Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
August 05, 2021, 11:59:35 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Feb 2013: Qimage Ultimate Challenges... have fun and explore features!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional ICC Profiling Software for Windows
Create custom ICC profiles with
Profile Prism for accurate color!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: What have I done? Please help!  (Read 7669 times)
Betty
Newbie
*
Posts: 37


View Profile
« on: November 27, 2009, 05:01:18 PM »

I was trying to print some things this morning borderless.  I made several adjustments, and at this point, I can't remember what I did.  Now I can't print properly.  First of all, when I put something into the que I see red numbers in the upper left corner (2x2).  The paper is set to letter size in my printer driver and in QI, but with only 1 page in the printer to print, the printer picks up the paper, prints a tiny strip, and then keeps trying to pick up more paper.  I get the message below when I hit the print button:

"The current page range contains posters that have only a small strip that will be printed on some panels (less than an inch wide or tall.  If you want to print a poster you might want to double check your poster size to make sure there is a benefit to printing this small "sliver" at the edge or bottom of your poster.  If you did not intend for your prints to cover more than 1 page you should go back and reduce the size of your prints so that they do not exceed the printable area available on 1 page."

If I print directly from PhotoShop  I do get a print, but included at the bottom is a small "sliver" included on the single page. 

I've "reset" the printer drivers and also QI, but still get the same result.

Could someone please point me in the right direction?  Many, many, many thanks!  Betty
   
Logged
Betty
Newbie
*
Posts: 37


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2009, 05:24:26 PM »

Me, again.  I misspoke about PhotoShop printing the strip.  It does not.  It simply prints the picture.  I had been turning the paper over and using both sides to experiment.  The strip apparently had been printed by QI on a previous attempt.

But, I still cannot print correctly with QI.

Hope someone is not still eating turkey, and can help me.  :-(

Betty
Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3323



View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2009, 06:00:30 PM »

It sounds like you are just trying to print too large for one page.  What does the printable area (above the preview page on Qimage's main window) say for the size?  And what size is listed in the queue?

Mike
Logged
Betty
Newbie
*
Posts: 37


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2009, 06:14:30 PM »

Mike!  Thanks for reading!  I feel so dumb about this.

Above the picture, page size is 8.24 x 10.346
Print properties, page size selected (below the picture in the que 8.5 x 11

on the left, page size is 8.5 x 11.

Auto cropping is on.

Thanks, Mike.
Betty
Logged
admin
Administrator
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 3323



View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2009, 07:44:17 PM »

Mike!  Thanks for reading!  I feel so dumb about this.

Above the picture, page size is 8.24 x 10.346
Print properties, page size selected (below the picture in the que 8.5 x 11

on the left, page size is 8.5 x 11.

Auto cropping is on.

Thanks, Mike.
Betty

From this I gather your "page size" as in "printable area" is 8.24 x 10.346.  That's the size your printer is capable of printing.  If it shows 8.5 x 11 under print properties, then you are trying to print an 8.5 x 11 photo on 8.24 x 10.346 paper: that won't fit so you're getting a multi-page poster.  What is it that you are trying to do?  Try dropping down the print size and selecting "Fit to page".  That should give you an 8.24 x 10.346 print: the largest size you can currently print.

Mike
Logged
Betty
Newbie
*
Posts: 37


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2009, 08:30:15 PM »

Mike, thank you so much.  I think I'm back in business again, and you are exactly right.  I tried some 8 x 10s and they printed exactly as they should.  I feel as dumb as dirt.  It'll be a while before I'm brave enough to play with settings again. 

Thanks again,
Betty
Logged
Owen Glendower
Full Member
***
Posts: 185


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2009, 05:10:40 PM »

If you're dumb as dirt, so am I, and I've been using Qimage for years.

I was having problems similar to yours even though I had made sure there was no conflict between my page size and my selected print size.  Took me several minutes to realize that my "plus" border setting (retained from a previous print job) was in effect defining a print size larger than the paper size!

Be patient.  Qimage is a program with extensive capabilities, so it's quite possible to set one parameter and create a conflict with another setting.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!