Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
July 18, 2024, 10:14:52 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Qimage registration expired? New lifetime licenses are only $59.99!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional Photo Printing Software for Windows
Print with
Qimage and see what you've been missing!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Blemish only on Qimage  (Read 16098 times)
Jeff
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 763



View Profile WWW Email
« on: September 26, 2010, 03:33:57 PM »

I am getting a Blemish if that is the correct description on all images opened in Qimage - Ultimate and Studio - soft proof, refine raw, edit the lot. with or without filter.
I have installed latest Ultimate Ver. - same fault.

It is not there when image is opened in any other prog.

I cannot find what is causing it, it looks like a drag to left blemish removal.  Have I set a default blemish removal? if so I cannot find it.

I place the image below both no processing, first one via Qultimate second via Elements


QUltimate


Elements

Jeff
Logged

Grumpy
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5644



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2010, 03:58:08 PM »

Quote
I cannot find what is causing it, it looks like a drag to left blemish removal.  Have I set a default blemish removal? if so I cannot find it.

Hi Jeff,
That *is* a blemish save. No doubt.
I will assume that you checked the batch image editor for a check in BLEMISH, and it is clear.
Next I would check the filter by Right Mouse click on the thumb or the preview panel, and click on REMOVE filters,
You get a box that should show you what filters are saved. If that box is empty, then clcik the button that says Delete filter.
If that didn't clear the blemish, then go to the folder where the image sits.
Look for the filename  P953263151  (ext)  and find the matching filename with a .flt suffix. Delete that file with the .flt suffix.
That will solve it.
If that cleared it, then somehow that flt was corrupted probably because you fell asleep while working on the pictures.  Grin Grin Grin Grin
Let me know if you are successful.
Fred
Logged
Jeff
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 763



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2010, 04:46:51 PM »



Hi Jeff,
That *is* a blemish save. No doubt.
I will assume that you checked the batch image editor for a check in BLEMISH, and it is clear.
Yes it is clear

Next I would check the filter by Right Mouse click on the thumb or the preview panel, and click on REMOVE filters,
You get a box that should show you what filters are saved. If that box is empty, then clcik the button that says Delete filter.
Yes done that, box is clear, and clicked delete filter
If that didn't clear the blemish, then go to the folder where the image sits.

Look for the filename  P953263151  (ext)  and find the matching filename with a .flt suffix. Delete that file with the .flt suffix.
That will solve it.
Done that, still not clearing.
In fact the Blemish is on every image ie those that have had not action at all - fresh off card.


If that cleared it, then somehow that flt was corrupted probably because you fell asleep while working on the pictures.  Grin Grin Grin Grin
Let me know if you are successful.

So up to now I am not successful, I will come back to problem tomorrow.   I am wondering if there is a specific data file I could delete.  I have been at it all afternoon so I am falling asleep.

[/quote]

Jeff
Logged

Grumpy
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5644



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2010, 04:54:26 PM »

Quote
I am wondering if there is a specific data file I could delete.  I have been at it all afternoon so I am falling asleep.

Jeff, that's exactly what I wrote earlier.

Quote
Look for the filename  P953263151  (ext)  and find the matching filename with a .flt suffix. Delete that file with the .flt suffix.
That will solve it.

Fred

Additional comment. Just wanted to say, that shot is another example of your talent.
Love it.
« Last Edit: September 26, 2010, 05:52:21 PM by Fred A » Logged
jeffjessee
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 77


.


View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2010, 07:50:34 PM »

Jeff, could you have a Print Filter or Global Filter set? Those would probably affect all images.

Jeff (Jessee)
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5644



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #5 on: September 26, 2010, 08:14:49 PM »

Good thought, Jeff.
I had a feeling that G-Jeff didn't find an flt file, and that was the frustrating part.
If he did have some blemish filter checked in Global, it would only work on images that have no prior filter; if I remember right.
So that idea you have sounds like it might fit.
If he had Print filter checked, that works even with an flt.
Fred
Logged
Jeff
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 763



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2010, 07:58:17 AM »

Hello All

Still unable to clear it.

Fred, you say "Look for the filename  P953263151  (ext)  and find the matching filename with a .flt suffix. Delete that file with the .flt suffix.
That will solve it."

Where do I find  P953263151?  I have done a search for  P953263151*.* and find nothing. 

Prog Data....Qimage\filters - I cannot see anything amiss (Pfilter not checked and leads me to same data folder)

At the moment it has got me by the short and curlies.

I suppose a complete reinstall would clear it, what would the effect be of clearing all the data files, would they rebuild?  I could take a copy of them first. 

I will now go and let the cats out and see if that give me any ideas Smiley

Thanks for the comments on the image, you are too kind.

Jeff - G  (very G) 
Logged

Grumpy
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5644



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2010, 09:23:03 AM »

Quote
Fred, you say "Look for the filename  P953263151  (ext)  and find the matching filename with a .flt suffix. Delete that file with the .flt suffix.
That will solve it."

Jeff,
This is probably my fault.
I right clicked your image and saved it.
It had a filename starting with a p and a number which is common among Olympus and a a few other brands.
I thought that was the name of the image file.
Obviously, you must use some method of posting pictures that makes its own file names.

So to apologize, and rephrase, find the image in whatever folder you currently have the image, looking at the thumbnail in Qimage, write the file name down.
Now,close Qimage, and use Windows explorer, and locate that folder and the filename, and delete the file that shows that filename, but being careful that you don't delete the image which has a suffix of ORF, but has a suffix of .flt.

