Mike Chaney's Tech Corner
July 18, 2024, 10:54:47 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Qimage registration expired? New lifetime licenses are only $59.99!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Professional Photo Printing Software for Windows
Print with
Qimage and see what you've been missing!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: pre-purchase question: Qimage and Lightroom?  (Read 6896 times)
nealix
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile Email
« on: November 23, 2011, 05:34:41 PM »

I am strongly considering buying Q.U., but first have a question.   I use Adobe Lightroom 3 for my workflow and editing.
Are there some suggested tips or details of how Qimage could fit into this workflow? 
Is there also a short one or two paragraph example on using qimage to print panorama photos, such as roll paper?

Thanks,

Neal
Logged
Fred A
Forum Superhero
*****
Posts: 5644



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2011, 05:51:15 PM »

Quote
I am strongly considering buying Q.U., but first have a question.   I use Adobe Lightroom 3 for my workflow and editing.
Are there some suggested tips or details of how Qimage could fit into this workflow?
Is there also a short one or two paragraph example on using Qimage to print panorama photos, such as roll paper?

Thanks,

Neal

I think you are making a fine choice.
Qimage Ultimate will produce the finest quality prints.


As for Lightroom, you will have to hand over your printing files to Qimage as JPGS or TIFFS
Only Lightroom knows to read LR sidecar files, as only Qimage can read Qimage's filter files.

A nice idea to try would be to set Lightroom as your Editor of choice in the Qimage setup. Then a right click on any thumbnail will take you into Lightroom with that image open.
I know that works with PS, so I assume it will with LR.
You can tweak, save as a JPG or TIF and close LR.
You are ready to print. Qimage is still open...

As some time passes, you will find you will be using Qimage Ultimate more and more for your workflow.

Panoramas are as simple as can be.
No need to presize in another program. Just tell Qimage what size you want to print. Put the image in the queue, and it will size it.

Try some of these.
http://www.ddisoftware.com/qimage-u/learn.htm

Feel free to come back here and ask as many times as you need to for clarification of anything in Qimage.

Fred

« Last Edit: November 23, 2011, 10:06:05 PM by Terry-M » Logged
BrianPrice
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 265



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2011, 10:48:20 AM »

Neal

There are two ways of integrating QImage with Lightroom. For either, you have to set QImage as the external Editor in LR in Edit>Preferences>External Editing.
Once you have done that, if you right-click and choose Edit With>QImage.exe LR will export a Tif to a temporary folder and then load it into QImage, and delete it afterwards.
For the second method, you export as usual but set the 'Post Processing' option in the Export dialog box to After Export>Open in QImage.exe (The option is right at the bottom, easy to miss). It's beat not to use the 'Resize to Fit', leave all the interpolation to QI.
Both methods will work with multiple images, but I prefer the second as it works with QI's wonderful 'Job Saving'.

I think QI is possibly the best option for printing panoramas, the method is described in Example 6a of 'Help by Example' in the help file. Basically, if you want to print ,say, a 20" x 100" print, you set the roll paper size to a manageable length, say 20" and load the print.QI will split the print into 20" chunks and the printer will stitch them together seamlessly. This avoids the main problem of printing panos, which is the huge size of the print spool file clogging up the computer. The method works with most Epson  and Canon roll paper printers, but I believe there have been problems with some HP models.

HTH

Brian
Logged
daniellouwrens
Newbie
*
Posts: 43


View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2011, 06:21:50 PM »

Hi

I know nothing about inter grating Lightroom with QU but I do know that once you have QU
you will use other editors less and less, I almost never open PSCS anymore, unless I want to
do radical changes like removing people or backgrounds, and perhaps QU can do this,
I have not completed my discovery of QU talents.

QU is an amazing tool.

Cheers

Daniel
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Security updates 2022 by ddisoftware, Inc.