimage.  The quality of the picture that is printed through Qimage is horrible.  The picture comes out darker than the original photo and the resolution is badly grainy.  And that's printing a 5x7 photo where the original resolution of the photo is 3264 x 2448.  When I print the same photo by right-clicking on the photo and selecting Print (Windows 7), I get a very nice print.  I guess I don't have Qimage setup properly, but I don't recall doing anything to cause these problems.  I like Qimage for some of its capabilities, but if I cannot get these simple problems resolved, I'll have to find other ways to do my photo printing.
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5444



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #10 on: January 26, 2011, 05:07:26 PM »

Quote
I guess I don't have Qimage setup properly, but I don't recall doing anything to cause these problems.  I like Qimage for some of its capabilities, but if I cannot get these simple problems resolved, I'll have to find other ways to do my photo printing.

Sounds like you have a thumbnail image that you are printing from.

Best suggestion is to click on the link below, and take an hour to play some of these videos that pertain.
They are not long and loaded with what you need to learn.
After that, and after you RESET PRINTER, if you have any questions, be more than happy to help.
We need a starting point, and for you to simply say the results  of a print from Qimage are terrible, leaves no facts to use to locate the problem.

Let us know how you make out.     http://www.ddisoftware.com/qimage-u/learn.htm
Fred                      
Logged
thornev
Newbie
*
Posts: 6



View Profile Email
« Reply #11 on: February 12, 2011, 10:12:53 PM »

Well, for starters, the 1st video, Getting Started, doesn't illustrate the options available to me.  For example, the video shows that clicking on a thumbnail opens a print size dialog.  I get no such dialog and I have to double-click on a thumbnail to get the picture into the queue.  So right away the tutorials don't work for me.  Where do I find the correct tutorials for my version, 2010.209 Professional?
« Last Edit: February 12, 2011, 10:18:20 PM by thornev » Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5444



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #12 on: February 12, 2011, 10:47:24 PM »

Quote
Well, for starters, the 1st video, Getting Started, doesn't illustrate the options available to me.  For example, the video shows that clicking on a thumbnail opens a print size dialog.  I get no such dialog and I have to double-click on a thumbnail to get the picture into the queue.  So right away the tutorials don't work for me.  Where do I find the correct tutorials for my version, 2010.209 Professional?

Unfortunately, those Learning Videos are designed for the Qimage Ultimate version, not the Pro.

You really should consider changing to Ultimate.
So much extra in there and constant helpful Learning videos.

Fred
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!