See attached screen snap, not only of an .ORF image file, but a.qrs, and a .flt ; and it happens t be *your* image from a month ago that I liked so much. The one with the river and the kayaks.
You want to delete the one that has the .flt suffix.
DO NOT delete Qimage or reinstall.
We have more remedies if you cannot find the flt, and you did make sure that there was no Global filter turned on as Jeff J suggested.
We can rename the image file, (in explorer). Instead of 00495.orf, you change it to Jeffie.orf. Now the flt file will not stick anymore.

I have one more dumb question.
You are looking at the ORF file in the Qimage screen, right?   You didn't make a JPG while the blemish was showing and now you see it all the time, right?

I'll be right here if you need more snaps.

Fred
Logged
Jeff
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 763



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #8 on: September 27, 2010, 11:49:31 AM »

Fred

Well, spent this morning doing all the test/investigation I could think of.

Shot a couple of new images, this time in raw + JPEG and got same blemish on raws but not jpegs which is what I think I expected Smiley

So established that problem was in the raw processing.

I reloaded the images into a different folder and created a duplicate of one of the problem images (diff file name) and started again.  No blemish until going  into Refine Raw when it appeared again.

I Looked in Edit/Pref/Raw options and saw "Pattern Noise Filter and Camera Specific Settings were both CHECKED

I unchecked them and problem blemish is not now created.

Now where does that lead me?  Pattern/Camera is default checked.  It would be interesting to know what has happened.

Knocking of for Lunch will investigate further later.

Jeff (not so G now) 
Logged

Grumpy
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5644



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #9 on: September 27, 2010, 12:10:16 PM »

Quote
I Looked in Edit/Pref/Raw options and saw "Pattern Noise Filter and Camera Specific Settings were both CHECKED

Jeff, glad you found the source of the problem.
Camera specific settings refers Qimage Refine to use a preset input setup that YOU made and saved for your camera.
In other words, if you have two cameras and one shows more noise than the other, you can set the amount of Noise Reduction higher on the noisier camera, and Qimage will see the camera model and use the preset set of Raw options you saved for that camera.

I would put *ONE* checkmark back and have a look. See whether it has, in fact, a bad saved .qsn file.
It might be the pattern filter, but taht was for the Nikon 70S.

Please let me know what you find out.
Fred
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5644



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #10 on: September 27, 2010, 01:10:51 PM »

Quote
Now where does that lead me?  Pattern/Camera is default checked.  It would be interesting to know what has happened.
Jeff.
I just called the next higher echelon of tech support which, based on the accent, was located in the Bombay section of Brooklyn.
It was suggested that you, at one time, saved an .flt file to the programdata\ddisoftware\qimage\profiles folder for the purpose of erasing dead pixels, perhaps.??
Regardless how it got there, look in that folder, and kill that .flt you find in there. It is likely a file called K20D.flt

Fred
Logged
Jeff
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 763



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #11 on: September 27, 2010, 02:23:31 PM »

Quote
Now where does that lead me?  Pattern/Camera is default checked.  It would be interesting to know what has happened.
Jeff.
I just called the next higher echelon of tech support which, based on the accent, was located in the Bombay section of Brooklyn.
It was suggested that you, at one time, saved an .flt file to the programdata\ddisoftware\qimage\profiles folder for the purpose of erasing dead pixels, perhaps.??
Regardless how it got there, look in that folder, and kill that .flt you find in there. It is likely a file called K20D.flt

Fred


Fred

Thanks very much, It looks like that was it.

Found the K20D.flt and deleted it.  It was created 16th July.  It must have been an accident as I don't know how to create and save such a file, just read the manual again and still cannot see how it came about.

Just a comment on my image file nos.  I used to use a Oly 8080 so raw was .orf  now use a pentax K20d and shoot raw in .dng I mostly let the camera file number remain.
When I post images to here I load them onto http://jeffmilan.zenfolio.com/ which then gives about eight size options to link to.

Thanks again to you and all.

Jeff g

 
Logged

Grumpy
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5644



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #12 on: September 27, 2010, 02:41:38 PM »

Quote
Found the K20D.flt and deleted it.  It was created 16th July.  It must have been an accident as I don't know how to create and save such a file, just read the manual again and still cannot see how it came about.

I don't know if this feature is documented or not.
It is simple to use if you have a bad couple of pixels in the sky. Use the blemish tool on the bad pixel and it will erase it.
Then click FILE Save filter. You get a box that asks you if this is a bad pixel filter. If you say yes, it files it for you so it will work on the image automatically.
That is if I remember correctly. I am getting "long in the tooth"
Fred
Logged
daniellouwrens
Newbie
*
Posts: 43


View Profile Email
« Reply #13 on: September 28, 2010, 06:53:00 PM »

Quote
Additional comment. Just wanted to say, that shot is another example of your talent.
Love it.


Totally agree, you are an inspiration.

Cheers

Daniel
Logged
Jeff
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 763



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #14 on: September 29, 2010, 07:16:51 AM »

Quote
Additional comment. Just wanted to say, that shot is another example of your talent.
Love it.


Totally agree, you are an inspiration.

Cheers

Daniel

Now processing all the shots (Ultimate only) which were a taken on a trip to Annecy and district, they are only holiday shots - some at 12 to 14 thousand feet are a bit light headed Smiley
I will post a selection on Zenfolio and Blog when completed.  You can all then have a laugh.

Jeff g

Jeff

   
Logged

Grumpy
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Security updates 2022 by ddisoftware, Inc.